We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“not a good experience”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Staycity Aparthotels Christchurch
Ranked #4 of 122 Specialty Lodging in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 9, 2012

hello , I stayed in staycity apt dublin for two nights . i booked there for the good rewievs it had on tripadvisor . but , in effect it was not what I expected to be.
so we were 5 and the apartment has two little bedrooms , you even have difficulties going around the bed ! the windows ( it was raining ) had water that comes inside the room , so my son had left the cellphone there ... it was just good luck that it is still working ...!
the bathroom old and there is no place for beauties ...the shower: you can only do two showers beauce then the hot water is over ... so you have to wait at least half an hour for the next one ...
and last but not least be aware in fotos it seams very big apartment but it s really a little one .i found also in my boiler some old milk , i tell to the reception that it was smelling bad and if they could arrange a new one ... but I had no success .
So positif of the location is ... the location ... you can reach temple bar and dublin's center in a few minutes walk .

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chriva67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stayCity_com, General Manager at Staycity Aparthotels Christchurch, responded to this reviewResponded November 21, 2012

Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to post a review. I am sorry to hear that there were aspects about the apartment that affected your stay with us. We are commencing a refurbishment program for the bathrooms in our apartments in Christchurch Hall. They will be completed in the next number of months.
Maintenance have repaired the leak beside the window in the apartment, I apologise this happened during your stay with us.
We do keep spare kitchen equipment, including kettles and other electrical items. I sincerely apologise that you were not given a replacement when you brought it to the attention of reception.
If you wish to further discuss your stay with us, please do not hesitate in contacting me.

Yours sincerely

Deirdre Treacy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (789)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

512 - 518 of 789 reviews

Reviewed November 2, 2012

Very close to all the tourist attractions, the open bus tour stops just outside.
Very good value for the price, the apartment was clean and ideal for our three night break.
The bathroom was showing wear and tear and the shower was not very affective.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Blakey236
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 25, 2012

I visit Dublin often and always stay in Christchurch Hall. The location is terrific, close to the tourist areas but also close to Meath Street market; bedding is comfortable, and the bathrooms clean, with endless hot water. I recommend Christchurch Hall all the time to friends planning a trip to Dublion, and will continue doing so!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BrandywineDC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2012

...is the best thing about these apartments. A bit dated, not very comfortable. Old shower which was unreliable. The higher your apartment the poorer the water pressure.
Expensive for what we got......stay here if all you want is somewhere to rest your head after a long day enjoying fabulous Dublin.

Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
Thank Elster658
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2012

We almost didn't stay here based on the reviews complaining about the cleanliness, but am SO GLAD we chose to ignore them and stayed here anyway. First of all, the location is spectacular. Easy walking to Trinity College/Book of Kells and to pubs in Temple Bar, Christchurch, Grafton Street, etc. It's on a busy street, but away from Temple Bar main drag, so we did not experience any of the noisy revelers. The apartment was perfect for us -- we're a family with two small kids, so having two bedrooms meant we could actually put the kids to bed and then stay up talking or reading, and the kitchen and dining area also meant we could make our own breakfast and dinners, which was fantastic. There's a rooftop garden also, which was lovely to hang out in, and the kids had the BEST time shouting down at the horse and carriages and double decker buses from the window balcony.

It's not fancy, no bells and whistles, and the beds not the most comfortable ever, but all was perfectly serviceable and respectable, and was ideal for our needs.

Did I mention we have two small children? So cleanliness was important to us, and we had absolutely no complaints. The staff was also incredibly helpful, making this a great choice for us. Next time we're in DUblin (I hope not too long before we return) we will stay here without hesitation!

Room Tip: 4th floor rooms are best. Farthest from the street noise, and the rooftop garden is right off the h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kaile S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2012

Apartments have seen better days. Shower didn't work. We were on second floor facing high street, so lots of traffic noise. Would have expected more for the price paid. When asking at reception about shower and remote which wasn't working, told sorry can't help, call the manager after our stay....

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Catt1001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2012

9 people in 2 apartments. It had everything we needed including the washer dryer combo. The apartment truly is directly across from Christchurch, walking distance to Dublin Castle, Trinity College and the book of Kells, Guinnes factory tour, Jamison factory and the antique district. A friend looked at hotels and hostels and the prices didn't compare. Highly recommend these options for a short stay if you want to be in the heart of the city.

Room Tip: 1st floor has the best beds
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BynaWV52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dublin hotels
South City Centre
Jurys Inn Dublin Christchurch
Temple Bar
Handels Hotel Temple Bar
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Westbury
#6 of 150 in Dublin
4,045 reviews
Temple Bar
Temple Bar Hotel
Temple Bar Hotel
#38 of 150 in Dublin
2,333 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Staycity Aparthotels Christchurch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Staycity Aparthotels Christchurch

Address: High Street | Dublin 8, Dublin, Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 122 Specialty Lodging in Dublin
Price Range: $128 - $414 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Staycity Aparthotels Christchurch 3.5*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
These Serviced Apartments are situated in the heart of Dublin's thriving city centre. Polished to perfection all apartments come fully-furnished and equipped with TV, microwave oven, washer/dryer, lounge/dining area and a fully-equipped kitchen. FREE Wi-Fi access and 24 Hour Reception is also available. These quality self-catering apartments are ideal for both short and long term stays and offer both convenience and comfort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Hotwire and Cancelon so you can book your Staycity Aparthotels Christchurch reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Christchurch Hall Apartments By Staydublin Hotel Dublin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing