We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Okay B&B - Quiet Neighborhood”
Review of Botanic View B & B

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Botanic View B & B
Ranked #1 of 151 Dublin B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 10, 2008

When we arrived, Bernadette though we were asking for a room and didn't have one booked. The Police were playing that weekend and lots of peoplw were looking for rooms.

After we told her we had a reservation, she showed us to our room. she wasn't all that friendly when we checked in, but was a bit better the next day.

The location is pretty far from the city center, but it is in a quiet neighborhood. The buses run close by the B&B

No tea or coffee maker in the room. The house was okay, a bit older.

Bernadette mentioned that she had sold that house and was buying another house to turn into a B&B.

  • Stayed: October 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank aacree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (785)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

661 - 667 of 785 reviews

Reviewed January 30, 2008

This was the perfect place to stay while in Dublin. There are 2 bus stops with in 5 min. walking or less. There are a couple of pubs and a great place to eat (Porterhouse North) all with in a 10 min walk. You have a pharmacy and a "Spar" store all right there. Bus is only 10 min from city center. The lady of the house is Wonderful. Very nice and helpful about what to do, where to go and what to see. Told me tips that most places would not. I will stay again, next time I am in Dublin!!!!

  • Stayed: January 2008, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CarylC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2008

Bernie, the owner of Botanic View is the perfect example of Irish hospitality. She was incredibly friendly, hugely informative which included a weather report every morning where she correctly predicted snow and made us feel really really welcome.

My aunt joining us for some of the time there and she made special plans to put my aunt in a room on the ground floor (as she has a bad leg) close to our room.

Our room was at the back of the house and quiet (as recommended by reviewer) and of a decent size. No complaints about the bathroom either, especially not the great hot shower.

Yes, the breakfast room is cosy but it is a damn fine cooked breakfast by Dublin standards.

The B&B is conveniently close to the bus route and there are lots of eating/drinking/take out options in walking distance.

  • Stayed: December 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank LeeBZA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 11, 2007

I was greeted with the world renound Irish hospitality. Bernie was so nice and helpful. When I asked about staying longer she gave me lots of options. Clean, friendly and a great location. I honestly may never leave. Quite neighborhood, feels like you are living in Dublin. Everything you need is only a block or two away and the bus stops right at the front door (almost). I can't wait to come back again.

  • Stayed: December 2007, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank julesadventure13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 25, 2007

We booked the room days before our arrival, and the owner put us in separate house which is not far from main house. But yes, we have to walked out and ring the bell for breakfast or just borrow hair dryer from the main house. We even had to wait long to pay the room cos no one open the door in main room and no telephone between these two houses.

The room is so small. I thought I will get botanic view or at least flowers, but no, its garbage view in the window. But never mind, we didn't stay in the room to enjoy the window view :) The ensuite bathroom is bloody small. my husband found difficulties to sit on closet nor standing to do his nature job. To dry ourself after shower, we did it outside the bathroom cos no space to swing our towel inside. But if you are petite, those wont be problem.

The hallway also small and moreover the breakfast area. When we were there, looks like all rooms were occupied. When its breakfast time, all guests had to sit carefully, no move! Or you will drop something from the table cos 6 people had to sit in one table which is 1metre x 2 metres.

The breakfast menu is ok and I love the coffee. But yes, thats it.

  • Stayed: September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Beth A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Botanicview, Owner at Botanic View B & B, responded to this reviewResponded March 28, 2010

Greetings from Botanic View! Please check our website to see the major renovation job we have done during 2008. As these historic houses are over 100 years old and were heated by fireplaces, we are very limited in the space available to build en suites so they have to be on the small side in SOME rooms but there is no way round this unfortunately. New single rooms built at back of house have larger en suites. Hope to see you back in dublin again sometime.
Bernie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2007

Stayed here during the weekend of Irelaand v Scotland rugby match. Landlady said that she did not hafe a room in the main house, so we were offered a room around the corner in a socalled srudent doss house. Room was very smalll and had no curtains up, were told that it would be fixed.

stairs leading up to room were very steep, which were unsuitable for my mother as she has a bad hip. The room was very small and very littel room to move around in, no tv or tea/ coffee facilitites despite being told that there would be, overall very disapointed and not even offered a discount for the lack of facilities.

Only good point i spose was the location and good transport links to the city centre, will not be staying here again

  • Stayed: March 2005, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank zebedee89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Botanicview, Owner at Botanic View B & B, responded to this reviewResponded August 24, 2007

I am the owner of Botanic view and am most surprised that this lady waited until August 2007 to complain about her stay here back in early 2005?? Rooms are booked in advance for up to one year for rugby international weekends as 50,000 people come to Dublin on these occasions and accommodation is impossible to find. I have rooms available on ground floor so if she had booked well in advance and indicated a hip problem, then I would have done my utmost to facilitate her.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2007

What it lacks in size (rooms and hallways are all pretty tight, as is the breakfast area) this B&B more than makes up for in every other way: the food is good, the rooms are absolutely spotless, beds comfortable, rooms quiet, and the host/owner is terrific. Location is also perfect. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: June 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank gspatz1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dublin hotels
2.6 mi away
Clontarf Castle Hotel
Clontarf Castle Hotel
#3 of 152 in Dublin
4,287 reviews
1.8 mi away
Almanii Bed & Breakfast
Almanii Bed & Breakfast
#5 of 151 in Dublin
338 reviews
3.4 mi away
Donnybrook Hall Hotel
Donnybrook Hall Hotel
#3 of 151 in Dublin
471 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Leeson Bridge Guesthouse
1.7 mi away
O'Neills Victorian Pub & Townhouse
1.5 mi away
Tipperary House
Tipperary House
#9 of 151 in Dublin
306 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Botanic View B & B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Botanic View B & B

Address: 3 Iona Road | Glasnevin, Dublin 9, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 151 B&Bs / Inns in Dublin
Price Range: $94 - $159 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
From November 2008, Botanic View B & B has moved to 3 Iona Road, Glasnevin, Dublin 9 which is a quiet tree-lined road just around the corner from our former premises on Botanic Road. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda and HostelWorld so you can book your Botanic View B & B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Botanic View Bed And Breakfast
Botanic View Hotel Dublin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing