We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (4,696)
Filter reviews
4,696 results
Traveler rating
2,298
1,549
593
175
81
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2,298
1,549
593
175
81
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbord gais theatrestir restaurantvertigo barswimming poolconvention centerleisure facilitiessteam roomminute walkquality hotelduty manageracross the rivergrand canallovely hotelenjoyable staywould highly recommend this hoteltemple barbar food
Filter
Updating list...
3,818 - 3,823 of 4,696 reviews
Reviewed May 13, 2011

Very nice modern hotel in ideal location for Grand Canal Theatre or O2. Breakfast could include mushrooms and tomatoes in a 4-star hotel, and bar food is pricey and unimpressive.

  • Stayed: April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DemApples
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
conorokane, General Manager at Clayton Hotel Cardiff Lane, responded to this reviewResponded October 16, 2015

Dear DemApples

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. Maldron Hotel Cardiff Lane has recently re-branded as Clayton Hotel Cardiff Lane. We are currently reviewing all historic reviews both positive and constructive feedback so as to enhance guest experience moving forward. We hope to see you again soon at Clayton Hotel Cardiff Lane and once again thank you for your contribution.

Kind regards,
Conor O’Kane
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 13, 2011

All positive exept
no wi fi in the rooms,
breakfast expensieve no a great choice

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Eddymusic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
conorokane, General Manager at Clayton Hotel Cardiff Lane, responded to this reviewResponded May 15, 2011

Dear Eddymusic
Thanks for your review. I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay. I was sorry that you felt that breakfast was too expensive and lacked choice. I hope that it will not put you off paying us a return visit.
Conor O'Kane
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 13, 2011

I recently stayed at the Maldron Hotel Cardiff Lane I live and reside in Dublin and took the opportunity to stay in Dublin City for the night. On arrival to our room we were greeted with complimentary fresh fruit etc. I found my stay very pleasant: the staff were friendly and helpful. We used the leisure facilities and were pleasantly surprised with the size of the pool area. We had a lovely stay for the night well done to all staff involved

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MauraH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
conorokane, General Manager at Clayton Hotel Cardiff Lane, responded to this reviewResponded May 15, 2011

Dear MauraH
Thanks for taking the time to write your review. I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay. We are very lucky to have such a large and well equiped leisure centre and I am pleased that you were pleasantly suprised by it. looking forward to welcoming you back.

Conor O'Kane
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 12, 2011

I have stayed at the Maldron Cardiff lane about 5 times now and i am never disappointed with it.

On a weekend you can get a room for about 79-99 euros, which for Dublin is really cheap! Book further in advance and you can get a good deal.

The hotel is located close to grand canal docks, which if you are unfamiliar with the area you can feel left out of the city centre a bit which is so not the case.
The hotel itself, doesnt have parking which is probably one of the only negatives. I have only ever stayed at the weekends where you can park in front of the hotel for free. If you dont get a space there is new QPARK which is really safe and secure for 12euro for 24 hours and it is across the road from the hotel.

The rooms in the hotel are lovely with comfy beds. There are ice buckets located on each floor which is great for chilling the wine and enjoying a drink on the balcony (all rooms at the front of the hotel have a balcony overlooking the new theatre).

The swimming pool and jacuzzi are great also. Breakfast on a Sunday is served until 11 and there is fantastic variety and choice! The only other negative i have is that the food in the bar is pretty bad - there are other places to eat clost by!

The staff can't do enough for you.

The hotel is so close to the O2 so if thats were your headed or the AVIVA stadium for that matter stay here. Even if you are going into town - stay here and take a taxi or walk along the Liffey and see a bit of the city.

Room Tip: Rooms at the front have a balcony, just ask
  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travelbugjen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
conorokane, General Manager at Clayton Hotel Cardiff Lane, responded to this reviewResponded May 15, 2011

Dear travelbugjen
Thanks very much for your great review. It is great to see that we are offering such value for money. In regards to the bar food, we are in the process of revamping all our menus and I am sure that you will see an improvement next time you visit.
Regards
Conor O'Kane
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 8, 2011

Just back from a weekend break with our two children under 9. Had read the reviews here which by and large were positive, so was hopeful that all would be well. Everything from check in to check out ran smoothly. The hotel was spotless, the staff pleasant, polite and courteous. They answered any queries we had without any problem. Definitely recommend this hotel for families, as they cater for children, and with the great leisure centre it's really ideal. It's not something you will get in many hotels city centre. It's a nice stroll into the city centre, or you can get the Luas just over the river, which the kids loved. We got the Zoo package which was excellent value for money. We eat in the hotel on our second night and they had a great set 2 or 3 course menu at a very reasonable price. Their children's menu while not huge had a very good selection. Our kids went for the chicken goujons, with mash and broccoli which went down a treat. They could have had pizza or burger either. Our meal was top notch for such a great price. I think it was 20 euro for the 3 courses. The only complaint I would have was that the shower could have been stronger, but that's it. The children's pool was lovely and warm, the jazussi was roasting! I loved it! The room was really quiet which meant there was no excuse for not getting a good night's sleep. If you are attending a show at the Grand Canal Theatre it's literally just across the street, and the 02 is in walking distance.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Casarina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
conorokane, General Manager at Clayton Hotel Cardiff Lane, responded to this reviewResponded May 15, 2011

Dear Casarina
Thank you very much for your review. I am delighted that you and your family enjoyed your break. If you friend us on facebook you will be kept up to date on all our packages. Looking forward to welcoming you back.

Conor O'Kane
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews