We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean and comfortable although a bit too noisy...”
Review of West County Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
West County Hotel
Ranked #85 of 152 Hotels in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 5, 2011

Feel a bit mixed about this hotel. On arrival the facade is fairly grim and I did wonder what I had come to! The reception area was lovely though and the staff were very friendly.

My room was clean and comfortable, the furniture is a little dated and worn, but to be honest, it was clean, and for the price I paid, and I really can't quibble. Ie don't come here if you want the pristine minimalist look!

The major let down for me was the (double) disco that took place on the Saturday night. Thankfully I came in at around 11.30, I'm not sure what time the disco finished, it was past midnight, and I only fell asleep as I was so tired. However, I was on the second floor and I could hear every single thing, even what the DJ was saying and unfortunately I'm not into techno music...

To me it was an unacceptable level of noise (God help the poor souls who were on the floor below! I was very close to demanding a room change but I don't know if that would have helped either!) and something the hotel really needs to sort out as I'm not the first person to note this. If I had been staying there with my children I would have been in absolute despair as there is no way that they children would have slept through that level of noise.

The breakfast was really lovely and there was loads of it. A really good choice.

So in summary, I probably would avoid this hotel at the weekend (unless you can ascertain that they haven't got any functions going on!) which is a real shame as if my sleep hadn't be so badly disturbed it would have been a great place to stay.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank janienich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (315)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

270 - 276 of 315 reviews

Reviewed September 18, 2010

Been here quite a few times now and thought Id write a honest review for others wishing to choose this hotel. Firstly, you dont get a spa/gym/swimming etc. What you do get is a clean, friendly, cosy hotel with standard rooms. There is a bar and food available and is of excellent quaility. There has been some work carried out on this hotel to improve the it like new windows/carpet/interior work. The cooked breakfast is excellent and filling and all the staff are excellent. Very good house keeping. Good location for Dublin.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank FawltyTowers100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2010

Stayed in this hotel last weekend. Located 20 mins from Dublin center by car. Staff goes out of their way to make your stay a pleasant one. It has got a cosy atmosphere, and the rooms are just what you need. Clean, good beds and the view from a front room is beautiful. The food is good as you can tell by the locals popping in on a saturday for the restaurant and/or the pub (on Saturdays live band!). A tip is Palmerstone House, a pub not far from the hotel. I consider this hotel a great value for money!

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DutchDani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2009

Stayed here for one night after travelling for a week around Ireland with family. Didn't need anything fancy, but thought the hotel was really dirty. Our room smelled, the carpeting was worn and dirty and the blankets were stained too. The staff, however, was extremely nice and helpful.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TogaTravellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago
Google Translation

  • Stayed: January 2018, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Martin H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gary S, Manager at West County Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: April 2017, traveled with friends
Thank robnabben
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gary S, Manager at West County Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 18, 2017

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 15, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: June 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank albertogemal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gary S, Manager at West County Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 19, 2017

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dublin hotels
Kilmainham
Sheldon Park Hotel
Sheldon Park Hotel
#69 of 152 in Dublin
1,462 reviews
Uppercross House Hotel
#79 of 152 in Dublin
356 reviews
Phoenix Park Hotel
#124 of 152 in Dublin
329 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
North City Centre
Celtic Lodge Guesthouse
Celtic Lodge Guesthouse
#88 of 152 in Dublin
660 reviews
North City Centre
Dublin Central Inn
Dublin Central Inn
#81 of 152 in Dublin
1,190 reviews
Aberdeen Lodge
#8 of 152 in Dublin
603 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to West County Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about West County Hotel

Address: Chapelizod | Old Lucan Rd, Dublin 20, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#10 Best Value Hotel in Dublin
#39 Business Hotel in Dublin
Price Range: $102 - $178 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — West County Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 49
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Agoda, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your West County Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
West County Dublin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing