We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A home in Ireland”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Avoca House Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #20 of 150 Dublin B&B and Inns
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“A home in Ireland”
Reviewed March 25, 2011

My husband and I relocated from the US to Dublin. Before we found a place to live we stayed in Avoca house. Avoca house is an absolutely wonderful, family run place. Jack and Audrey are the kindest, nicest, warmest people you can ever meet and they really care for their guests. Staying there is like staying at home, not in an impersonal hotel. The rooms are spacious, very clean and very charming. They all have their own bathrooms and there is a cozy dining room and a sitting room where you can relax after a long day of walking and sight seeing. The B&B is greatly located, close to downtown, and also a few minutes of walking to buses and a fast train that can get you to any place in Dublin. It is also close to plenty of restaurants and grocery stores if you want to pick up a snack. There is a park a street over from the B&B and the Botanical gardens are a short walk away. On a personal note, we were extremely lucky staying at Avoca because the owners Jack and Audrey made our introduction to a new country not only less stressful but in the end really happy and joyful. Midway through our booking, it turned out we had to stay longer than expected and Jack went out of his way to enable us to extend our stay. We appreciated that immensely. At the end of our stay, Jack made us dinner, which was the best meal we had in our first three weeks in Ireland. I recommend Avoca house whole heartedly to anyone who wants to stay at a wonderful place cared for by kind people.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dankaness D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

130 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    104
    20
    1
    2
    3
See reviews for
24
55
9
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed February 6, 2011

I was suppose to stay at another B&B which couldn't accomodate me, so they set me up with this spot. A lovely couple runs this hotel. They are warm and helpful.... This is a lovely, cozy hotel, but there are minimal issues...
-This is a no smoking room, but everyone in this hotel smoked and I wondered why they made an exception to my room.
-The shower was so small. You can't even bend down or shave your legs.
- The heat was on some nights, but not on others...Oh well...
-This is a bit away from the center of town...but if you like to walk, perhaps you would enjoy it here.I had a good experience.
I would stay here again...This place is perfect for a couple or a roaming adventurous soul.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kellyworking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mandy009, Owner at Avoca House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, February 8, 2011
Thank you for the review.
I would just like to comment on your minimal issues. There is absolutely no smoking allowed in the rooms at Avoca House. There is an outdoor area for smoking. On a very wet day or during inclement weather guests are occasionally allowed to smoke in a designated office space on the other side of the house. Occasionally you may get a smell of smoke while passing through the hallway on this side of the house.
The heating is set on a timer from 7am to 11am and again from 7pm to 11pm.The guests can control the heat in the room by means of a thermostatic valve. Sometimes these valves are shut off by working staff or guests that don’t like too much heat. They can easily be turned on again by the occupant of the room. We apologise if we did not point this out with clarity.
The shower in this room is what we term normal Irish size. We have much bigger ones in some of the other rooms.
We are glad the rest of your break went well and hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 26, 2010

An extremely hospitable welcome awaits you at this delightful family run B & B. Jack and Audrey run a great establishment with very comfortable and well appointed rooms. Breakfast is superb. The location is great too, just a short trip by bus into the city. We have stayed at this B & B twice and appreciated it very much.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marg30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterford, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 15, 2010

I have stayed on number of occasions. All the rooms are of a good standard. Food is perfect and service is always excellent. Location is very good for the city, airport and M50 etc. I will stay again

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank busymover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Köln
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 15, 2010

we stayed in this beautiful situated b&b and felt very well. we enjoyed the warm welcome and the the friendliness of audrey and jack, they were wonderful hosts. Comfortable rooms and delicious breakfast! Quiet located at the end of a side road, but the main road with bus directions to city centre or airport only few minutes to walk.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank angieR_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed July 30, 2010

I stayed here for business in all hallows college last year as i was living in cork. It was a great location only a five minute walk away. It was a great place with nonintrusive staff which is refrshing as i was on business and needed to get on with things. The room was lovely and the breakfast was good. i would stay there again. The location is fantastic for touring dublin also. I found the rates were fine and a little haggling works. Well done to the staff keep up the good work.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jen779
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
44 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed June 15, 2010

Jack and Audrey are the most amazing hosts that we have EVER met!. Their rooms are bright, very clean and the personalized service is what can be classified as " WOW". The breakfast is absolutely great, wholesome and you would be hard pressed to get it even in a five star hotel! Our room was very quiet at night, unlike some places near pubs or clubs in Dublin.

The location was very convenient. Very close to the airport, Dublin, dining, grocery, wine and shopping. It is also close to frequent city bus service and for health buffs like me, good long distance running.

Note: There is No elevator but they have a room on the ground floor for people with Handi-cap requirements... but please check with Jack/Audrey.

We have visited Jack and Audrey every time we come to visit our children studying Medicine in Dublin. We will definitely continue to stay here. We are always recieved Warmly and their touch is absolutely special!

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AlnoorSaleh786
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dublin hotels
0.2 mi away
Egans House
Egans House
#24 of 150 in Dublin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 439 reviews
1.0 mi away
Annandale Bed & Breakfast
2.5 mi away
Leesonbridge Guesthouse
Leesonbridge Guesthouse
#7 of 150 in Dublin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 863 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Flyover Bed and Breakfast
Flyover Bed and Breakfast
#15 of 150 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 185 reviews
3.4 mi away
Donnybrook Hall Hotel
Donnybrook Hall Hotel
#5 of 150 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 432 reviews
1.5 mi away
Almanii Bed & Breakfast
Almanii Bed & Breakfast
#4 of 150 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 305 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Avoca House Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Avoca House Bed and Breakfast

Property: Avoca House Bed and Breakfast
Address: Avoca House Bed And Breakfast 110 Hollybank Road | Drumcondra, Dublin 9, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 150 B&Bs / Inns in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Avoca House Bed and Breakfast 3.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz and Travelocity so you can book your Avoca House Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Avoca House b&b
Avoca House Hotel Drumcondra

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing