We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“50th birthday in dublin” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Marker Hotel

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
The Marker Hotel
Ranked #2 of 153 Hotels in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence
Greenock, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“50th birthday in dublin”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2014

We have just returned from a relaxing 2 night stay at The Marker,and can honestly say it was the most wonderful and personal feeling hotel we have stayed in and we have stayed in the top hotels in Scotland and found THe Marker a more personal and relaxing experience. The staff made us both feel that we were the most important guests in the hotel. Form the little touches of the most amazing chocolate cake and card in our room for my husbands 50th birthday. To the tour of the spa to show us where everything was and the wonderful buffet breakfast.To the very comfortable spacious room with the full length windows.we could not recommend it highly enough and hope to return in the future.

Room Tip: Corner room had a great view of the canal and the lights at night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Terrey M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlie_Sheil, Guest Relations Manager at The Marker Hotel, responded to this review, April 13, 2014
Dear Terrey M,

I really appreciate the time you took to review your recent stay at The Marker Hotel on Tripadvisor!

I am delighted to read that you had a wonderful time with us. We are proud of our Team that is always able to go above and beyond and personalised your stay!

We look forward to serving you again in the near future.

Warm Regards,

Stephan de Vries
Guest Relations Manager
stephan.devries@themarker.ie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,747 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,101
    477
    106
    47
    16
See reviews for
308
1,187
81
695
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (267)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 6, 2014 via mobile

We have just returned from a stay at the Marker Hotel and felt compelled to write and say how lovely the hotel is. The service from walking through the door to breakfast is second to none. The hotel is around 25 minute walk from Grafton Street and all the sights which can be reached by walking along the river for us was this was pleasant as the weather was good.
Sadly we were unable to book a table for dinner at the hotel as it was fully booked until after 9 (a bit late with a 10 year old) but we ate breakfast this morning, something for everyone with a great selection of hot and cold food, the waiting on staff can't do enough for you! We would definitely return to this hotel if and when we return to Dublin.

Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank JaneFarrington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlie_Sheil, Guest Relations Manager at The Marker Hotel, responded to this review, April 11, 2014
Dear JaneFarrington,

Thank you very much for taking the time to review the Marker Hotel on TripAdvisor.

I am glad to read that you and your family enjoyed your stay and we hope we get the opportunity to welcoming you all back very soon.

Warm regards

Lili Torres
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Limerick, Ireland
Level Contributor
18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 6, 2014

An absolutely superb experience. I brought my wife to the Marker for our wedding anniversary and the staff really made the stay a memorable event. The staff on check-in wished us a happy anniversary and this was followed with a cake and card waiting for us in the room. We had tickets for a show in the Bord Gais and having pre-booked the valet parking with the hotel, the time from arrival, check-in and over to the theatre was literally a few minutes. We didn’t have time to experience their pool and spa, opting instead for a lovely breakfast served to our room. Avoid the queue at check-out and opt for express (just hand over your room key and they’ll email an invoice). The car was ready out front with bottles of mineral water left for a much needed re-hydration! Thank you to all the staff.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Thirstyforeigner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlie_Sheil, Guest Relations Manager at The Marker Hotel, responded to this review, April 11, 2014
Dear ThirstyForeigner,

Thank you very much for posting a review of The Marker Hotel on TripAdvisor.

I am delighted that my team helped out to make your wedding anniversary a especial one. We always try to recognise their events.

I am glad you had the opportunity to enjoy the Spa & Wellness area with its pool, gym, sauna, steam room and Jacuzzi.

I thank you again for having stayed with us and I look forward to welcoming you back.

Warm regards

Lili Torres
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Level Contributor
20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 5, 2014

We stayed here for 2 nights in December and I have to say it was a great experience. The service was perfect from start to finish - I had an awkward early check in and a few other requests that were all met without issue. The room was spacious and comfortable. We didn't use the restaurant but the breakfast was excellent as was the bar - lovely cocktails and bar nibbles.
The hotel is located in a great area of the city, close to the Bord Gais Theatre and 15 mins walk from the city centre. I would recommend to anybody travelling to Dublin to stay here if possible and I'm looking forward to my next stay already!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank timdoody
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlie_Sheil, Guest Relations Manager at The Marker Hotel, responded to this review, April 7, 2014
Dear timdoody,

We really appreciate the time you took to review The Marker Hotel!

It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback and we always do our utmost to accommodate any requests.

We look forward to serving you in the near future.

Kind regards,

Stephan de Vries
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 4, 2014

Exceptional customer service, from absolutely EVERY member of staff in this hotel. My goodness, so many hotels, shops, bars and restaurants could learn a thing or two from these people. And having spent my life in the service industry, it is rare to experience service on this scale - bar that experienced on Concorde. Even (don't mean to patronise) the lady who came to do the "turn down", was absolutely charming, professional and lovely. I came to look round Dublin, without realising that the hotel was infact a destination in itself. I ate at the restaurant, which for pre theatre menu was great value at euro25, considering you pay euros 15 for a pizza express pizza in dublin - not a cheap city - and the food was really great. The room was modern, luxurious, beautiful bath and separate shower, huge bed to die for, and if you can afford it, definitely worth upgrading to a corner room/suite - stunning views over the canal. Hotel right opposite the contemporary beautiful theatre - we got some last minute warhorse tix - 10 mins before the show started, so great to tie hotel and theatre. Lovely area on the waters edge 15 min walk to main dublin city area. Bike hire for euros 5 (like boris bikes) for 3 days - right outside the hotel doors, so easy to go for lovely cycle around the city or along the canal. Rooftop bar is stunning and very very cool - a must - mostly outdoors with amazing views over city and out to sea. The spa and pool are certainly worth a visit - all very lovely, large pool, modern, and relaxing. This hotel knows how to do "cool" - it is cool, but without being pretentious. Think of the Sanderson or ME hotel, but with better service. Here, they are utterly charming. Final tip, you can easy jump on the Airlink bus from the airport, and get off at the first stop - I think it's the one for the congress centre (Canal basin). Just walk over the river (bridge), and down one block, and you are there at the hotel, for a mere 6 euros! Without a doubt I will be back, and will be recommending it to all my friends and family. It was a toss-up between this hotel and the Four Seasons, and I am so glad we chose the Marker. I leave the hotel tomorrow, after 4 wonderful days - a truly wonderful stay in a great hotel.

Room Tip: Definitely upgrade to a corner room/suite overlooking the theatre and canal basin
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sue w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlie_Sheil, Guest Relations Manager at The Marker Hotel, responded to this review, April 7, 2014
Dear Sue W,

Thank you very much for taking the time to post a review on Tripadvisor!

I am delighted to read that you enjoyed the hotel and especially our Staff! The new Dublin Bike station located on the square is indeed very convenient and is a great way to discover the city.

We look forward to welcoming you back to The Marker Hotel in the near future!

Kind Regards,

Stephan de Vries
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dammam, Saudi Arabia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 31, 2014

We stayed in this nice hotel for 7 nights in January 2014. It is a new hotel and clean.
Nice quite location. The city center is 15-20 min walk (beside the river will be a very nice walk).
Staff very helpful. Nice bar in the lobby.
Room is spacious, bathroom very clean, with nice heated marble flooring.

The only negative was the breakfast, not that much choices, though the place is nice beside the lobby.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mimali55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlie_Sheil, Guest Relations Manager at The Marker Hotel, responded to this review, April 1, 2014
Dear Mimali55,

Thank you for posting a review of the Marker Hotel on TripAdvisor.

I am glad to read that you enjoyed your stay and I hope you considered us your home away from home.

I am sorry that you didn't enjoy the breakfast but beside having the hot & cold buffet each morning, we do offer different choices a la carte and our chefs are only too delighted to prepare any dish that you might want in the morning.

Thank you again for your comments and we look forward to welcoming you back very soon.

Warm regards

Lili Torres
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork, Ireland
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 30, 2014 via mobile

Great location. Lovely room. Nice spa. Robert the concierge was v helpful. I will definitely stay again if I am going to the theatre. Only criticism would be that some tables in the bar are not suitable for eating-too small and too low down. And the brasserie was not open for lunch so the bar was the only option.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank martina k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlie_Sheil, Guest Relations Manager at The Marker Hotel, responded to this review, April 1, 2014
Dear Martina K,

Thank you for your review of The Marker Hotel on Tripadvisor.

We are indeed ideally located right beside the Bord Gais Theatre and we are the perfect venue for a bite to eat or a drink before the show.

The Brasserie is open for lunch most of the time but we do offer food in our Bar and 24 hour Room Service.

Thank you again for your comments.

I look forward to seeing you back in the near future.

Kind regards

Lili Torres
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dublin hotels
0.7 mi away
The Merrion Hotel
The Merrion Hotel
#1 of 153 in Dublin
5.0 of 5 bubbles 3,045 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Westbury
The Westbury
#7 of 153 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,700 reviews
1.9 mi away
Clontarf Castle Hotel
Clontarf Castle Hotel
#4 of 153 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,587 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
The Croke Park
The Croke Park
#6 of 153 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,278 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Morrison, a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel
0.3 mi away
The Spencer Hotel Dublin IFSC
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Marker Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Marker Hotel

Property: The Marker Hotel
Address: Grand Canal Square | Docklands, Dublin 2, Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 153 Hotels in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Marker Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 187
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Extraordinary, surprising and luxurious, the Marker Hotel is the perfect urban retreat for those who crave the unconventional, yet still expect the exceptional standards of service that are the signature of a member of The Leading Hotels of the World(R). One of Dublin's most visually arresting landmarks, the Marker Hotel offers a distinct blend of urban style and luxury. Located right in the heart of the Docklands, Dublin's most prolific cultural hub, it's the perfect base from which to explore our capital city. The hotel features a ground floor bar and restaurant as its centre piece, with 187 guest rooms over six floors. It also features a Rooftop Lounge, a striking space overlooking Dublin city, which blends indoor and outdoor areas the perfect space to enjoy lunch, cocktails and dinner. The Marker's spa features five spacious treatment rooms with a designated relaxation area and a 23 metre infinity pool. Further amenities include a jacuzzi, sauna, steam room and fitness suite. The Marker's Conference and events facilities will contain nine adaptable spaces with capacities ranging from 20-250 guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ, Cheap Tickets, HotelsClick, Jetsetter, Priceline and Despegar.com so you can book your The Marker Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing