We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Clayton Hotel Cardiff Lane
Ranked #32 of 150 Hotels in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 10, 2013

We have stayed at this hotel twice, once last Summer and again early this year. Both were just one night stays and we travelled with our young son on both occasions. The first time we stayed we were given a higher floor room with a small 'balcony'. For safety reasons we asked if we could move to a lower floor which the staff accommodated without hesitation or fuss. The hotel is clean and well presented, the room was spacious enough for 2adults and a child. A double bed and single bed with a small seating area. The breakfast area is well laid out and on both visits the breakfasts were plentiful and fresh. The highlight for us for this hotel is the pool, the staff of which are really helpful and polite. Also the location of the hotel is great in relation to the docklands etc. We look forward to returning!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Scanbabe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
conorokane, General Manager at Clayton Hotel Cardiff Lane, responded to this reviewResponded October 21, 2015

Dear Scanbabe

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. Maldron Hotel Cardiff Lane has recently re-branded as Clayton Hotel Cardiff Lane. We are currently reviewing all historic reviews both positive and constructive feedback so as to enhance guest experience moving forward. We hope to see you again soon at Clayton Hotel Cardiff Lane and once again thank you for your contribution.

Kind regards,
Conor O’Kane
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (4,265)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,634 - 2,640 of 4,265 reviews

Reviewed March 8, 2013 via mobile

I booked this hotel via an internet booking site, as regrettably every hotel in Dublin this weekend is fully booked due to the rugby match. I wouldn't normally stay here.
But, I arrived with an open mind, knowing this hotel is in a reasonably good location, particularly if you were attending a conference or going to the O2.

However, upon arrival I was confronted with a busy foyer, over crowded with arriving guests. Despite the business, I was checked in by a pleasant member staff and given my room card.

My open mind however closed upon arrival at my room, where I was confronted by a dirt carpet, with unpleasant stains, a small bathroom with a distinct lack of toiletries and even more bizarrely two beds, one double and a single - for one person!

I don't think I'll be recommending this hotel.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DerbyBob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
conorokane, General Manager at Clayton Hotel Cardiff Lane, responded to this reviewResponded March 12, 2013

Hello DerbyBob,
Thank you for taking the time to review Maldron Hotel Cardiff Lane. I am very sorry to see that there were some issues with your stay. As you mentioned we are fully booked with the Ireland V France rugby game so unfortunately you seemed to have arrived to check in at the same time as one of the rugby groups. I would be very grateful to you if you could email my Guest Relations Manager on gr.cardifflane@maldronhotels.com with your feedback so we may investigate your feedback.
Warm regards
Conor O’Kane,
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 8, 2013

Stayed a night in the Maldron as we were staying out late in Dublin and didn't feel like going home!

The hotel is located in Dublin's docklands area so its great for concerts in the O2 or shows in the Bord Gais Theatre etc. Also its just a hop skip and a jump to the Aviva stadium for sporting events. Its a little far out from Grafton street and Temple bar so you will need to grab a 5 min taxi ride from the hotel to get to Dublins main shopping and bar districts.

Hotel was nice and clean, very friendly staff and breakfast buffet in the morning was nice.
We stayed in a room at the front of the hotel with a balcony over looking one of Dublin's busiest streets but didnt hear a thing once the door to the balcony was shut. Very peaceful and quiet. Got a goods night sleep.

Overall a nice hotel, well located but didnt feel like a 4 star establishment...more like 3.5. I would stay here again if I was looking for quick access to the docklands. If you want to shop or pub hop then there are better located hotels in Dublin city centre closer to Grafton street and Temple bar.

Room Tip: Choose a balcony room at the front of the hotel on floors 6-7.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Portofella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
conorokane, General Manager at Clayton Hotel Cardiff Lane, responded to this reviewResponded March 12, 2013

Hello Portofella,
Thank you for taking the time to review Maldron Hotel Cardiff Lane, I am very grateful to you for your time. I am very sorry to see you did not feel our hotel to be the 4 star standard that we are. I would be very grateful to you if you could email your feedback to my Guest Relations Manager at gr.cardfifflane@maldronhotels.com and we can look into your feedback and investigate any issue you had.
Warm regards
Conor O’Kane,
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 8, 2013

Visit for shopping with daughters. Staff very friendly and helpful. New theatre - Bord Gais, formerly the Grand Canal Theatre, directly opposite front door of hotel, great location. Pool fantastic for my 2 girls. Ten to fifteen mins to O'Connell Street. Spa facilities and gym very good. Breakfast - very good, and evening meal excellent. Room was spotlessly clean,

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lizandfriends
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
conorokane, General Manager at Clayton Hotel Cardiff Lane, responded to this reviewResponded March 12, 2013

Hello Lizandfrieneds,
I am very pleased to see you had a great stay with us here and an excellent meal. We hope to welcome you back soon.
Warm regards
Conor O’Kane,
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 8, 2013

A great hotel and a very scenic riverside location. More than convenient for our theatre break but also close enough to the city centre for shopping and socialising. Not to mention a very warm welcome from all the staff who went out of their way to make us feel extremely welcome. I can't wait until we find another excuse for a weekend away.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LinSDerry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
conorokane, General Manager at Clayton Hotel Cardiff Lane, responded to this reviewResponded March 12, 2013

Hello LinSDerry,
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay here in Maldron Hotel Cardiff Lane. I am pleased to see our staff made you feel so welcome while you were here.
Warm regards
Conor O’Kane,
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 8, 2013

Lovely hotel near the city centre. Stayed for the weekend. Great facilities even a swimming pool! Lovely bedrooms, excellent food and the staff couldn't do enough for you! Will definitely stay here again as it is just across the road from the theatre and just a short walk to the city centre. A really enjoyable experience!!

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Grommit5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
conorokane, General Manager at Clayton Hotel Cardiff Lane, responded to this reviewResponded March 12, 2013

Hello Grommit5,
Thank you for your excellent review of Maldron Hotel Cardiff Lane. I am very pleased to see you had such a great stay with us here.
Warm regards
Conor O’Kane,
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 8, 2013

Staying in hotel with a group of girls going to Take That Concert. Superb hotel, friendly staff, lovely rooms with loads of space in them. Had our evening meal there as well. Food was fabulous. Great location as well. Will definitely stay again
*****

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tanya57333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
conorokane, General Manager at Clayton Hotel Cardiff Lane, responded to this reviewResponded March 12, 2013

Hello Tanya57333,
Thank you for taking your time to review Maldron Hotel Cardiff Lane. We hope to see you again soon the next time you visit Dublin for a concert.
Warm regards
Conor O’Kane,
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dublin hotels
The Marker Hotel
#2 of 150 in Dublin
3,644 reviews
The Gibson Hotel
#23 of 150 in Dublin
4,822 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Kilmainham
Hilton Dublin Kilmainham
Grand Canal Hotel
#37 of 150 in Dublin
1,807 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clayton Hotel Cardiff Lane? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clayton Hotel Cardiff Lane

Address: Cardiff Lane, Sir John Rogerson's Quay, Dublin 2, Ireland (Formerly Maldron Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Dublin
#20 Family Hotel in Dublin
#25 Luxury Hotel in Dublin
#27 Romantic Hotel in Dublin
#36 Business Hotel in Dublin
Price Range: $118 - $375 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Clayton Hotel Cardiff Lane 4*
Number of rooms: 304
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Clayton Hotel Cardiff Lane (formerly Maldron Hotel)is a seven storey, contemporary landmark building off Sir John Rogerson's Quay in the Dublin Docklands, a stone's throw from the city center. A spacious 304 bedroom hotel, each designed to meet the needs of both business and leisure guests the beautifully appointed guest rooms offer a light spacious contemporary style at least 25 square meters. Vertigo Bar is a funky bar space within the hotel open throughout the day, Stir Restaurant offers an array of dishes to tempt your taste buds, Club Vitae Health & Fitness Club and a range of meeting space make Clayton Hotel Cardiff Lane an award winning 4 star hotel. Clayton Hotel Cardiff Lane is within easy access of the airport and main bus & rail stations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Hotwire, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Clayton Hotel Cardiff Lane reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maldron Hotel Dublin
Quality Hotel Dublin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing