We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good price, decent room, great location”
Review of Dublin Citi Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Dublin Citi Hotel
Ranked #74 of 152 Hotels in Dublin
Reviewed January 19, 2011

I stayed here in March 2009 and forgot to review this hotel! I was here for three nights over St. Patricks Day before touring Western Ireland. We sought out a hotel in the Temple Bar area that would be close to all the attractions. We got a great rate, about 60 euros and the hotel was in a great location. Temple Bar was right behind us which was convenient for anytime we wanted to eat and drink. All the attractions we wanted to see were close walking distance. The view from our room was right over the street to watch the awesome parade too! The rooms were decent and just what we expected for the price we paid. Sure the management wasn't pleasant and the noise could be annoying, but when you're there FOR St. Patricks Day, how much can you complain? If you're a traveler who is looking for a decent, clean place in a good location, for a good price to save money for the other parts of your trip, then you can't go wrong here. If you want a better nights sleep, then definately don't stay next to the party square of Dublin!

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank christie584
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OMAR_DC, Manager at Dublin Citi Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 16, 2012

Thank you for your feedback. At Dublin Citi Hotel we are always trying to provide our guests a very comfortable and a pleasant stay. Being located in the heart of the City is an added advantage to all our guests. We are just minutes away from most of the major tourist attractions.

We would be delighted to offer you the best price possible. All our return customers are eligible for a 10% discount.

We greatly appreciate your response and Hope to see you soon again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,098)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

808 - 814 of 1,098 reviews

Reviewed October 31, 2010

At first we were pleasantly suprised after reading previous reviews. The room was bigger than we expected and spotless. The beds were very comfortable but they needed to be, I'd read about the noise generated from the pub and club attached but being young at heart thought I'd be enjoying myself within them. How wrong was I! The pub had seats for about 50 people with room for about 20 standing. They somehow managed to squeeze in about 250! It took 20 minutes to go to the toilet. When I had the brainwave of taking a shortcut out through the pub door and in through the hotel door I was in for a nasty shock. The doorman steadfastly refused to let me back in even though I produced my door key, one of the most unpleasant men I have ever met. On the first night we were charged different prices each time we went the bar, when I produced the receipts to prove this to the owner he took our room number and promised to get back to us, needless to say I am still waiting. The pub and club were full of rampaging teenagers, one of them sat on my friends chair while she was at the bar and refused to budge. We asked the doorman for assistance but he refused, to be fair to him though he was alone trying to cope with hundreds of drunk teenagers. I'm suprised the Garda didn't appear because the place was a fire hazard, there is no way all those people would have got out if there had been one. To top it all one of the revellers decided to use the hallway outside our room as a toilet. If your a teenager looking to stay up all night then this is the place for you. But if you want some sleep, I wouldn't recommend it. The noise from the club and pub echo's all over the hotel and the traffic sounds as if it is coming through your room the windows are so bad. One saving grace is the food, it is delicious, my compliments to the chef and the curteous staff serving it.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Shattered35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RECEPTION-STAFF, Manager at Dublin Citi Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 17, 2013

We appreciate your patience and time for the review of our hotel. Being located amidst the busy streets and central locale of Dublin, Dublinciti Hotel has a lot of advantages coupled with some disadvantageous. The weekends tend to be noisy due to the crowd on the streets as well in the night club attached to our hotel. The weekdays are much calmer. Being an old and historic hotel, we have done our best to equip the rooms with all the facilities. Each floor has its own WLAN router for speed and connectivity. Our kitchens provide one of the best 'Full Irish Breakfasts' along with a new menu with alternatives for breakfast. We at Dublinciti Hotel are trying our best to better the amenities in our hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 27, 2010

On arriving at this hotel I was actually impressed with the bar and the decor. However, the staff on reception were rude, the waitress could not speak English which made ordering food very difficult. Breakfast was terrible. When we got into the rooms I was comnpletely disappointed. The room was dark and dirty. The bathroom was tiny. Sleep was non-existent. The nightclub is open until 3am and the noise was unbearable. Even when the nightclub closed the noise from the street went on til around 5. Then the street cleaners started and before you know it its daylight again and you havent slept at all. The windows were only single pane and the noise was just terrible both day time and night time. The manager of the hotel was rude and unhelpful and it seems that they have cancellations quite often after one nights stay (like us). We left after our first night and found another hotel to stay in. Do not stay here at any cost.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Heatherlou82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RECEPTION-STAFF, Manager at Dublin Citi Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 17, 2013

We appreciate your patience and time for the review of our hotel. Being located amidst the busy streets and central locale of Dublin, Dublinciti Hotel has a lot of advantages coupled with some disadvantageous. The weekends tend to be noisy due to the crowd on the streets as well in the night club attached to our hotel. The weekdays are much calmer. Being an old and historic hotel, we have done our best to equip the rooms with all the facilities. Each floor has its own WLAN router for speed and connectivity. Our kitchens provide one of the best 'Full Irish Breakfasts' along with a new menu with alternatives for breakfast. We at Dublinciti Hotel are trying our best to better the amenities in our hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2010

I have been here since Monday, and it is now Wednesday and i'm currently sat in the bar.
I'm a sole business traveller, and after looking at rates and having a limit on hotel costs set by the company came across this hotel which was well under budget (more money for guinness), even though it was a last minute booking.

The 2 nights i've been here so far i have experienced a fair bit of noise, if the glass were double glazing it would help. But i can sleep soundly in the middle of a motorway if i'm tired, so it doesn't bother me.

That's really the only criticism i can have.
It's not a recently renovated Jurys Inn or Hilton, but it has character. I can go to a Hilton and wake up the following day trying to remember whether i'm in Liverpool, Dublin, London, Manchester... here i knew where i was! I lvoe the character and after spending many weeks in Dublin working *cough* i can vouch for the bars and nightlife around temple bar.

The room itself is fairly small in comparison to what i'm used to but it has a double bed in it and a bathroom. The shower is over the bath which i can say is fairly common and has enoughpower to knock me out of the bath which is fairly uncommon, well done citihotel.
Everything iv'e come across so far is clean and the staff are friendly.
I'm here for a good couple of weeks, and i'm looking forward to it, i've made a point of getting to knwo the staff's names, it makes things so much friendlier and they are actual real people! Recommend doing that no end.

The service is good, it's not yes sir no sir three bags full sir all of the time, but i'd rather have someone with a smile and a name.
The bar food so far is sound, as is the drink, i'm yet to try out the evening entertainment, so far work has had me in bed by 10! But i'll post back when i do.

Useful information:
Nearest 'aircoach' stop is Trinity College. If you get off it there, don't go up Grafton street. Go up the one running 90 degree to it on the same side as the back of the bank of ireland and you'll get to the hotel in udner 2 minutes, on that side. It's oposite Hotel Mercantile which is much more obvious - if in doubt, go into the 'Citi Bar' and turn right through the double doors, that's the hotel lobby.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank michaelhere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RECEPTION-STAFF, Manager at Dublin Citi Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 7, 2013

We appreciate your patience and time for the review of our hotel. Being located amidst the busy streets and central locale of Dublin, Dublinciti Hotel has a lot of advantages coupled with some disadvantageous. The weekends tend to be noisy due to the crowd on the streets as well in the night club attached to our hotel. The weekdays are much calmer. Being an old and historic hotel, we have done our best to equip the rooms with all the facilities. Each floor has its own WLAN router for speed and connectivity. Our kitchens provide one of the best 'Full Irish Breakfasts' along with a new menu with alternatives for breakfast. We at Dublinciti Hotel are trying our best to better the amenities in our hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2010

it's not a 3* hotel, the rooms are modests and the good location doesn't let you sleep. the price is a little bit overrated, i'll never go back there!

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank frank_vall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RECEPTION-STAFF, Manager at Dublin Citi Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 17, 2013

We appreciate your patience and time for the review of our hotel. Being located amidst the busy streets and central locale of Dublin, Dublinciti Hotel has a lot of advantages coupled with some disadvantageous. The weekends tend to be noisy due to the crowd on the streets as well in the night club attached to our hotel. The weekdays are much calmer. Being an old and historic hotel, we have done our best to equip the rooms with all the facilities. Each floor has its own WLAN router for speed and connectivity. Our kitchens provide one of the best 'Full Irish Breakfasts' along with a new menu with alternatives for breakfast. We at Dublinciti Hotel are trying our best to better the amenities in our hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 15, 2010

Stayed at hotel for rugby weekend, with group of lads. Really good location and the bar and service was very good. Pricey for what you get in the rooms, twin rooms very small and poor quality shower and fittings. But overall a good stay. be aware that the nightclub goes on till 2.30am and can be heard on the 2nd floor. Good if you are away with a group, not great for a romantic weekend

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rileyd4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RECEPTION-STAFF, Manager at Dublin Citi Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 30, 2013

We appreciate your patience and time for the review of our hotel. Being located amidst the busy streets and central locale of Dublin, Dublinciti Hotel has a lot of advantages coupled with some disadvantageous. The weekends tend to be noisy due to the crowd on the streets as well in the night club attached to our hotel. The weekdays are much calmer. Being an old and historic hotel, we have done our best to equip the rooms with all the facilities. Each floor has its own WLAN router for speed and connectivity. Our kitchens provide one of the best 'Full Irish Breakfasts' along with a new menu with alternatives for breakfast. We at Dublinciti Hotel are trying our best to better the amenities in our hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2010

I travelled to Dublin with my partner for my birthday and we booked This hotel prior to travelling as it appeared to be in an excellent location and looked very nice on the website.

We arrived at 10:00 as we had an early flight, we arrived at the hotel and asked if it would be possible to check in but we were told check in was 2pm, we then returned around midday to have some luch in the restaurant next door and asked to check in again at 13:30 to be told no it was not check in time. Despite them having a big sign outside saying we have rooms avaliable now and the hotel appeared to be very quiet, We felt this was appauling for the sake of half an hour.

The room was small, old and very dated. The bathroom was poor with limescale on the bath, the shower just dripped slowly when turned on. The floor was broken. Thank goodness this was only a place to sleep.

The heater in out room was constantly on and would not turn off as it was completely broken, the heat was awful and subsequently we got no sleep the first night. As we were on the front of the hotel the noise outside was constantly loud sometimes unitl 5am, the windows are old hatch windows and had big gaps at the top and the bottom which made attempting to shut the noise out....impossible! They eventually sorted out heater out whoich made the 2nd night more bearable but as it was a weekend night the noise was ridiculous, police sirens constanatly going off, Taxi's honking their horns, people shouting.

The location of this hotel is brilliant as you are close to everything but i would never recommend this hotel to anybody, the staff are O.K..i have met better. Overall the rooms very poor and extremely basic.

We had a good weekend as we were out of the hotel most of the day.

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mosschops071
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RECEPTION-STAFF, Manager at Dublin Citi Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 17, 2013

We appreciate your patience and time for the review of our hotel. Being located amidst the busy streets and central locale of Dublin, Dublinciti Hotel has a lot of advantages coupled with some disadvantageous. The weekends tend to be noisy due to the crowd on the streets as well in the night club attached to our hotel. The weekdays are much calmer. Being an old and historic hotel, we have done our best to equip the rooms with all the facilities. Each floor has its own WLAN router for speed and connectivity. Our kitchens provide one of the best 'Full Irish Breakfasts' along with a new menu with alternatives for breakfast. We at Dublinciti Hotel are trying our best to better the amenities in our hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dublin hotels
South City Centre
Blooms Hotel
Blooms Hotel
#78 of 152 in Dublin
2,414 reviews
Temple Bar
Temple Bar Inn
Temple Bar Inn
#42 of 152 in Dublin
1,019 reviews
Temple Bar
Handels Hotel Temple Bar
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Temple Bar
The Fleet Street Hotel
The Fleet Street Hotel
#61 of 152 in Dublin
1,239 reviews
Temple Bar
Temple Bar Hotel
Temple Bar Hotel
#35 of 152 in Dublin
2,412 reviews
Trinity City Hotel
#47 of 152 in Dublin
3,581 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dublin Citi Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dublin Citi Hotel

Address: Dublin Citi Hotel 46-49 Dame Street | Dublin 2, Dublin 2, Ireland (Formerly Trinity Arch Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #74 of 152 Hotels in Dublin
Price Range: $82 - $325 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Dublin Citi Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This hotel is located in a 19th-century building in Dublin’s Temple Bar district. It offers a 24-hour reception, comfortable rooms with free Wi-Fi, an award-winning 4-floor bar and a nightclub.Guests can explore Dublin Castle and Trinity College, both are just a 5-minute walk away. The hotel is a 10-minute walk from Henry and Grafton Street, Dublin’s premier shopping areas.Rooms at The Dublin Citi Hotel of Temple Bar have a warm or fresh décor. They feature a TV, ironing equipment and tea/coffee-making facilities. They include bathrooms with baths, showers and hairdryers. Dublin Citi Hotel has a partnership with Crunch Fitness in Temple Bar, which allows guests to enjoy complimentary access to the premises (GYM, POOL, SAUNA...) during their stay.The vibrant Trinity Bar has 3 bars, an all day bar menu and 22 screens showing live sporting events. It has regular music nights. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, getaroom.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Dublin Citi Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Trinity Arch Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing