We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Do Not Stay Here”
Review of Dublin Citi Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Dublin Citi Hotel
Ranked #74 of 152 Hotels in Dublin
Reviewed January 11, 2008

Mould, broken toilet, bad food and unbelievably LOUD. On the 1st night I stayed here (Wednesday) there was a disco that lasted until 3:30am. After everyone in the hotel complained the next morning, they moved the speakers for the Thursday night disco, however, the drunks outside made it impossible to fall asleep until 4am. At 6am that same night/morning I was awoken to trash collectors dumping bins full of bottles into their truck. Absolutely miserable. If anything could get worse, I was served scrambled eggs for breakfast that were rotten and smelled of dish soap. I left it on the table paid and left the hotel.

Don't let the location fool you. You do not want to stay here. I booked through a package on Air France website and I've written them as well to suggest they remove it as one of their package deals.

  • Stayed: January 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Preston75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OMAR_DC, Manager at Dublin Citi Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 25, 2012

Thank you for your response. Being located at the heart of the city has it advantages and disadvantages. We are located just minutes away from temple bar and the other major tourist attractions. The weekdays are very calm.

We conduct daily check on hygiene and make sure all the things are top notch. We apologize for any inconvenience caused and greatly appreciate your feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,098)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

851 - 857 of 1,098 reviews

Reviewed October 24, 2007

This hotel is in a fantastic location if you want to go out and party in Dublin and have no intention of sleeping during your visit! Due to its central location the noise level is horrific ie the sound of music and people generally getting drunk! However, when all that stops around 3 or 4am you have a 1 hour opportunity for sleep before the dustmen and delivery drivers start their noise! On another negative point the rooms are a bit dated and basic and you would have to be a size zero to fit in the showers and there is also a lot of dodgy looking stains around the place..yuk! However on a positive note the breakfast was excellent (better even than a lot of 5 star hotels I have stayed at) and the staff are friendly. If you are in Dublin to party...then go for it...if your over 30 and want luxury, or even just a good night sleep...forget it!

  • Stayed: October 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank TravelledLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RECEPTION-STAFF, Manager at Dublin Citi Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 17, 2013

We appreciate your patience and time for the review of our hotel. Being located amidst the busy streets and central locale of Dublin, Dublinciti Hotel has a lot of advantages coupled with some disadvantageous. The weekends tend to be noisy due to the crowd on the streets as well in the night club attached to our hotel. The weekdays are much calmer. Being an old and historic hotel, we have done our best to equip the rooms with all the facilities. Each floor has its own WLAN router for speed and connectivity. Our kitchens provide one of the best 'Full Irish Breakfasts' along with a new menu with alternatives for breakfast. We at Dublinciti Hotel are trying our best to better the amenities in our hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2007

We have just come back from Dublin where we stopped at the Dublin Citi Hotel. It is in a great location, although with this comes a lot of noise from the street below. That said that is the only slight downside. The hotel itself is very good with freindly staff and the room we stopped in was very clean and furnished to a pretty good standard. The breakfast was good and again served by freindly staff. All in all a great location and a good hotel to stop in and also compared to some hotels quite cheap!! Would definatley stop there again.

  • Stayed: September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Kitkat5321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RECEPTION-STAFF, Manager at Dublin Citi Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 9, 2013

Thank you for your feedback. At Dublin Citi Hotel we are always trying our best to provide the best customer service possible. The room are regularly inspected to make sure everything is in place. We have a 24/7 maintenance and housekeeping staff to take care of all our customer needs.

Having an in house bar and restaurant is an added bonus to our guests. We have live music with well known bands everyday. In addition, all the guests get free entry into the nightclub and also great offers on food and beverages.

We greatly appreciate your feedback and hope to see you soon again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2007

I stayed at the Dublin Citi Hotel with friends this weekend. My room was great, good size with a decent size bathroom. Above all it was very clean. Breakfast was good and served till 11am which was definately a bonus. The location of this hotel is central (right near Temple Bar) and on a very busy main road. There is a nightclub in the basement and 2 further floors of bars....if you are looking for a quiet hotel this one is NOT for you. If you want a lively hotel right in middle of all the hussle and bustle then this one is a good choice. I would definately stay here again but be warned...Dublin is VERY expensive.

  • Stayed: September 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TravelJunkieUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RECEPTION-STAFF, Manager at Dublin Citi Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 9, 2013

Thank you for your feedback. At Dublin Citi Hotel we are always trying our best to provide the best customer service possible. The room are regularly inspected to make sure everything is in place. We have a 24/7 maintenance and housekeeping staff to take care of all our customer needs.

Having an in house bar and restaurant is an added bonus to our guests. We have live music with well known bands everyday. In addition, all the guests get free entry into the nightclub and also great offers on food and beverages.

We greatly appreciate your feedback and hope to see you soon again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2007

I have just returned from a weekend in Dublin, where I stayed at the Dublin Citi Hotel.

Like a lot of reviews I can confirm that because of the location it is a very noisy place to stay - if you are lucky, like we were we had a room on the 3rd floor, so atleast we didn't get the noice from the club downstairs. Besides, the earplugs worked great.

Despite the noise this hotel could not have been in a better location, right on the edge of temple bar. Minutes to Trinity College, Dublin Castle, Grafton Street and O'Connell Street. We even walked the 15 mins to the Guiness Brewery.

The rooms are a bit on the small size, but are clean and a perfectly nice place to have a chill out after a day of sightseeing before heading out int he evening.

Dublin isn't cheap and so for location and value for money I would highly recommend staying here to people who want to see Dublin and don't fancy the cabs / buses back and forth from the airport hotels.

Stayed: September 2007
Thank corbington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RECEPTION-STAFF, Manager at Dublin Citi Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 9, 2013

Thank you for your feedback. At Dublin Citi Hotel we are always trying our best to provide the best customer service possible. The room are regularly inspected to make sure everything is in place. We have a 24/7 maintenance and housekeeping staff to take care of all our customer needs.

Having an in house bar and restaurant is an added bonus to our guests. We have live music with well known bands everyday. In addition, all the guests get free entry into the nightclub and also great offers on food and beverages.

We greatly appreciate your feedback and hope to see you soon again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2007

My Girlfriend & I stayed here for four nights. The location is very central for all the sites and bars. But if you want to sleep forget it. Our room was on the first floor (room 107), it was basic, the double bed was a good size and comfy, but as the other reviews say the shower was tiny, felt like you were standing in a body bag.

The staff were friendly enough and the breakfast was good.

DO NOT CHOOSE THIS HOTEL IF YOU’RE A LIGHT SLEEPER. Or in fact if you want any sleep. Double-glazing and soundproofing would be good.

This is a good hotel for stags and hens or people that will come back in the early hours drunk and pass out.

And by the way we did not see any earplugs or we would have used them.

Will try somewhere else next time.

    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NEGuy40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RECEPTION-STAFF, Manager at Dublin Citi Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 17, 2013

We appreciate your patience and time for the review of our hotel. Being located amidst the busy streets and central locale of Dublin, Dublinciti Hotel has a lot of advantages coupled with some disadvantageous. The weekends tend to be noisy due to the crowd on the streets as well in the night club attached to our hotel. The weekdays are much calmer. Being an old and historic hotel, we have done our best to equip the rooms with all the facilities. Each floor has its own WLAN router for speed and connectivity. Our kitchens provide one of the best 'Full Irish Breakfasts' along with a new menu with alternatives for breakfast. We at Dublinciti Hotel are trying our best to better the amenities in our hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2007

Myself and my wife stayed at this hotel last week, and i must agree with most of the reviewers, it's dirty, noisy and a really terrible excuse of a hotel. All night the music and sounds from the streets outside kept us awake. When we complained we were told to "like it or lump it" by a rude manager. For the price we paid we should of had some kind of service or comfort. Dublin a beautiful city but Dublin Citi Hotel... No No No!!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed: August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank jocUsa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RECEPTION-STAFF, Manager at Dublin Citi Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 17, 2013

We appreciate your patience and time for the review of our hotel. Being located amidst the busy streets and central locale of Dublin, Dublinciti Hotel has a lot of advantages coupled with some disadvantageous. The weekends tend to be noisy due to the crowd on the streets as well in the night club attached to our hotel. The weekdays are much calmer. Being an old and historic hotel, we have done our best to equip the rooms with all the facilities. Each floor has its own WLAN router for speed and connectivity. Our kitchens provide one of the best 'Full Irish Breakfasts' along with a new menu with alternatives for breakfast. We at Dublinciti Hotel are trying our best to better the amenities in our hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dublin hotels
South City Centre
Blooms Hotel
Blooms Hotel
#78 of 152 in Dublin
2,414 reviews
Temple Bar
Temple Bar Inn
Temple Bar Inn
#42 of 152 in Dublin
1,019 reviews
Temple Bar
Handels Hotel Temple Bar
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Temple Bar
The Fleet Street Hotel
The Fleet Street Hotel
#61 of 152 in Dublin
1,239 reviews
Temple Bar
Temple Bar Hotel
Temple Bar Hotel
#35 of 152 in Dublin
2,412 reviews
Trinity City Hotel
#47 of 152 in Dublin
3,581 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dublin Citi Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dublin Citi Hotel

Address: Dublin Citi Hotel 46-49 Dame Street | Dublin 2, Dublin 2, Ireland (Formerly Trinity Arch Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #74 of 152 Hotels in Dublin
Price Range: $82 - $325 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Dublin Citi Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This hotel is located in a 19th-century building in Dublin’s Temple Bar district. It offers a 24-hour reception, comfortable rooms with free Wi-Fi, an award-winning 4-floor bar and a nightclub.Guests can explore Dublin Castle and Trinity College, both are just a 5-minute walk away. The hotel is a 10-minute walk from Henry and Grafton Street, Dublin’s premier shopping areas.Rooms at The Dublin Citi Hotel of Temple Bar have a warm or fresh décor. They feature a TV, ironing equipment and tea/coffee-making facilities. They include bathrooms with baths, showers and hairdryers. Dublin Citi Hotel has a partnership with Crunch Fitness in Temple Bar, which allows guests to enjoy complimentary access to the premises (GYM, POOL, SAUNA...) during their stay.The vibrant Trinity Bar has 3 bars, an all day bar menu and 22 screens showing live sporting events. It has regular music nights. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Dublin Citi Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Trinity Arch Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing