We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food and service”
Review of Airfield

Airfield
Book In Advance
More Info
$54.69*
and up
Dublin Pass with Hop-On Hop-Off Tour and Entry to Over 30 Attractions
Ranked #114 of 507 things to do in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Airfield is a charitable organisation, established by the Overend family in 1974, for educational and recreational purposes. Our farm, gardens, cafe and heritage experience in the Overend family home, offers visitors a wonderful opportunity to enjoy and learn about food, farming, gardens, growing, history and heritage in a natural and relaxed environment.
Dublin, Ireland.
Level Contributor
108 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
“Great food and service”
Reviewed March 15, 2014

I recently had a family lunch here and we were all very impressed with the food, service and the bright premises. It was busy throughout with people of all ages, but any noise was not distracting. The food was very tasty, I had a braised duck leg with mashed potato and the meat would melt in your mouth. There are very large windows that let in lots of light and you can observe the donkeys outside and they you!
Service was great too. This is ideal for a coffee any time or lunch. It may not suit if you are looking for a quiet place to chat or have a meeting. They open for evening dinner on Friday and Saturday, which I hope to try soon.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank PlanetWaves20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

144 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    68
    32
    18
    12
    14
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
324 reviews
89 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
“New coffee shop!”
Reviewed March 8, 2014

Lovely modern decor,the staff are friendly,stopped in to have a quick cup of coffee. The cafe was very busy. Service is slow and we had to ask for milk but the coffee was good. A tad too warm inside.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank KillineyBay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
24 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Airfield is a jewel”
Reviewed February 25, 2014 via mobile

So happy that this wonderful place has re opened. People, be patient! I love the new cafe, especially early in the morning. There were some teething problems but sorted out now. The food is gorgeous and so fresh. Staff are charming. The new museum to the O vet ends up at the house is absolutely beautiful. You could spend hours there. The gardens are awakening....can't wait to see them in the next few months. You can walk down to the barns and see the animals and the rest of the estate will be open sometime in April. We are so lucky to have this gem on our door. Well done to everyone.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Teresaelena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Really poor”
Reviewed February 22, 2014

How disappointing to have the "farm" cafe looking out over the car park and apartment blocks instead of the farm. Modern decor. Very noisy. Seems child friendly but don't go unless you have your own crying/squeeling child. Menu uninteresting. Small portions and served lukewarm. Quite expensive. Lots of staff but not much service. The only positive comment I can offer is that there is ample free parking. Such a disappointing experience.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank Jmcc752
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Absolute disappointment in service”
Reviewed December 22, 2013

My friend and I visited the new café a few weeks ago for something to eat. To say the service was bad is an understatement. All around us were waiters and waitresses, all very well mannered and nice but clearly had no idea what they were at. Order at our table was wrong a few times, the table beside us the same. Waiting staff going around with food, they didn't know which table it was for, we were asked a few times if things were for us, that was when we had eaten. I would have been happy to give my feedback on departure but there was no one there to give it to, absolutely no sign of anyone managing these, mostly young and experienced, staff members. In my view the place needs a manager to walk the floor and help direct and train these staff. I may try once more but if it is the same, that will be it.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank reviewer99992013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Airfield also viewed

Dundrum, County Dublin
Dublin, County Dublin
 
Dublin, County Dublin
 

Been to Airfield? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing