We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An absolute must”

Historical Walking Tours of Dublin
Book In Advance
More Info
$14.41*
and up
Dublin Historical Walking Tour
Ranked #16 of 221 Tours in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Dublin's longest established walking tour business (1986). In just over 2 hours this award-winning and entertaining 'seminar on the street' conducted by history post-graduates explores the main features of Irish history—Dublin's development, the influence of the American and French Revolutions, the Potato Famine 1845-49, the 1916 Rising, the War of Independence, partition—and concludes with the Northern Ireland peace process and the rise and fall of the 'Celtic Tiger'.Cost: €12pp, €10 students/seniors
Northampton, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“An absolute must”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 3, 2013

Our tour was led by Tommy Graham, who was an outstanding guide. He is the editor of Irish History magazine, and demonstrated a broad understanding of the many influences that shaped Ireland’s history. He was especially good at explaining the complexities of the different Protestant movements, their relationships with Catholicism and English history, and the larger issues of class, politics, and ethnicity that have permeated Irish history. He also wove together fascinating information about demographic, economic, and agricultural history, and how these forces influenced Irish emigration and immigration. He is a master of synthesizing seemingly disparate subjects into a coherent narrative of Irish history. The tour was 2 hours, with quite a bit of walking and more standing while Tommy expounded on the history of a particular site. He was thoroughly entertaining throughout and has a wicked sense of humor. We took this tour on our first day in Dublin, which turned out to be a very good thing: it not only gave us a sense of Ireland’s long and fractious history but also a sense of the deep pride and independent spirit of the Irish. With that in mind, everything we saw after that had a context. Don’t miss this tour if you can help it, and if you can get Tommy as your guide, you’ll be fortunate.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank violinII
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

656 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    565
    67
    19
    3
    2
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Northern Ireland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“I am now really interested in Irish history”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 3, 2013

I went on the walking tour with Peter as the guide. He was amazing. I bought a book some time ago about Irish history but couldn't get into it. After his tour, I have been reading like crazy. He was knowledgeable and threw in a few funny facts along with some really interesting 'heavy' information. Would definitely recommend this and have been telling friends about it. Worth 12 euros. Am thinking of taking out a subscription to the magazine.

One thing to mention - wrap up warm!

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank ClaireK007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Thrilling tour in the wind and rain!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 31, 2012

Really enjoyed this tour, even in the worst of an Irish December. It's mostly on the street, with a bit indoors. The guide (Donal) said this depends on the day, some places (like the Bank of Ireland building) only open Mon-Fri. Great mix of humour and history, delivered almost like a performance,as a local I didn't expect to get much from this (I brought visitors) but I learned plenty on everything from O'Connell to Joyce! It took us just under THREE hours, but everyone seemed to love it start to finish.

Advice: bring an umbrella!

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank TomByrne125
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Very enjoyable”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 30, 2012

We have been to Dublin a few times and my mother was born in Bray, but nevertheless we learned a lot about the city and we look back on this tour as one of the highlights of our visit. Having a guide brought the city to life; he was very knowledgeable and enthusiastic, and threw in some humour which kept veryone's attention - 2 1/2 hours shot by.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Mark_R3456
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Totally Outstanding!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 11, 2012

What an excellent, informative and entertaining tour this was on the 24th November, great value for money, Donal has outstanding knowledge and mixed with some serious and often dramatic delivery he brought the tour to life. It was a chilly November Saturday when we set out and over the two plus hours we listened to some real history of Ireland. Would recommend this tour to anyone visiting Dublin as a "must do".

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Donald R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Historical Walking Tours of Dublin also viewed

 

Been to Historical Walking Tours of Dublin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing