We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Everything as expected...” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Clayton Hotel Cardiff Lane

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Clayton Hotel Cardiff Lane to your Saves list
Clayton Hotel Cardiff Lane
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Cardiff Lane, Sir John Rogerson's Quay, Dublin 2, Ireland (Formerly Maldron Hotel)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #40 of 171 Hotels in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence
Rome, Italy
Level Contributor
223 reviews
86 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
“Everything as expected...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013 via mobile

Very good hotel, swimming pool and healthy club above average. Breakfast abundant and of good standard. Really recommended, if I would come back I will certainly stay here again! Personnel also very nice, restaurant offer good selection of meat and fish. Rooms large and comfortable.

Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank A-Ego
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
conorokane, General Manager at Clayton Hotel Cardiff Lane, responded to this review, October 21, 2015
Dear A-Ego

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. Maldron Hotel Cardiff Lane has recently re-branded as Clayton Hotel Cardiff Lane. We are currently reviewing all historic reviews both positive and constructive feedback so as to enhance guest experience moving forward. We hope to see you again soon at Clayton Hotel Cardiff Lane and once again thank you for your contribution.

Kind regards,
Conor O’Kane
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,020 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Middletown, Co. Armagh, Northern Ireland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

Stayed last night at the Maldron on Cardiff Lane as I was going to see Carmen at the Bord Gais Theatre. Its a great place to stay!. Rory, the trainee at checkin was very polite and professional. My room was very clean and the bed was fine for me. Very spacious room and bathroom. I wasn't overly impressed with tv but i don't know if they were having reception problems as some channels were fuzzy and felt they could have done with a few more channels. The breakfast was very nice with plenty of choice. Must mention another person, Martin!! He was so nice and friendly and went out of his way to be attentive to me (i use a stick to walk so it can be a bit awkward sometimes for me to get around). Carrying my tray, asking if i wanted tea or coffee while waiting for my taxi before i left. All the staff I encountered were very friendly and nice to me and to other guests. I would choose to stay there anytime and would encourage anyone who is going to the bord gais theatre for a concert, etc. to stay there as its a five minute walk to the theatre, the bar was lovely with a nice carvery the night i stayed there. I'll definately be back.! I wish all hotels had such pleasant staff who acted as if they enjoyed helping people, especially Martin from Dungiven!!!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Maryhughes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
conorokane, General Manager at Clayton Hotel Cardiff Lane, responded to this review, October 21, 2015
Dear Maryhughes

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. Maldron Hotel Cardiff Lane has recently re-branded as Clayton Hotel Cardiff Lane. We are currently reviewing all historic reviews both positive and constructive feedback so as to enhance guest experience moving forward. We hope to see you again soon at Clayton Hotel Cardiff Lane and once again thank you for your contribution.

Kind regards,
Conor O’Kane
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
53 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

Had a one night stay here. Quick checking and out with friendly staff. I had a quiet room at the back. Would recommend for a city centre break or business. Good price for Dublin as well. Very clean and modern room which was a good size, no air conditioning so might be stuffy in hot weather.

Room Tip: On the back away from the street. But note there this is the car park for the postal service depot.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KyliesTrips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
conorokane, General Manager at Clayton Hotel Cardiff Lane, responded to this review, October 21, 2015
Dear KyliesTrips

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. Maldron Hotel Cardiff Lane has recently re-branded as Clayton Hotel Cardiff Lane. We are currently reviewing all historic reviews both positive and constructive feedback so as to enhance guest experience moving forward. We hope to see you again soon at Clayton Hotel Cardiff Lane and once again thank you for your contribution.

Kind regards,
Conor O’Kane
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wrocław
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

The hotel is easily accessible from the airport (no more than 5 minutes walking from the airlink bus stop). My stay was a completely trouble-free experience, staff at Maldron is extremely polite and helpful. Double room was quite spacious, very clean and surprisingly quiet during the night. The bedclothes could have been a bit softer, I haven't had any sleeping issues though.

I would definitely choose this hotel as a place for my next stay in Dublin.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Szymon K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
conorokane, General Manager at Clayton Hotel Cardiff Lane, responded to this review, October 21, 2015
Dear Szymon K

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. Maldron Hotel Cardiff Lane has recently re-branded as Clayton Hotel Cardiff Lane. We are currently reviewing all historic reviews both positive and constructive feedback so as to enhance guest experience moving forward. We hope to see you again soon at Clayton Hotel Cardiff Lane and once again thank you for your contribution.

Kind regards,
Conor O’Kane
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kilkenny, Ireland
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

Really good location-close to O2, town, and some nice restaurants. And a great swimnming pool too! A lively spot at weekends-might be a bit noisy for some.
Hard to beat at this price.....
I don't need 200 characters to describe it! Why can't reviews on Tripadvisor be shorter???

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank nrich186616
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
conorokane, General Manager at Clayton Hotel Cardiff Lane, responded to this review, October 21, 2015
Dear nrich186616

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. Maldron Hotel Cardiff Lane has recently re-branded as Clayton Hotel Cardiff Lane. We are currently reviewing all historic reviews both positive and constructive feedback so as to enhance guest experience moving forward. We hope to see you again soon at Clayton Hotel Cardiff Lane and once again thank you for your contribution.

Kind regards,
Conor O’Kane
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California, United States
Level Contributor
24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

This hotel gets just about everything right--the space is easy to navigate, it's in a great location near most of the new internet companies' offices on Sir John Rogerson's Quay, great bar, good breakfast. For any business traveler, I would highly recommend it except for ONE thing. The beds and pillows were literally like rocks. Three other people from my company who have stayed there said the exact same thing!

It's not a deal-killer, but I left feedback on one of their comment cards and I hope they fix it because it would be the icing on the cake for what is already a great hotel!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Liz N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
conorokane, General Manager at Clayton Hotel Cardiff Lane, responded to this review, October 21, 2015
Dear Liz N

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. Maldron Hotel Cardiff Lane has recently re-branded as Clayton Hotel Cardiff Lane. We are currently reviewing all historic reviews both positive and constructive feedback so as to enhance guest experience moving forward. We hope to see you again soon at Clayton Hotel Cardiff Lane and once again thank you for your contribution.

Kind regards,
Conor O’Kane
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

We have stayed at this hotel twice, once last Summer and again early this year. Both were just one night stays and we travelled with our young son on both occasions. The first time we stayed we were given a higher floor room with a small 'balcony'. For safety reasons we asked if we could move to a lower floor which the staff accommodated without hesitation or fuss. The hotel is clean and well presented, the room was spacious enough for 2adults and a child. A double bed and single bed with a small seating area. The breakfast area is well laid out and on both visits the breakfasts were plentiful and fresh. The highlight for us for this hotel is the pool, the staff of which are really helpful and polite. Also the location of the hotel is great in relation to the docklands etc. We look forward to returning!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Scanbabe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
conorokane, General Manager at Clayton Hotel Cardiff Lane, responded to this review, October 21, 2015
Dear Scanbabe

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. Maldron Hotel Cardiff Lane has recently re-branded as Clayton Hotel Cardiff Lane. We are currently reviewing all historic reviews both positive and constructive feedback so as to enhance guest experience moving forward. We hope to see you again soon at Clayton Hotel Cardiff Lane and once again thank you for your contribution.

Kind regards,
Conor O’Kane
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dublin hotels
0.1 mi away
The Marker Hotel
The Marker Hotel
#2 of 171 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 stars 1,479 reviews
0.2 mi away
Spencer Hotel Dublin IFSC
1.2 mi away
The Croke Park
The Croke Park
#5 of 171 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 stars 3,447 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Ashling Hotel
Ashling Hotel
#15 of 171 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 stars 3,196 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Gibson Hotel
The Gibson Hotel
#10 of 171 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 stars 3,471 reviews
0.3 mi away
Jurys Inn Dublin Custom House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clayton Hotel Cardiff Lane? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clayton Hotel Cardiff Lane

Address: Cardiff Lane, Sir John Rogerson's Quay, Dublin 2, Ireland (Formerly Maldron Hotel)
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#28 Luxury Hotel in Dublin
#29 Romantic Hotel in Dublin
#30 Family Hotel in Dublin
#40 Business Hotel in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:4 star — Clayton Hotel Cardiff Lane 4*
Number of rooms: 304
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Clayton Hotel Cardiff Lane (formerly Maldron Hotel)is a seven storey, contemporary landmark building off Sir John Rogerson's Quay in the Dublin Docklands, a stone's throw from the city center. A spacious 304 bedroom hotel, each designed to meet the needs of both business and leisure guests the beautifully appointed guest rooms offer a light spacious contemporary style at least 25 square meters. Vertigo Bar is a funky bar space within the hotel open throughout the day, Stir Restaurant offers an array of dishes to tempt your taste buds, Club Vitae Health & Fitness Club and a range of meeting space make Clayton Hotel Cardiff Lane an award winning 4 star hotel. Clayton Hotel Cardiff Lane is within easy access of the airport and main bus & rail stations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, LateRooms, Travelocity, Priceline, Odigeo, EasyToBook, Agoda and HotelTravel.com so you can book your Clayton Hotel Cardiff Lane reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maldron Hotel Dublin
Quality Hotel Dublin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing