We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome Experience”

Croke Park Stadium Tour & GAA Museum
Book In Advance
More Info
$56.31*
and up
Dublin Pass with Hop-On Hop-Off Tour and Entry to Over 30 Attractions
Ranked #5 of 532 things to do in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: New for 2014 Croke Park is now on the City Sightseeing Hop On Hop Off (red buses) bus tour, so getting here could not be easier! Walk in the footsteps of legends. A stadium tour of Croke Park will take you through Irelands history as experienced by the countrys largest sporting organisation. Croke Park stadium Europes 4th largest, is one of the most historic and modern sporting arenas in the world. Entry to the GAA Museum is included in your ticket. Refurbished in early 2013 the museum not only provides access to all the artefacts of the games, but you can try out your skills in the Interactive area too! Open daily from 9.30Am to 5pm including weekends. Check our website for tour times.
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Activities for older children
Tampa, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
20 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Awesome Experience”
Reviewed November 13, 2013

The facilities themselves are absolutely beautiful, although the stadium itself is a little out of the city centre. The guided tour starts with a brief video to set the tone and then you get the full behind-the-scenes treatment. Definitely worth a stop if you've got the time to do the tour. Museum inside is great as well, and full of high-tech videos and other neat exhibits to learn more about the history of the games.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Ryan N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,149 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,723
    375
    42
    4
    5
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ireland
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 attraction reviews
“Great, especially for kids”
Reviewed November 10, 2013

This is a very interesting tour even if you're not into GAA or if you don't know much about it as it's a very impressive stadium and the tour guides are excellent. Going out onto the pitch was probably the highlight. If you have kids you could easily spend a whole afternoon in the museum, it's full of GAA-based interactive games. It was quite expensive hence the 4-star review.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank muinteoir123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
113 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“History and sport at a magnificent stadium”
Reviewed November 9, 2013

I was interested in visiting Croke Park after hearing of the association with the Irish War of Independence and the Easter uprising.

The tour surpassed all expectations. The tour guide was excellent and very knowledgeably with a typical Irishman's gift for telling a great story.

The 90 minute tour takes you into the dressing rooms and into the heart of the stadium before you walk though the tunnel and to the edge of the pitch and imagine how the players must feel as they look up at the vast stands of this highly impressive arena.

After that we ascended to the top of the Hogan stand and looked down on the pitch far below. Our guide told us the awful stories of the stand and the fascinating tale of Hill 16, the Easter Rising and the inextricable links between the GAA and Irish history. Fascinating.

Afterwards there is a chance to visit the museum and understand more about Gaelic sport Even for a non hurler or footballer it was interesting and at the end there is a chance to try them for yourself.

I was relieved just to hit the sliotar with the hurley and for it to reach the far wall - maybe a new sport to take up?

An excellent afternoon and highly recommended

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank John B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“do the tour - feel the passion!”
Reviewed November 8, 2013

We (my son and I) did this tour to avoid an afternoon of shopping with my wife and daughter. But we soon realised that it was going to be far from just another stop-gap.
As they take you round (inside and outside the stadium) you can see and feel the passion all round: the photos, a short video, the way the tour guide explains and expresses everything. It's amazing to think this is the 4th largest stadium in Europe, after 2 Spanish football grounds and Wembley in London. But what's even more remarkable is that this is a stadium originally just for the Irish sports of gaelic football and hurling - played only by amateurs. And yet when it comes to the annual finals in September they have no trouble filling the place - hence the comment about passion.
There is also what they call a museum, that you MUST see and for which you should allow 30 minutes minimum, preferably more. It has quite a few interactive displays that can be enjoyed by young and old.
So we fully recommend this tour as highly as we can. I'd say that ANY sports fan would appreciate it, regardless of what your favourite sport is. It will be a few hours very well spent.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Nigel D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wildwood, New Jersey
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“History so good!”
Reviewed November 7, 2013

We went here after our walking tour guide told us about this attraction...we love sport and both play so it was right up our street! We were eager to go when we heard about it and it did not disappoint, a bit tricky to find but so worth it in the end! A real taste of Ireland too.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Maria H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Croke Park Stadium Tour & GAA Museum also viewed

 

Been to Croke Park Stadium Tour & GAA Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing