We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrible service”
Review of River Bar

River Bar
Ranked #716 of 2,757 Restaurants in Dublin
Cuisines: Gastropub
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Reviewed January 2, 2014 via mobile

Only called in here to have a coffee and chat with friends but after an hour talking the manager threw tourists leaflets on our table and invited us to leave. The place was empty and you think he may have liked someone sitting by the window to make it look busy but hey hopefully this review will help others to avoid.

1  Thank Leo M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
michael m, Owner at River Bar, responded to this reviewResponded February 24, 2014

hi Leo,
thank you for taking the time to post a review on tripadvisor of our new bar in Dublin city.I am sorry to hear that your visit did not meet your expectations and apologise that you were treated in such a way.We expect high standards from our staff and do not accept anything less.After speaking to the staff member in question and ongoing staff reviews we felt this staff member did not meet our standards and has since left the company.As a new business we rely on customer feedback to improve our levels of service and once again apologise we did not meet your expectations.i would welcome you to return some day in the future and see for yourself the changes.
Regards,
Michael,
Owner,
River Bar

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (279)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

221 - 225 of 279 reviews

Reviewed November 26, 2013 via mobile

We trekked around Temple Bar and surrounding areas for quite a while.. Not impressed by prices, menus or venues. We passed The River Bar & realised this wasnt even existent the last time we were in Dublin for St.Paddys (last Feb).. So we knew it was new and were interested to see what was on offer.

We entered and were greeted by a beautiful bar & seating/dining area. So modern & cool.

We took a table by the window, overlooking the bridge. A beautiful pint of smooth Kilkenny as we browsed the menu. Lovely dishes at very reasonable prices (compared to the quite costly Temple Bar area).

We had chowder to start, which was quite easily THE best chowder we've ever had! My steak & Guinness pie was also, easily the best Ive ever had. We couldn't believe that we'd accidentally stepped on an absolute goldmine. Our food was hot, tasty & well presented (Pics attached). Our waitress was also great. She was beautiful. Didnt get her name, though she was foreign & had an accent.

Next time were in Dublin, this will easily be our first stop! Well done!

Thank average_joseph
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
michael m, Owner at River Bar, responded to this reviewResponded February 24, 2014

Thank you for taking the time out to write a review of our new bar in Dublin.im glad you enjoyed your experience with you and that we met your expectations in food,service and atmosphere.we look forward to seeing you again in the future.
Regards,
Michael

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 weeks ago
Google Translation

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile
Google Translation

This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 12, 2018 via mobile
Google Translation

This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed River Bar also viewed

Dublin, County Dublin
Dublin, County Dublin
 
Dublin, County Dublin
 
Dublin, County Dublin
 

Been to River Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing