We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Maldron Cardiff Lane” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Clayton Hotel Cardiff Lane

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Clayton Hotel Cardiff Lane to your Saves list
Clayton Hotel Cardiff Lane
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Cardiff Lane, Sir John Rogerson's Quay, Dublin 2, Ireland (Formerly Maldron Hotel)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #33 of 150 Hotels in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence
Kildare
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Maldron Cardiff Lane”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2012

An excellent hotel, myself and 14 girls stayed here as we were going to a show in the Grand Canal, when we arrived the hotel was buzzing with people our check in was very quick and very accomodating as some of our group were smokers there was no problem changing their rooms to smoking rooms, the rooms were very clean, very spacious and welcoming. We had dinner in the dinning room which we were all very happy with as it was gorgeous, service was quick and our waiter was very helpful. After the show, a few drinks and dancing we heading back to the hotel and the staff was very helpful and provided us with tea, coffee and left over birthday cake which we had earlier in the restaurant at 4 am which was very nice. Will be definately be back again and would recommend the hotel highly.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Helen T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
conorokane, General Manager at Clayton Hotel Cardiff Lane, responded to this review, February 22, 2012
Hello Helen T,
I am delighted to see you had a great stay with us, thank you for leaving a review of your great experience here. We look forward to seeing you again soon!
Conor O’Kane,
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,320 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,492
    1,207
    438
    130
    53
See reviews for
734
941
121
501
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (494)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Naas, Ireland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2012

Myself and my wife stayed here for a second time in early February, having stayed for a show in the Grand Canal before Christmas. Again we had a first rate stay. We ate at Stir restaurant were the food was excellent, and service was very prompt. Staff were extremely attentive, not least our server Ante, however slightly under pressure as they seemed short staffed. Same can be said for the bar as when we had a drink there before the show, the young man behind the bar seemed overwhelmed. Check in was swift and we were made to feel very welcome. We had the pleasure of dealing with a supervisor called Ciaran on three occasions, on check in, again when we had an issue with our room and being seated at breakfast. An exemplary gentleman and a credit to your hotel, as were the many other staff we had dealings with.

We will most definitely be back and will have no hesitation in recommending The Maldron to every one of our friends. Keep up the good work.

G.

Room Tip: Ask for room at the back, as the front can be noisier.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank An Gobán S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
conorokane, General Manager at Clayton Hotel Cardiff Lane, responded to this review, February 22, 2012
Hello An Goban S,
Thank you for taking the time to review Maldron Hotel Cardiff Lane. I am delighted to see you have had such a pleasant stay with us here. Your loyalty is greatly appreciated. Watch out for our theatre packages online for the upcoming shows.
Conor O’Kane,
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tipperary, Ireland
Level Contributor
37 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2012

The accommodation and food were very good, we dined in and food was really good, portions on the small side though. There is no parking! This was awful for me, we had to walk at least half mile and it cost 15 euro for over night. Bar staff were very poor: did not serve people in rotation, who ever stood in front of them were served, even though others were waiting longer. The hotel is a very dismal building looks more like a warehouse than a hotel, but the decor is good inside. The leisure facilities are great. Staff are good but lack uniformity of advice.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mollybawn190754
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
conorokane, General Manager at Clayton Hotel Cardiff Lane, responded to this review, February 22, 2012
Hello Mollybawn190754,
Thank you for taking the time to review Maldron Hotel Cardiff Lane. I am deeply sorry to see you did not have a pleasant stay with us. Thank you for bringing these issues to my attention. I would be very grateful if you could call me on my mobile, 00353 87 968 2123 so I can discuss this matter with you.
Please accept my sincerest apologies as this issue is far from the regular customer care practised at Maldron Hotel Cardiff Lane.
I look forward to hearing from you.
Conor O’Kane,
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galway, Ireland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2012

Myself and my boyfriend stayed there as we were going to a show in the Grand Canal theatre. Parking is just across the street; the pedestrian exit to the car park isn't very pleasant, but the price was reasonable when you get your parking ticket validated by the hotel. We checked in on a Saturday, and it was extremely busy - we queued for more than 30 minutes to check in. There were only 3 people behind the desk, and this wasn't nearly enough to deal with the number of people that were there.

We had booked a package that included dinner, and tried to book a time when we were checking in, but were told to ring the restaurant from our room instead. We did that immediately, and were told that the restaurant was booked out until 8pm. This clashed with our plans for the night, and both the first person I dealt with, and then the supervisor, were unhelpful and unaccomodating. We were informed that it was after 8 or nothing, with no other suggestions as to what we should do. We changed our plans to suit this, and when we arrived at the restaurant, we were greeted by possibly the rudest girl I have ever met, who told us she had no record of our booking and that we couldn't be seated. After a LOT of reasoning, we got a table. The waiter that served us was a really nice guy, and our meal was delicious. Disappointing that it was tainted by the supervisors.

The room was quite good, one of the lamps didn't work properly and we couldn't get wireless access, but other than that it was perfect. Breakfast was gorgeous - just be sure to get there early, when we were leaving the queue was out the door!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Laura T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
conorokane, General Manager at Clayton Hotel Cardiff Lane, responded to this review, February 22, 2012
Hello Laura T,
Thank you for taking the time to review Maldron Hotel Cardiff Lane and for bringing these issues to my attention. Please note that this is far from the regular customer care at the hotel. I would be very grateful to have if you could please call me on my mobile, 00353 87 968 2123 so I can discuss this with you.
Please accept my sincerest apologies and I look forward to discussing this with you.
Conor O’Kane,
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galway
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2012

great spot if your heading to the grand canal theatre to catch a show. VERY reasonably priced, clean, lovely rooms, but it seemed to be lacking in staff...long wait to check in...2 of the 3 rooms keys did not work...no big deal..apart from having to go back to reception 3 times as it was either too busy or there was no one available to help. .had dinner booked for 5:30, we were there on time but had to ask several times for our order to be taken by 6pm. Staff were friendly but the service was brutally slow...drinks, food/courses, the bill..we were constantly asking.... and waiting. Then there was the bar...the rudest bar man ever. 3 of us stood at the bar for over 5 mins while the barman stood in front of us making a cocktail...never even looked up..when we asked for a drink he bluntly told us "im doing this and i have to finish it" there were only two others at the bar and 1 other barman who never came near us. 15 minutes before we got our drink...only for this we would have stayed in the bar all night and there were 11 of us. Very very poor service.

so all in all, great value but eat and drink elsewhere...HERBSTREET up near grand canal theatre is the best...you will not be sorry and its just a 5 minute walk.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank magconn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
conorokane, General Manager at Clayton Hotel Cardiff Lane, responded to this review, February 22, 2012
Hello magonn,
Thank you for bringing the above to my attention. I am very sorry and disappointed to see there were such issues with your stay. This is far from the regular standards of customer care at Maldron Hotel Cardiff Lane. I would be very grateful if you could call me on my mobile, 00353 87 968 2123 so I can discuss this matter with you.
Please accept my sincerest apologies for the service that was provided.
I look forward to hearing from you.
Conor O’Kane,
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sligo, Ireland
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2012

We stayed here to catch a show at the Grand Canal Theatre.The Location is perfect, it is busy but the staff coped well.The Kids loved the pool and breakfast was good,if you take the hotels advice and get there before the rush.
Parking is very convient but not free, The rooms are clean, and most of Dublin is within walking distance. I will be back....

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gucks26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
conorokane, General Manager at Clayton Hotel Cardiff Lane, responded to this review, February 22, 2012
Hello Gucks26
Thank you for the very pleasant review of Maldron Hotel Cardiff Lane. We are the perfect location for the theatre and so many of our guests take pleasure in this.
Hopefully we will see you again soon.
Conor O’Kane,
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Limerick
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2012

This is a Lovely Hotel, Rooms are spacious. My only problem is check in was very slow, it took 30 mins to check in with the amount of people checking in. very close and ideal for going to see a show in the Grand canal theatre.

Room Tip: ask for a room with a balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GGirlLimerick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
conorokane, General Manager at Clayton Hotel Cardiff Lane, responded to this review, February 22, 2012
Hello GGirlLimerick
Thank you for taking the time to review Maldron Hotel Cardiff Lane, we really appreciate our guests taking the time to review the hotel and provide us with some constructive feedback where we can learn and improve our services. I am terribly sorry that it took you so long to check into the hotel. I do hope that this hasn’t deterred you from staying with us again and hopefully next time it will be a rapid smooth check in.
Conor O’Kane,
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dublin hotels
0.2 mi away
The Spencer Hotel Dublin IFSC
0.3 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Dublin Custom House
0.1 mi away
The Marker Hotel
The Marker Hotel
#3 of 150 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 stars 1,933 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Trinity City Hotel
Trinity City Hotel
#55 of 150 in Dublin
4.0 of 5 stars 2,876 reviews
0.5 mi away
O'Callaghan Davenport Hotel
0.4 mi away
O'Callaghan Alexander Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clayton Hotel Cardiff Lane? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clayton Hotel Cardiff Lane

Property: Clayton Hotel Cardiff Lane
Address: Cardiff Lane, Sir John Rogerson's Quay, Dublin 2, Ireland (Formerly Maldron Hotel)
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Dublin
#24 Luxury Hotel in Dublin
#27 Romantic Hotel in Dublin
#30 Family Hotel in Dublin
#36 Business Hotel in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Clayton Hotel Cardiff Lane 4*
Number of rooms: 304
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Clayton Hotel Cardiff Lane (formerly Maldron Hotel)is a seven storey, contemporary landmark building off Sir John Rogerson's Quay in the Dublin Docklands, a stone's throw from the city center. A spacious 304 bedroom hotel, each designed to meet the needs of both business and leisure guests the beautifully appointed guest rooms offer a light spacious contemporary style at least 25 square meters. Vertigo Bar is a funky bar space within the hotel open throughout the day, Stir Restaurant offers an array of dishes to tempt your taste buds, Club Vitae Health & Fitness Club and a range of meeting space make Clayton Hotel Cardiff Lane an award winning 4 star hotel. Clayton Hotel Cardiff Lane is within easy access of the airport and main bus & rail stations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Hotwire, Agoda, HotelTravel.com, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Clayton Hotel Cardiff Lane reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maldron Hotel Dublin
Quality Hotel Dublin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing