We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“excellent” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Clayton Hotel Cardiff Lane

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Clayton Hotel Cardiff Lane
Ranked #35 of 153 Hotels in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
“excellent”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 2, 2012

Stay here on short w'end girlie break and took in a show in the nearby Bord Gais Energy Theatre, friendly, helpful staff, good restaurant and very well located for dublin sites. Hotel very clean, good breakfast, comfortable & quiet bedrooms, access to tourist information services in lobby excellent, leisure centre well equipped, clean and warm. Excellent service in restaurant. Really good value for a short break.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank audrey r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
conorokane, General Manager at Clayton Hotel Cardiff Lane, responded to this review, October 9, 2012
Hello audrey r,
Thank you very much for leaving such a pleasant review of Maldron Hotel Cardiff Lane, I will ensure your great feedback is passed on to all the staff.
We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future.
Conor O’Kane,
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,702 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,697
    1,321
    479
    148
    57
See reviews for
841
1,061
131
564
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (540)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ann Arbor, Michigan, United States
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 2, 2012

As a frequent business traveler to Dublin I want to recommend this hotel to everyone coming to Dublin for biz. Greatly located in the busy Dockland business district, a stone's throw away from the IFSC and still close to the city center and temple bar this hotel is the best pick for visitors that are looking for the full package. The complementary spa, gym and pool area make you to extend your stay over the weekend. Adjacent Vertigo has great food and is good fun any time of the week. Friendly, helpful and professional staff ensure a pleasant stay.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Markus_Or
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
conorokane, General Manager at Clayton Hotel Cardiff Lane, responded to this review, October 9, 2012
Hello Markus_Or,
Thank you for your lovely review of Maldron Hotel Cardiff Lane and recommending us, I am very glad to see you enjoyed your stay with us. As you mentioned we are ideal for the 5 top venues in Dublin.
I will make sure that your feedback is passed on to the team.
Conor O’Kane,
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 2, 2012

We stayed at the Maldron Hotel Cardiff Lane over the summer. The rooms were great, staff was wonderful and the location was perfect. Close enough to the action, but not in the thick of things. We walked everywhere. The only negative I would say was the health club/pool area. It was the land of the "no's." Everywhere you turned there was a sign or someone saying you couldn't do something. And, it definitely catered to non-hotel quests. But again, overall, I would recommend the hotel to anyone traveling to Dublin.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Squirrels88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
conorokane, General Manager at Clayton Hotel Cardiff Lane, responded to this review, October 9, 2012
Hello Squirrels88,
Thank you for taking the time to review Maldron Hotel Cardiff Lane.
It is a pleasure to see you had such a great stay with us and thank you for recommending us.
However I am sorry to see in your opinion that there were allot of signs in the health club, all signs and notices displaying in club vitae are for health and safety regulations so I understand this may be frustrating to you. I will ensure that your feedback is passed on and utilised correctly.
We hope to welcome you again when you are back in Dublin.
Conor O’Kane,
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal
Level Contributor
82 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 153 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 2, 2012

I booked this hotel for our mini-vacation through a last minute bid on Priceline.com. However, even as a last minute deal, it didn't come cheap. Positive points included a very efficient and friendly staff, simple but very clean hotel rooms, big terrace and the location of the hotel, which is just by the water and only about a 15-minute walk away from the hustle and bustle of downtown Dublin (i.e. Trinity college, Grafton street, St. Stephen's Green, etc.) As well, we arrived via an international flight very early in the morning and despite a 2 p.m. check-in time, they were happy to let us check-in at 10 a.m. Overall, a positive experience; although I would have expected a little more charm or some added touches for a 4-star hotel.

Room Tip: If you are staying in the summer time, try and get a room with a terrace!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank travelover007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
conorokane, General Manager at Clayton Hotel Cardiff Lane, responded to this review, October 9, 2012
Hello travelover007,
Thank you for your review of Maldron Hotel Cardiff Lane.
I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. I will ensure your positive comments are passed onto the team. I look forward to welcoming you back for your next break in the future.
Conor O'Kane
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coleraine
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 2, 2012

We had an excellent stay at the Maldron on quite a busy weekend. Despite the number of guests, the staff were friendly and accomodating and went the extra mile to make us welcome. The Maldron is a modern hotel with clean design and clean housekeeping. We were impressed with the accomodation throughout. It is located a short walk from central Dublin yet is peaceful and close to the Liffey. Safe underground parking is available below the hotel. We would recommend this to anyone for a short to medium stay in a vibrant city.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KeithDay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
conorokane, General Manager at Clayton Hotel Cardiff Lane, responded to this review, October 9, 2012
Hello KeithDay,
I am delighted to see you had such a great stay with us and thank you for taking your time to review and recommend Maldron Hotel Cardiff Lane.
We are lucky to have such great staff here in Maldron Hotel Cardiff Lane that really go out of their way to help guests.
Hopefully we will see you again very soon.
Conor O’Kane,
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coleraine, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 2, 2012

Stayed in the Maldron, Cardiff Lane and had a fantastic time. The staff were very friendly and helpful, rooms were spacious and comfortable and food was great. Light lunches were exceptional and evening meals very good too. The hotel is very close to the city centre, perfect for shopping trips and great bars nearby. Couldn't fault my stay, will definitely be back.

I also stayed in the hotel before this trip with my young son and a couple of his friends. They never left the pool!!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bernadette M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
conorokane, General Manager at Clayton Hotel Cardiff Lane, responded to this review, October 9, 2012
Hello Bernadette M,
Thank you for your loyalty to Maldron Hotel Cardiff Lane. It is a pleasure to see that you had such a fantastic time here in the hotel.
We all look forward to welcoming you back very soon.
Conor O’Kane,
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portstewart, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 2, 2012

My husband and I stay in this hotel everytime we visit Dublin. It is walking distance to the Aviva stadium, great for the 6 nations rugby games!! I have also stayed here on a shopping trip to Dublin with my sisters and it is brilliant for this also
The rooms are perfect in every sense - spacious, clean and very comfortable. The staff are the best I have experienced in any hotel I have stayed in, nothing is too much trouble for them. We enjoyed eating in the hotel restaurant and the hotel has a lovely buzz in the evening. A great bar area, not too noisy but still very lively.
I would recommend this hotel without hesitation.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MonicaDay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
conorokane, General Manager at Clayton Hotel Cardiff Lane, responded to this review, October 9, 2012
Hello MonicaDay,
Thank you for taking the time to leave such a great review of Maldron Hotel Cardiff Lane and recommending us, your loyalty is greatly appreciated. It is a pleasure to see that you and your husband enjoyed your stay with us again in the hotel and my team took such good care of you. I will ensure your feedback is passed on.
We look forward to welcoming you back very soon.
Conor O’Kane,
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dublin hotels
0.2 mi away
The Spencer Hotel Dublin IFSC
0.1 mi away
The Marker Hotel
The Marker Hotel
#2 of 153 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,729 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Gibson Hotel
The Gibson Hotel
#20 of 153 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,398 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
The Croke Park
The Croke Park
#6 of 153 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,263 reviews
0.6 mi away
Trinity City Hotel
Trinity City Hotel
#51 of 153 in Dublin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,218 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Morgan
The Morgan
#34 of 153 in Dublin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,620 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clayton Hotel Cardiff Lane? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clayton Hotel Cardiff Lane

Property: Clayton Hotel Cardiff Lane
Address: Cardiff Lane, Sir John Rogerson's Quay, Dublin 2, Ireland (Formerly Maldron Hotel)
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Dublin
#27 Romantic Hotel in Dublin
#28 Luxury Hotel in Dublin
#30 Family Hotel in Dublin
#36 Business Hotel in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Clayton Hotel Cardiff Lane 4*
Number of rooms: 304
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Clayton Hotel Cardiff Lane (formerly Maldron Hotel)is a seven storey, contemporary landmark building off Sir John Rogerson's Quay in the Dublin Docklands, a stone's throw from the city center. A spacious 304 bedroom hotel, each designed to meet the needs of both business and leisure guests the beautifully appointed guest rooms offer a light spacious contemporary style at least 25 square meters. Vertigo Bar is a funky bar space within the hotel open throughout the day, Stir Restaurant offers an array of dishes to tempt your taste buds, Club Vitae Health & Fitness Club and a range of meeting space make Clayton Hotel Cardiff Lane an award winning 4 star hotel. Clayton Hotel Cardiff Lane is within easy access of the airport and main bus & rail stations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Clayton Hotel Cardiff Lane reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maldron Hotel Dublin
Quality Hotel Dublin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing