We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good rooms and excellent location”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Bram Stoker Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Bram Stoker Hotel
Ranked #113 of 153 Hotels in Dublin
Shipley
Level Contributor
23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Good rooms and excellent location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 9, 2013

The Bram Stoker Hotel could be a very good place to stay if you wish to visit Dublin but they have some issues to resolve. The exterior is rather garish and looks a bit tacky because it tries to plug its 'Dracula archive'. You enter into a public bar which does not give the best impression and some of the areas around the bar are a bit smelly (for this reason, we did not take breakfast in the hotel)! They did not seem to have received (or had mislaid) our booking from our agency but compensated by giving us two excellent rooms which were probably superior to the ones for which we had paid. the rooms were spacious enough and clean. The heating was good and there was no extraneous noise to spoil our sleep. The staff were friendly but could have been a bit more attentive e.g. no-one asked us if our accommodation was OK or if we had any extra needs.
But the location is excellent, with a view over the water, and access to the town centre is very easy by bus. For us, the value was good and we can recommend this hotel to others.

Room Tip: Don't be put off by the bar area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Peter W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

153 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    49
    54
    29
    8
    13
See reviews for
32
37
11
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2013

Spent one overnight here whilst awaiting my ferry connection.In order to check in, I had to run a gauntlet thru a smelly bar full of half drunk leering foul mouthed yokels,was accousted by an obviously intoxicated unshaven bum on crutches, then got railroaded by a ranting raving hag pushing a zimmerframe whilst swilling a bottle of wine, next a balding tall sleazy specimen who offered to make love to me! Eventually made my way to the check in area only to be greeted by a true gentleman. I think his name was Joseph. Next morning I left..........

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Mollycuddles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
2 reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2013

Though I think that Bram Stoker hotel is quite alright I didn't like some moments. We planned to be there for a week and I needed facilities for charging my mobile telephone. But there is a lack of adapters in this hotel. My friends gave me the adapter - they got the last one there.

There were problems with the bath in my and my friend's rooms - the chain was broken and we didn't know how to make water go out of full bath. I used wooden hanger from the wardrobe and it wasn't easy at all, believe me )

Some people from the 2nd floor walked above my head loudly, like elephants. So on 28th of June I asked the barman to change my room, he said "Ok" and I waited about 2 hours - during the gig. Then I asked him again about the room, but he told that I had spoken to someone else!
It was very strange, because I asked him 2 hours ago and he simply forgot that. Then I tried to explain him the situation once more, but he didn't try to help me with the room. Instead of this the barman talked to me in not polite manner. He came too close I think! It was unpolite! I moved from him but it looked like he was drunk and didn't understand anything, so I decided not to speak to him and to go out, because I didn't like his behaviour at all. I was dissapointed that smb of the staff could be so unfriendly, unpolite and probably drunk.
The man from Dracula museum wasn't polite too: he gave a tap on my shoulder - why he did it? I am not his friend or relative. I see him first time.

Other staff - especially the girl waitress were friendly, kind and much more polite! When I spoke to other barman, he took his reading glasses and really with attention tried to look in the reception book - was there a room for me or no. And he told just to speak to house keepers that went in the morning for saving the problem.

And I want to tell that mashed potatoes was not good. The food could be a little bit better... And the choice of food was rather small.
Also I didn't like that the house keepers opened doors of many rooms and went out. If a thief would like to come to our rooms - he could do this. Maybe they should open just one room and stay there during room service. And once I came and found that the things were not in my plastic bag but near it. Probably the staff thought that it was a garbage? But it wasn't. So after that I wrote a note for them where the real garbage is )

My friend didn't like the pictures of Dracula in the lobby. If you don't like them too you can use the other entry, ask the staff.

The last bus to hotel was in early time, about 11 or 10.30, so if you come later - there will be long and winding "rocky road to Dublin" - the way from the bus station to the hotel is about several kilometres.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AnnaAragonskaya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tipperary, Ireland
Level Contributor
42 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2013

Spent a very pleasant sojourn recently during the warm spell in Clontarf . Stayed in the Bram Stoker Hotel on Clontarf Road for a night. The staff were friendly and helpful. Premises was clean. The location is an ideal base with a regular bus service to visit the city. Beautiful walks on the promenade and out to Dollymount Strand. Breakfast was good value. Secure parking and a pleasant bar man Joe, a keen hurling man, made for a very nice stay.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tom2253
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2013

Stayed for a 2 night break while seeing Michael buble at the O2. Great location just outside the town centre with a great bus service to the town centre for €2.40. Taxi ranged from €11-€15. Lovely location with great views the room was standard but very clean staff all very friendly and made us feel welcome nothing was a problem for them. We had dinner here both nights as the food was so nice. Can highly recommend the steak and the fish and chips! And the cooked breakfast was a lovely start to the day. All in all it's great value hotel. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay. Thank you to all the staff.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peachesxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland/Germany
Level Contributor
78 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 20, 2013

Stayed here night before taking a ferry to Holyhead.

This is a great Irish bar, in a great location with excellent food and service with rooms attached. Excellent check in and bar service and the bar menu and quality of the food is awesome as is the value of the room rate.

Bus into town if you want to hit the bright lights, lovely seafront walks outside your door, unique cinema and Bram Stoker museum for the curious, very friendly locals and bar staff.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JonahIreland_Germany
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connecticut
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 11, 2013 via mobile

Great value and close to the ferry terminal and beach. Not the nicest or cleanest room but definitely a budget hotel. Easy to take a bus to city center for only 2.40 euro as well. Staff seemed friendly. Not much around the area especially if you are looking for places to go out.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LizzyCohan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dublin hotels
Clontarf Castle Hotel
#4 of 153 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,663 reviews
The Croke Park
#6 of 153 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,351 reviews
Ashling Hotel
#16 of 153 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,259 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
South City Centre
Harding Hotel
Harding Hotel
#26 of 153 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,119 reviews
Avoca Lodge
#108 of 162 in Dublin
3.5 of 5 bubbles 36 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bram Stoker Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bram Stoker Hotel

Property: Bram Stoker Hotel
Address: 225 Clontarf Road, Dublin 3, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #113 of 153 Hotels in Dublin
Hotel Class:2 star — Bram Stoker Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, HostelWorld and HotelQuickly so you can book your Bram Stoker Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing