We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Disappointing” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hilton Dublin Airport Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hilton Dublin Airport Hotel
Ranked #67 of 153 Hotels in Dublin
GreenLeadersSilver level
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2012

Hiton is my preferred hotel chain when travelling, so it is very disappointing when encountering a bad experience.

We checked in late around 8:00PM for a early flight the next morning. The room was warm so we adjusted the AC and went to dinner in the bar. Returning an hour later the room was still warm, I lowered the thermastat a few more degrees and we proceeded to get settled in. After an hour with no relief from the heat, it must have been 85 degrees or warmer I called the front desk. They said someone would come up, 30 minutes later I called again. After another 15 minutes someone arrived to check the AC settings. He confirmed the settings were correct but the system not functioning. He left to discuss with the front desk. By the time the front desk called back it was midnight and we had a 4:30 AM wake up to make our flight. Desk did offer another room, but it was just too late to make a room change. A small fan was provide and we just toughed out the temperature.

Maybe I'm wrong but I expect Hilton to ensure the room's AC is functioning before assigning the room to a guest. The mattresses were also very firm and uncomfortable, which is counter to my experience with Hilton hotels everywhere else.

Room Tip: Not in the flight path of Dublin airport.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JBR3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,135 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    675
    814
    413
    144
    89
See reviews for
418
748
226
452
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (256)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Gosport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2012

Most airport hotels are at best average or take full advantage of their captive guests who have little option but to stay there.This is an above average airport hotel in that it is reasonably priced especially at weekends and the rooms are spacious comfortable and well proportioned.I have stayed here several times and the welcome is always warm and helpful,The restaurant is satisfactory with a good atmosphere particularly when there is live music.The breakfast is a buffet arrangement and it is acceptable.The hotel is close to a large Tescos although busy roads make access tricky,and there is a supermarket and off license nearby.There is a fee for carparking but if you are lucky you can park near to the hotel.I did not use the shuttle bus so cannot comment on its efficiency or otherwise.Better hotel than the Airport radisson.

Room Tip: Ask for a deluxe room they have more amenities.The views from the hotel are not great Tescos and hor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank evecharlton49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2012

Another great find during our time in Ireland. A large breakfast buffet plus a clean, spacious room, with lots of amenities. A quick 5 minute walk to catch the bus going downtown. A genuine, helpful, staff - would absolutely return.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Matt848
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hollywood
Level Contributor
66 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 3, 2012

This hotel is set up for business travelers. I could not get over the lobby, or lack of a lobby. Though clean and professional. Too far of a hike to the city or anything including the airport! The hotel sits by itself with very little around it except a huge Tesco store. I get it's an airport hotel, but come on a little atmosphere. Some charming Irish hospatility would have been nice.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank daisygirlrocks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
54 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 29, 2012

Spent one night here on a business trip to Dublin. Nothing unexpected about this hotel, there is no special atmosphere, rooms are clean and spacious, service is professional, but nothing more: it's an airport hotel.
I can confirm what I read on TripAdvisor about the mattresses in this hotel. They are certainly not at the standard you would expect form Hilton. It didn't turn out to be an issue for me, but is certainly the weak point of the rooms.
Otherwise the hotel is located approx. 5km from the airport. There is a shuttle service that leaves only every 30 minutes from the airport. You can end up waiting for some time as I did if you miss the previous service. Taking a taxi might save you time here.
Breakfast is buffet-style, not exceptional but still good , you can get it either continental or irish-type.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Nicolas M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dartmouth, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 29, 2012

Very unfriendly receptionist at this place, our welcome was awful. Room was disappointing and not very clean, I have stayed in many a Hilton and this one was not very good. I certainly would not recommend this place and would never come back.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gary D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taunton, UK
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 29, 2012

Hi,

Stayed here from Monday to Friday..... What can I say? Well, its a typical Hilton - all the same decor, all the same toiletries, all the standard fittings. If, like me, you're a regular Hilton resident, you'll feel very much at home.

Room: comfortable and with standard Hilton fittings.

Breakfast: Pretty good actually.

The "Welcome": I was made to feel at home; the staff were generally very friendly

Parking: Somewhat limited underground parking.... OK if you have a small car, ever so slightly challenging if you're driving anything bigger than a compact. (Mind you, this could be more down to my poor hand-eye co-ordination than anything else). Challenging right hand turn shortly after leaving the confines of the underground garage......

Location: Close to airport and the M1 & M50 motorways.

I enjoyed my stay.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NorthCurryNeil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dublin
Kilmainham
Sheldon Park Hotel
Sheldon Park Hotel
#65 of 153 in Dublin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,257 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Dublin Skylon Hotel
#33 of 153 in Dublin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,749 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Dublin Airport Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Dublin Airport Hotel

Property: Hilton Dublin Airport Hotel
Address: Hilton Dublin Airport Hotel Malahide Road, Dublin 17, Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Green Hotel in Dublin
#41 Luxury Hotel in Dublin
#52 Business Hotel in Dublin
#58 Family Hotel in Dublin
#61 Romantic Hotel in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Dublin Airport Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 166
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just a short distance from Dublin Airport by complimentary shuttle, the Hilton Dublin Airport hotel has 9 flexible meeting rooms with wireless internet access and a ballroom for up to 350. De-stress in the gym or wind down in the newly refurbished Burnell Bar & Grill, or visit nearby Dublin attractions, just 5 kilometres away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hilton EMEA, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda, HotelsClick, Hotel.de, HRS, Reservation Counter and Despegar.com so you can book your Hilton Dublin Airport Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Dublin Airport Hotel Dublin
Dublin Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing