We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic experience - an absolute pleasure”
Review of The Marker Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Marker Hotel
Ranked #2 of 150 Hotels in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 3, 2014

Just had to share my fantastic experience staying at the Marker Hotel straight away, I'm still smiling as it was an absolute pleasure from start to finish. My first impression was I thought it was such a beautiful design and lovely location. At reception, Robert couldn't have been more helpful and welcoming. Walking down the corridor to our room, I loved the design and sensed something special awaited us in our room, I wasn't disappointed, the bathroom was stunning, the shower was a generous size and strong jet with easy temp. control. The bath l was a good size too and the toiletries smelt amazing. The chocolates and slippers, the tea making facilities(which took us a few minutes to locate as it's discreetly place behind a white panel, the robes, the bed, wow the bed was definitely a hightlight, a king size but so wonderfully comfortable, teamed with pillows that I meant to ask where they were from because I had a wonderful night's sleep. We tried the pool and the wellness area, again staff were very welcoming and the facilities top notch.We were there for Le Drunch and the food again, was the highest standard, I couldn't speak after tasting my creme brulee, it was heavenly.The breakfast, it wasn't the biggest buffet but it had top quality on offer and everything tasted good. Unfortunately the rooftop bar was closed for a private function when I was there so I can't comment on that and I forgot to try the Cronuts but I don't think my stay here could be easily topped, just everything was such a high standard and felt luxurious.I've stayed in other 5 stars before and always found something to disappoint but the marker truly deserves it's 5 stars as it's a real treat to stay there. Left smiling and would absolutely recommend.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cjudge109
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlie_Sheil, Guest Relations Manager at The Marker Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 7, 2014

Dear Cjudge109,

Thank you for posting a lovely review of The Marker Hotel on Tripadvisor.

I am happy that you enjoyed your stay and the service provided by our Team; we are always delighted when we know we made a difference to our guests stay and try to make it that little bit more especial and unique.

Do let me know next time when you are coming back and I will make sure there are some cronuts ready for you.

Thank you again for your lovely feedback and we look forward to welcoming you back very soon.

Kind regards

Lili Torres
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (3,572)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,054 - 3,060 of 3,572 reviews

Reviewed February 1, 2014

Recently visited the marker for my partners birthday and what a wonderful experience from the warm welcome at reception to the professional departure. I contacted the Manager on duty ( Gary ) and asked if there was anything he could do fot a small b day surprise and within minutes we recieved a lovely fruit plate and desert with a candle. This was way beyond my expectations so thank you. One slight down side was the room service food. It was pretty average. Amazing pool and great rooftop bar but be patient as drinks take a while. See u all again soon

Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank KildareBen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlie_Sheil, Guest Relations Manager at The Marker Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 3, 2014

Dear KildareBen,

Thank you for taking thwe time to review the Marker Hotel on TripAdvisor.

I am delighted that you and your partner enjoyed your stay and that the Team helped out on celebrating this special occasion.

I am sorry that you didn’t really like the Room Service menu but I am glad let you know that a new Menu with more and different choices.

We hope we get the opportunity to welcoming you both back very soon.

Kind regards

Lili Torres
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 1, 2014

This hotel opened April 2013 in an unbeatable location. The service is top notch - professional, warm and genuinely wanting to make your experience special. The rooms are large, modern and nicely appointed. It was our anniversary and we were surprised with a beautifully presented dessert, half bottle of wine and card with anniversary wishes in our room. Many of the staff remembered our names throughout our brief stay.

The rooftop bar has a spectacular view of Dublin and is a beautiful outdoor space. We highly recommend the Marker Hotel.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SteveandCathyO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlie_Sheil, Guest Relations Manager at The Marker Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 3, 2014

Dear SteveandCathyO,

Thank you for posting a review of The Marker Hotel on TripAdvisor.

I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay and we helped to make your anniversary that little bit more special.

We always recognise our guests’ special occasions and we are delighted to read their feedback.

On behalf of my team, I thank you again for your comments and I look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind regards

Lili Torres
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 31, 2014

I stayed here just before Xmas with my mum and I was expecting more from a 5 star hotel. The bed was extremely comfy and the hotel was very clean but something was lacking. While some staff were extremely friendly, others were pretentious; ignoring us whilst saying hello to the business men in suits. I feel the hotel focussed more on form than function and although extremely modern, the lighting was really poor (applying make-up was next to impossible) and the general layout of the room was frustrating ( no plugs near an extremely large mirror for example). I know it may sound petty but in a 5 star hotel, these shouldn't be issues. Overall, despite no huge flaws, I felt uncomfortable in this hotel. Also if you want a taxi, ask reception to arrange one for you! There are lots around but many have an arrangement with the hotel. we jumped into one that was free and although we were guests in the hotel, the doorman then told the taxi driver he had a hotel fare. The doorman then audibly asked the driver to ask us to get out, but changed his mind when another cab turned up!unacceptable!

Room Tip: Mum had a corner room with a bath and it was slightly bigger than mine!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Leanne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlie_Sheil, Guest Relations Manager at The Marker Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 3, 2014

Dear Leanne M,

Thank you for your review, I would like to apologise most sincerely for the shortcomings in service that you experienced during your stay.

We will contact you privately in order to have the opportunity to speak with you directly and follow up with you in more detail.

Again our sincere apologies and I look forward to speaking with you.

Yours Sincerely,

Lili Torres
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 30, 2014 via mobile

We were there just before xmas to celebrate my wife's birthday.
We were lucky enough to get a table for 6 on the roof.
By the way big thanks for Ethan and Peter for the perfect night and the hospitality.
We felt so special and all the friends were so happy in the end.
Both food and service were good and professional.
Definitely will be back soon.

Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
Thank Gumilabu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlie_Sheil, Guest Relations Manager at The Marker Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 3, 2014

Dear Gumilabu,

Thank you for your lovely review of The Marker Hotel on TripAdvisor.

I am happy to know that our Team helped to celebrate this special occasion as it is your wife’s birthday.

I have passed your comments to Peter and Ethan and they are delighted with them.

Thank you again and we look forward to welcoming you back very soon.

Warm regards

Lili Torres
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 30, 2014

Stayed for 2 nights on business - chose this spot due to colleague recommendation and proximity to my office in Dublin. The staff was welcoming and professional. Rooms were very clean and comfortable (the bed sheets could have been slightly higher quality & I would have liked more pillow options). However, the lovely bathroom was a nice surprise: heated marble floors, a huge soaking tub and wonderful Malin + Goetz products. Would definitely stay again if I returned to Dublin.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rdnycgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlie_Sheil, Guest Relations Manager at The Marker Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 3, 2014

Dear Rdnycgirl,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of The Marker Hotel on TripAdvisor.

I am glad to know that our Team looked after you during your stay.

The bathroom and its toiletries are indeed wonderful and we hear nothing but raving comments about them.

Thank for having chosen us for your stay in Dublin and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind regards

Lili Torres
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 29, 2014

I visited The Marker for the first time earlier this month for a girls weekend away in Dublin and it was just sublime!

The rooms were done to a very high standard and the bathrooms were heaven, heated floors, walk in shower and a bath I could have stayed in all day given half the chance! The reception staff in particular were great, very helpful and nothing was too much trouble. Unlike some front of house staff they really took the time to engage with us and have a chat rather and weren't standoff ish in anyway at all.

We didn't eat at the hotel but we sampled a number of drinks from the bar! Wine list was great and our waiter did a fine job in recommending what we should have based on what we fancied and the cocktails were fab! A little pricey but in that kind of setting you kind of expect to pay a little more.

The roof top bar is definitely worth a stop, the views over the docklands was great and even though it was freezing and we were outside, we had a heat lamp and fresh blankets to keep us toasty.

Next time I'll make sure to visit the spa and the leisure facilities which I didn't get to this time round. Well worth a visit.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LissAustin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlie_Sheil, Guest Relations Manager at The Marker Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 3, 2014

Dear LissAustin,

Thank you for posting a review of The Marker Hotel on Tripadvisor.

I am glad to read that you and your girlfriends had a great weekend.

I must agree with you that the bathrooms are sublime and the bubble bath might be the best way to start a relaxing weekend away.

The rooftop Lounge is indeed amazing even during this cold winter, we do have an inside area and we provide blankets and hot water bottles for the adventurous people that rather have a seat in the outside.

I hope we get the opportunity to welcoming you all back very soon and maybe this time you can experience the fantastic Spa and Wellness Centre.

Kind regards

Lili Torres
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dublin hotels
0.7 mi away
The Merrion Hotel
The Merrion Hotel
#1 of 150 in Dublin
3,489 reviews
1.9 mi away
Clontarf Castle Hotel
Clontarf Castle Hotel
#3 of 150 in Dublin
4,197 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Westbury
The Westbury
#7 of 150 in Dublin
4,104 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
The Morrison, a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel
1.3 mi away
The Croke Park
The Croke Park
#5 of 150 in Dublin
4,688 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Shelbourne Dublin, A Renaissance Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Marker Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Marker Hotel

Address: Grand Canal Square | Docklands, Dublin 2, Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 150 Hotels in Dublin
Price Range: $229 - $504 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Marker Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 187
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Extraordinary, surprising and luxurious, the Marker Hotel is the perfect urban retreat for those who crave the unconventional, yet still expect the exceptional standards of service that are the signature of a member of The Leading Hotels of the World(R). One of Dublin's most visually arresting landmarks, the Marker Hotel offers a distinct blend of urban style and luxury. Located right in the heart of the Docklands, Dublin's most prolific cultural hub, it's the perfect base from which to explore our capital city. The hotel features a ground floor bar and restaurant as its centre piece, with 187 guest rooms over six floors. It also features a Rooftop Lounge, a striking space overlooking Dublin city, which blends indoor and outdoor areas the perfect space to enjoy lunch, cocktails and dinner. The Marker's spa features five spacious treatment rooms with a designated relaxation area and a 23 metre infinity pool. Further amenities include a jacuzzi, sauna, steam room and fitness suite. The Marker's Conference and events facilities will contain nine adaptable spaces with capacities ranging from 20-250 guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Marker Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing