We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome”
Review of Bison Bar and BBQ

Bison Bar and BBQ
Ranked #177 of 2,574 Restaurants in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Barbecue
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
32 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Awesome”
Reviewed September 29, 2013

I read good reviews on this place and though my expectations were high, they were surpassed. The place is casual, cool and original, but the food is the real star. Stuffed with meaty goodness and only €15 poorer, I will SO be going here again.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank michelasp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

406 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    240
    112
    30
    14
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
174 reviews
123 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 351 helpful votes
“Meat Heaven”
Reviewed September 24, 2013

Called in on Saturday night. If you’re looking for a fine dining experience go somewhere else. This is a no frills, quirky eatery in what is essentially a saloon style whiskey bar which just happens to serve amazing BBQ meats (think along the lines of Man –v- Food). Very short menu consisting 5 / 6 meat and side dishes and 2 deserts. Drinks so reasonably priced for Dublin (€3.85 for a pint of Heineken!! unbelievable) and for €5 it’s rude not to try one of their really excellent whiskey sours.

I admit that I would not be a massive meat lover but I thought I’d try something new and was not disappointed. Definitely go hungry as we had a taster platter and two sides each (€16.95 per person) and were totally stuffed afterwards. One tray consisted chicken and ribs with onion rings and chips and the other was pulled pork and brisket with coleslaw and burnt beans. The pork was amazing - succulent, juicy and tender to the point where it fell apart and the burnt (devil?)beans tasted absolutely out of this world. I’ve never enjoyed meat as much as I have here – I was even tempted by the ribs which I’m not normally a fan of. The coleslaw was creamy and the onion rings were huge (crumbed not battered). Chipotle sauce also a winner. Couldn’t fault the way the meat had been prepared and cooked or the way the meat or sides tasted in any way. Sadly too full for a desert although the cobbler was tempting.

Definitely a hands on dining experience – why bother with the plastic cutlery except for the beans and coleslaw! Plenty of kitchen roll on the table to clean up with afterwards!

Good atmosphere and a nice mix of people with a good few hopping out through the back window to the outdoor tables. Staff are fast and efficient and the meal was served in super quick time.

Loved it and would heartily recommend a visit. Most definitely on my list of places to return to.
What's not to enjoy - excellent food, good vibe and brilliant value for money.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank bookworm7476
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“A little gem in the heart of the city, reasonably priced and adjacent to temple bar!”
Reviewed September 22, 2013

We found this on Tripadvisor, and liked the sound of a BBQ! This is not a squeaky clean commercial bar as many others around Temple Bar are, but it is full of atmosphere and very reasonably priced. The menu is very simple: choose from half a chicken, ribs, pulled pork, brisket or a combination, along with two sides for around £17 euros. There was plenty of food. Do not expect table service, or a helpful waitress, order drinks and food at the bar. The tables had plastic cutlery, sauces and a cheap kitchen roll which all sound tacky but added to the character. This is the sort of place you go if you're reasonably laid back. We climbed through the window in to the courtyard, which had saddle stools at the tables-although they looked cool they were not at all practical for eating-too high so I grabbed a stool from the bar! We asked for a pint of coke, with this being a whiskey bar they looked at us a bit weird and charged us a euro for a whole pint, other drinks were well priced. This is on the left hand side of the river, right next door to fitzsimmons bar further along temple bar :)

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank febxox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
36 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“The taster plate is epic”
Reviewed September 19, 2013

Other than the chicken which I was a little disappointed with I would have eaten a full plate of any of their selection. The pulled pork was fantastic, the sausage was lovely. The ribs amazing. The burnt beans are fantastic as is the chipotle mayo.

Perfect for a group of guys, more due to the portion sizes than anything else!

Really recommend this.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank Sroon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tehachapi, California
Level Contributor
258 reviews
231 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2,354 helpful votes
“Amazing BBQ”
Reviewed September 6, 2013

This restaurant has an amazing BBQ menu. The ribs melt in your mouth and are seasoned with just the right amount of spice so you taste the meat. The staff is amazing. We love this place and are glad that we were told about Bison Bar and BBQ.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
9 Thank melsdad2002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bison Bar and BBQ also viewed

Dublin, County Dublin
Dublin, County Dublin
 
County Dublin, Province of Leinster
Dublin, County Dublin
 

Been to Bison Bar and BBQ? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing