We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“theatre weekend”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Clayton Hotel Cardiff Lane
Ranked #34 of 150 Hotels in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 5, 2012

Looking for a good value hotel close to grand canal theatre and have to say the maldron on cardiff lane came up trumps.From the moment we checked in we were greeted with a very friendly,efficient and professional staff. Rooms were clean ,warm and comfortable, Did not have time to book a restaurant so had to eat in hotel restaurant and much to our surprise the food was amazing,ordered 3 different mains each one delicious as with desserts, and impressed with the wine selection.It was a great start pre theatre certainly set the atmosphere.Enjoyed a great show, what can i say first night a great success,Next day a shopping day so up early greeted again with big smiles and a hearty irish breakfast we changed our minds about a particular restaurant we would normally bok and decided to eat at the hotel restaurant and yet again not dissappointed. Would certainly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank julie405
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
conorokane, General Manager at Clayton Hotel Cardiff Lane, responded to this reviewResponded October 9, 2012

Hello julie405,
Thank you for your kind words and for taking the time to review Maldron Hotel Cardiff Lane and thank you for recommending us.
I am delighted to see you enjoyed your dining experience in the stir restaurant. I will ensure your feedback is passed on to the team.
We hope to welcome you back very soon.
Conor O’Kane,
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (4,095)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,663 - 2,669 of 4,096 reviews

Reviewed October 5, 2012

We stayed for three nights.

The hotel is in a superb location, a few minutes walk from the temple bar area, and close to tram and dublin bikes stations.
We arrived very early as our booked guided tour had been cancelled, wishing to just store our luggage, however the receptionist let us check in, which was very much appreciated.
We had a room with a balcony which had a view over the river, it was lovely.
The room was a fairly standard chain hotel room. Clean, and the bed was VERY comfortable.
All staff were very friendly and helpful.
Spa area was lovely, clean and well maintained. The pool was a decent size.
I'd definitely choose this hotel for my next visit to Dublin.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sara30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
conorokane, General Manager at Clayton Hotel Cardiff Lane, responded to this reviewResponded October 9, 2012

Hello sara30,
Thank you for taking the time to leave your feedback of Maldron Hotel Cardiff Lane. I am grateful to all guests who take the time to review the hotel.
I will pass on your feedback to the team.
We hope to see you again soon.
Conor O’Kane,
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 4, 2012

Just stayed at the Maldron hotel, and had a fantastic time, the room was large, clean and quiet and the breakfast very good value. The staff were helpful and friendly at all times, even during the busy times. The facilities were ideal, with large gym, pool and jaccuzzi, which were open from early to late. The restaurant was also very good and surprisingly good value for a large hotel, and the hotel is located not far from the main Temple bar area.
I would definitely recommend this hotel and will be returning again in the near future.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tim500
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
conorokane, General Manager at Clayton Hotel Cardiff Lane, responded to this reviewResponded October 9, 2012

Hello Tim500,
Thank you for taking the time to leave your feedback of Maldron Hotel Cardiff Lane and recommending us. It is a pleasure to read your feedback and to see that everything was perfect for you. I will pass on your feedback to all of the staff.
We look forward to your visit again in the future.
Conor O’Kane,
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 4, 2012

After leaving our hotel choice to last minute we found this little beaut on last minute for a bargain. Wasnt expecting much but when we arrived at the hotel a few hours before we could check in the hotel were lovely and took our luggage off us so wee could make our way to temple bar ! We ended up checking in at 5pm which the hotel were fine with and super nice. Our room was nice but a bit cold. One problem that it was a room for 3 people but only had 2 sets of towels, after telling reception it ook another 2 phonecalls (3 in total) to get someone to bring them up to the room, we also discovered the window wasnt shutting right which the man came up and fixed quickly ! The beds were super comfy and the tv was a bonus to have some music to get ready to !
The man at reception was great we didnt even have to ask for a map and he had one out circling where to go for food, pubs and clubs ! Best member of staff has got to be the porter ( i think thats what he was) he came up and fixed our window and delivered our towels and was so friendly !! LEG-END!!!
Location of the hotel is a bit out about 15 minutes from temple bar, be sure to walk on the side of the hotel and dont cross the bridge as its a bit dodgy and always get a taxi back ! should cos about 8 euros 10 at night.

All and all a great wee hotel ! Wish i could of stayed longer !

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sarah G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
conorokane, General Manager at Clayton Hotel Cardiff Lane, responded to this reviewResponded October 9, 2012

Hello Sarah G,
Thank you for taking your time to review Maldron Hotel Cardiff Lane, it is a pleasure to see you all had an enjoyable weekend with us, I am proud to see that even though a slight issue arose with your stay, this was dealt with in a prompt and professional manner.
I will ensure that your feedback is passed on and utilised correctly.
We hope to see you back very soon.
Conor O’Kane,
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2012

Delighted with this hotel. Location is good, rooms are nice in size and clean and the restaurant is five star***** Before you venture out looking for the perfect restaurant, give their second floor restaurant a chance especially for breakfast. Value is unsurpassable especially for a hotel. You won't get better in a breakfast house and it will cost you more. Service in this hotel cannot be beat in all areas! Not sure who gets the credit on this one but the entire staff should be commended! Great job, people!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chere D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
conorokane, General Manager at Clayton Hotel Cardiff Lane, responded to this reviewResponded October 9, 2012

Hello Chaddenver09,
Thank you for taking your time to leave such a great review of Maldron Hotel Cardiff Lane and recommending our restaurant. We pride ourselves on excellent customer service and I will ensure your feedback is passed on to the team that I have here.
We hope to welcome you back again soon.
Conor O'Kane,
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2012

Stay here on short w'end girlie break and took in a show in the nearby Bord Gais Energy Theatre, friendly, helpful staff, good restaurant and very well located for dublin sites. Hotel very clean, good breakfast, comfortable & quiet bedrooms, access to tourist information services in lobby excellent, leisure centre well equipped, clean and warm. Excellent service in restaurant. Really good value for a short break.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank audrey r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
conorokane, General Manager at Clayton Hotel Cardiff Lane, responded to this reviewResponded October 9, 2012

Hello audrey r,
Thank you very much for leaving such a pleasant review of Maldron Hotel Cardiff Lane, I will ensure your great feedback is passed on to all the staff.
We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future.
Conor O’Kane,
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2012

As a frequent business traveler to Dublin I want to recommend this hotel to everyone coming to Dublin for biz. Greatly located in the busy Dockland business district, a stone's throw away from the IFSC and still close to the city center and temple bar this hotel is the best pick for visitors that are looking for the full package. The complementary spa, gym and pool area make you to extend your stay over the weekend. Adjacent Vertigo has great food and is good fun any time of the week. Friendly, helpful and professional staff ensure a pleasant stay.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Markus_Or
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
conorokane, General Manager at Clayton Hotel Cardiff Lane, responded to this reviewResponded October 9, 2012

Hello Markus_Or,
Thank you for your lovely review of Maldron Hotel Cardiff Lane and recommending us, I am very glad to see you enjoyed your stay with us. As you mentioned we are ideal for the 5 top venues in Dublin.
I will make sure that your feedback is passed on to the team.
Conor O’Kane,
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dublin hotels
0.2 mi away
The Spencer Hotel Dublin IFSC
0.1 mi away
The Marker Hotel
The Marker Hotel
#2 of 150 in Dublin
3,418 reviews
0.5 mi away
Trinity City Hotel
Trinity City Hotel
#50 of 150 in Dublin
3,469 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Dublin Custom House
0.6 mi away
The Gibson Hotel
The Gibson Hotel
#22 of 150 in Dublin
4,736 reviews
0.5 mi away
Grand Canal Hotel
Grand Canal Hotel
#39 of 150 in Dublin
1,743 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clayton Hotel Cardiff Lane? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clayton Hotel Cardiff Lane

Address: Cardiff Lane, Sir John Rogerson's Quay, Dublin 2, Ireland (Formerly Maldron Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Dublin
#27 Romantic Hotel in Dublin
#27 Luxury Hotel in Dublin
#30 Family Hotel in Dublin
#36 Business Hotel in Dublin
Price Range: $133 - $315 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Clayton Hotel Cardiff Lane 4*
Number of rooms: 304
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Clayton Hotel Cardiff Lane (formerly Maldron Hotel)is a seven storey, contemporary landmark building off Sir John Rogerson's Quay in the Dublin Docklands, a stone's throw from the city center. A spacious 304 bedroom hotel, each designed to meet the needs of both business and leisure guests the beautifully appointed guest rooms offer a light spacious contemporary style at least 25 square meters. Vertigo Bar is a funky bar space within the hotel open throughout the day, Stir Restaurant offers an array of dishes to tempt your taste buds, Club Vitae Health & Fitness Club and a range of meeting space make Clayton Hotel Cardiff Lane an award winning 4 star hotel. Clayton Hotel Cardiff Lane is within easy access of the airport and main bus & rail stations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Clayton Hotel Cardiff Lane reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maldron Hotel Dublin
Quality Hotel Dublin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing