We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lost reservation and no apology”
Review of Adelphi Guesthouse

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Adelphi Guesthouse
Ranked #87 of 150 Dublin B&B and Inns
Wiesbaden
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Lost reservation and no apology”
Reviewed October 21, 2012

We planned a trip to Ireland a few weeks in advance and booked several B&Bs across the country. The Adelphi reservation wasn't going through online so we e-mailed the guesthouse and explained the situation. They immediately responded that our reservation was guaranteed. When we arrived at Adelphi (after having a hard time finding it), a gentleman met us at the door having just gotten a room key from an extremely unhappy couple. When we mentioned our reservation the gentleman went to look and came back asking if we had any more information, because he couldn't find the reservation. We mentioned the situation and told about the e-mail and offered to show him if he'll let us use the WiFi (which he was very reluctant about). Even after showing the e-mail as evidence, he told us it wasn't a reservation (even though the e-mail from Adelphi said it was) and acted pretty put-off by the situation. The whole time we couldn't shake the feeling we were doing something wrong by asking them to honor the reservation they guaranteed. He ultimately made a phone call to another guesthouse nearby and found an open room for us. This was the only positive (the only reason we're rating it 2/5 instead of 1/5) of an overwhelmingly negative customer service experience. We would certainly NOT recommend this place to anybody else.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JAW1986
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

290 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    35
    93
    67
    50
    45
See reviews for
43
99
21
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego
Level 6 Contributor
115 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 139 helpful votes
Reviewed October 11, 2012

Overall a pretty good B&B ... but, 42 rooms and I ended up with the small one at the top of 4 flights of stairs. In fairness, it was the only double room available upon a walk-in - unreserved.

Be sure to ask for room 40 the largest of the rooms in the middle of the building on level one.. Rooms were clean and efficient. Looks like the B&B had been recently remolded and modernized

The front desk was mostly just business and not much warm and friendly - but , very accomadating.

Room Tip: Room 40 on level one - no stairs and in the middle of the building
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SanDiegoWayne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Killorglin, Ireland
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 16, 2012

Dont be fooled for one second by the pictures you'll see on sites they use to sell rooms,I felt mislead by the pictures I'd seen when I booked it,having paid 255 euro for two nights i had expected a little bit more. Not even a hello when arrived just a grunt, do we have reservations from a bald guy with glasses,we got a 10 x10 room at best with a beaufiul view of two mattress in the back yard of guesthouse,the window handles were broken, there was headboard on the bed,the sheets were too small for the bed,and we three of the flatess pillows in dublin,the dart passes every few minutes so it's quite loud. The water in the shower takes for ages to heat and the shower tray fills in seconds so your looking at flooding the place if your shower is longer than a minute, you'll hear the door bell ring every few minutes as you have to leave your room key at reception every time you leave,very annoying. the breakfast was fine but full Irish breakfasts have more than 4 items in a plate. The tv had bad signal the remote didn't work so I had to ask for batteries the look I got from the bald guy was if I had asked him for money, the location was fine,but I certainly won't be going back, we got ripped off and mislead,i know its a bed and breakfast but for over 120 a night I expected a lot more.avoid at all costs pay extra some where else if you have,this place certainly ain't worth it. I never write reviews I've never had to,sure Ive stayed in places where there been a few things wrong but nothing like this place.avoid avoid avoid

Room Tip: Don't go to the adelphi and if you are bring your own towels!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Johnnymcgill1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Dublin hotels

Cape Town
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed September 14, 2012

Although relatively clean, this guest house reminds me of student dorm rooms. The window was broken and I could not open it. Really inconvenient, especially when Dublin has afew of its rare sunny days. I did report it to the unfriendly bald guy, but he just give me a blank stare. Same reaction when I mentioned that the television does not work. Seems that only one of the reception staff can issue invoices / receive payment. Highly frustrating if you are in a hurry.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KarenE0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Level 6 Contributor
118 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed September 14, 2012

I regularly go to this guesthouse when I'm in Dublin (every month) as well in advance it can be quite cheap, and so well situated (in the city centre). Also it's easy enough to find a cab to the airport in Lower Gardiner Street. Luke is very nice and the night keeper lovely. It is safe as we need to ring to get in the guesthouse.
The staff serving breakfast are not that nice though, and that's a pity.
Rooms have been renovated recently and its modern now, and very clean.
Enjoy your stay :)

Room Tip: Book well in advance.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EmeraldIsle1703
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anchorage, Alaska
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed September 9, 2012

I only discovered the reviews of this B&B at the airport on our way to Dublin which made me nervous because we had already booked a room for a number of nights

We arrived and were told our room had been double booked.. In my head I was thinking.. Here it goes, it's about to start..but you know what? They arranged everything and came to a conclusion that all party's were happy with. After reading reviews on here I was pleasantly suprised with our experience

Yeah you can hear the subway and Irish pub music at night, I think its part of the Ireland experence.. If you don't like it then don't stay in the heart of Dublin. There is plenty of hotels out in the suburbs.

We were given a room, a little small but nothing horrible. It was clean and comfy. Only issue we had was other guests had a party in the courtyard one night and were very loud, nothing the hotel could really do about it.

Breakfast was pretty good, bacon, eggs, beans, toast, juice - its no holiday inn but still pretty good for a small place in Dublin

As someone who lives out of hotel rooms, this place was good!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Abaker25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hoorn, The Netherlands
2 reviews
Reviewed August 11, 2012

When I arrived the man that opened the door (the already mentioned bald guy with glasses) was very unfriendly. There was no clock in the room (they would knock on the door), but I had no mobile with me (didn't think I would need it to tell the time) so had no idea what time it was. No television although it said so on my voucher, no phone. Hardly any room to put my clothes. The shower was so small. Lots of water though, warm (you just had to wait a while). The man in the morning (Indian looking guy) was very helpful and nice. The noise from the street was horrible. I hardly slept, music from the pub (O'Sheas), traffic, train, other guests. They had a system so the door would close by itself. So you would here the slamming of the doors of other rooms.
The breakfast was ok, but I had to bargain for an extra egg or sausage (no beans or bread). Very strange.

I would not go back. Only for people that have no trouble sleeping through noise and don't mind unfriendly staffmembers (the bald guy with glasses). The breakfastladies were nice.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ilona Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dublin hotels
My Place Dublin Hotel
#125 of 151 in Dublin
520 reviews
O'Shea's Hotel
#82 of 151 in Dublin
313 reviews
North City Centre
Anchor House Dublin
Anchor House Dublin
#25 of 150 in Dublin
649 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Durban Residence
#82 of 150 in Dublin
142 reviews
Hazelbrook Lodge
#117 of 150 in Dublin
9 reviews
North City Centre
The Pillar
The Pillar
#77 of 115 in Dublin
77 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Adelphi Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Adelphi Guesthouse

Property: Adelphi Guesthouse
Address: 68 Lower Gardiner St, Dublin 1, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin > North City Centre
Hotel Style:
Ranked #87 of 150 B&Bs / Inns in Dublin
Hotel Class:3 star — Adelphi Guesthouse 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Cancelon so you can book your Adelphi Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Adelphi Guesthouse Hotel Dublin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing