We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Can't Wait To Go Back ....” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Marker Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Marker Hotel
Ranked #2 of 153 Hotels in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence
Belfast, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Can't Wait To Go Back ....”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 4, 2013 via mobile

We, husband and I, have stayed in hotels in NYC, Prague, London, Amsterdam, France etc - this hotel is THE best EVER!
It can't be faulted.
Lovely, friendly, helpful staff.
Fantastic surroundings. Brilliant facilities. Great food.... And oh,
the rooms......
I never sleep well in hotels. Never, ever - I'm like the princess and the pea!
The beds in The Marker are incredible.
Imagine the most comfortable thing you could ever think of - THAT'S what the beds are like!
The bathroom, well, I could have taken it home - it was the height of supreme luxury - and oh SO clean (which does make a difference!)
A joy to stay in, highly recommended, the ONLY thing is, it's spoilt us for anything else now It's set the standard!
We will definitely be booking again, for a longer stay next time?
We only stayed for one night, (Billy Joel in the O2, which was EXCELLENT!!!) and The Marker made for the PERFECT stay in Dublin.
ps. Not forgetting the rooftop bar - Cheers!

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank AnnBT24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlie_Sheil, Guest Relations Manager at The Marker Hotel, responded to this review, November 6, 2013
Dear AnnBT24,

Thank you for posting a lovely review of The Marker Hotel on TripAdvisor.

I am delighted to know that you and your husband enjoyed your stay and I hope you consider us from now on “your home away from home”.

We do get indeed comments all the time regarding the bed and its linen, guest usually ask us for the brand of the mattress as they want to get one for their own homes!

I am glad you enjoyed the concert and yes, we are the perfect venue to start and finish a concert in Dublin, including a drink (or two!) on the Rooftop Lounge.

Thank you again and I look forward to welcoming you both back very soon.

Warm Regards

Lili Torres
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,731 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,090
    475
    103
    47
    16
See reviews for
308
1,177
81
692
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (266)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 4, 2013

You just get to love the different ceiling and the big glass sections in the lobby and restaurant. This modern hotel is newly built and still very clean and fresh everywhere you look. The hotel bar is quite nice and if you're lucky (as we were) you get to meet Bono himself chilling with his friends. The room was nice in every way, looking gorgeous and feeling fresh. The only small "disappointment" is the breakfast. Even though it was good, it could have been even better, trying to meet the same high standard in everything else in the hotel. You are ten minutes from RDS and fifteen minutes from Temple Bar, by walking. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ElieMesso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlie_Sheil, Guest Relations Manager at The Marker Hotel, responded to this review, November 6, 2013
Dear ElieMesso,

Thank you for posting a review of The Marker Hotel on TripAdvisor.

I am glad that you enjoyed your stay and that you even spotted a celebrity, we are indeed “the Place to be” and to have a drink while you relax and our highly trained and professional team will look after the rest.

I would be very grateful if you could contact me directly as I would be very interested to know what we were lacking at Breakfast so then we can make it perfect, as the rest of the hotel.

I thank you again for your comments and I look forward to welcoming you back very soon.

Warm regards

Lili Torres
Guest relations Manager
lili.torres@themarker.ie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
133 reviews
84 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 3, 2013

We stayed for a weekend. The hotel is a little bit out of the action of Dublin, about a 20 minute walk from Temple Bar. Which was fine for us as we were wanting to walk around the city and see it for ourselves. A taxi is quite expensive and they seem to charge a €3 fee to pick you up at the hotel.

The hotel is new and very nice. The rooms are a good size, not the biggest 5* rooms I've ever stayed in, but they are very nice. The bathrooms are beautiful and have very good fixtures and fittings.

The bed was big and very comfortable, the hotel was perfectly quiet and we had a great nights sleep.

The pool area is beautiful as well.

The only complaint I would have is the roof top bar. We were told it was full and asked to wait. That was fine, except other people who approached the lift up to the bar were shown straight up with no wait at all. I asked could we go up and again the lady said there was a big queue, yet a group of 6 women entered the hotel minutes later and were shown straight up. Perhaps our faces didn't fit, I've no idea!

Apart from the lady on the door of the roof top bar the hotel was great.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ctron1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlie_Sheil, Guest Relations Manager at The Marker Hotel, responded to this review, November 6, 2013
Dear Ctron1,

Thank you for reviewing the Marker Hotel on TripAdvisor.

While I am happy to read that you enjoyed your stay and the décor and facilities, I am concerned about your experience on The Rooftop Lounge;

First of all, as a guest of the hotel you do have preference in accessing the Rooftop; unfortunately due to busy periods, the weather and other factors, sometimes we are forced to introduce a waiting list, meaning that when all the tables are full, our hostess will start taking names and number of guests so she can call them straight back after a table becomes available; the people that you saw going up before you were probably on the waiting list already and they came back after receiving a call from our team.

I hope we get the opportunity to welcoming you back in the near future and please do let me know directly as It would be my privilege to look after you.

Warm regards

Lili Torres
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antwerp
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 3, 2013

The hotel was immaculate throughout. It has a great location on the Grand Canal near the theatre.
Very courteous and helpful staff. We have had a very warm welcome of the members of the frontoffice. Also the members of the houskeeping do there job in a perfect way;
The room was excellent. The bathroom was modern and spacious with exclusive products. The rooftop was amazing. It was really a pleasure to swim in the large swimmingpool. We give the hotel a very good value for the breakfast for the quality of food and again for the service.
There is nothing negative at all and we shall definitely stay again!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ann R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlie_Sheil, Guest Relations Manager at The Marker Hotel, responded to this review, November 10, 2013
Dear Ann R,

Thank you for taking the time to review The Marker Hotel on TripAdvisor.

I am delighted to read that our Team took a good care of you and you got the opportunity of enjoy the full facilities that The Marker has to offer.

On behalf of the Team and I, we thank you for having chosen The Marker for your visit to Dublin.

We look forward to welcoming you back very soon.

Kind regards

Lili Torres
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern Ireland
Level Contributor
23 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 2, 2013 via mobile

Unfortunately only visited for one night as we were going to the Billy Joel concert in the nearby O2. Design and style of this hotel is extremely modern and sharp. Everything on ground floor is open plan giving a great atmosphere. Loved our room - superior double. Bedroom and bathroom had fixtures and fittings of the highest quality. An excellent nights sleep in an extremely comfortable bed.
Rooftop bar was fantastic and we visited before and after the concert ! As it's November we had a seat under the heaters but were also provided with blankets.
All staff were excellent and training standards were very high.
So glad to have found something that little bit different - our new 'favourite' I think! Keep up the good work - please!! Be back soon!

Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank 577Nicola
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlie_Sheil, Guest Relations Manager at The Marker Hotel, responded to this review, November 10, 2013
Dear 577Nicola,

Thank you for taking the time to review The Marker Hotel on TripAdvisor.

I am glad to read that you enjoying your visit and got the opportunity to visit the Rooftop Lounge; even on a cold evening it is the place to be and beside having heaters, we are providing blankets and we will start offering hot water bottles very soon too.

I thank you for having chosen The Marker hotel and I look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Warm regards

Lili Torres
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 2, 2013

A big big thank you to Unni, Garav, Clara and Adam. We arrived at the hotel at the end of May 2013 and learnt that it had been only open a few weeks and the swimming pool was not open due to maintenance. We were very disappointed but the above staff looked after us arranged alternative swimming facilities and complimentary meal. The service at meal times were impeccable and Adam remembered our particular orders each time we visited the restaurant. Our room was bright, clean and contemporary. We were notified as soon as the pool was available for use and it was one of the nicest layouts that we have experienced. Clara was very friendly and welcoming to the spa. Unni and Garav we are greatful for the hospitality that you showed us and you went over and beyond to ensure that the hotel met our expectations. We will definitely stay with you again and have recommended the hotel to friends. Mr and Mrs Owen

Room Tip: We stayed on the second floor with a view of the bord gais theatre
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Shar0n2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlie_Sheil, Guest Relations Manager at The Marker Hotel, responded to this review, November 5, 2013
Dear Shar0n2010,

Thank you for posting a lovely review of The Marker Hotel on TripAdvisor.

I have passed your comment to the rest of the team and I am delighted to know that they looked after you and found suitable options for you to enjoy your stay. I am confident to say that the next time you come to visit us, you will experience first-hand all the changes that we have made and I am proud to say that you will be staying in one of the best hotels in Dublin.

I thank you again for your review and look forward to welcoming you back very soon

Kind regards

Lili Torres
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
61 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 1, 2013

The hotel is situated close to the business and cultural centre of Dublin making it ideal for business travellers. I stayed in this hotel for one night.

The check-in was somehow a bit convoluted as the person who helped me was also engaged with a different guest at the same time and I was then transferred to another person. In general staff seemed a bit unorganised which one would not expect from a Leading Hotel.

The room was of a good size with a large bed and some rather funky chairs. Overall a comfortable room if it had not been for the air con. It seemed to be either too cold or stuffy in the room which was not pleasant. A real highlight is the bathroom which is fairly large and beautifully appointed. Bathrobes and slippers are provided.

I had breakfast and dinner in the hotel both were fine but not outstanding. I did not have time to check out the roof top bar or the pool.

Overall, you will have a pleasant stay there.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Travelingbiz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlie_Sheil, Guest Relations Manager at The Marker Hotel, responded to this review, November 5, 2013
Dear Travelingbiz,

Thank you for taking the time to review The Marker Hotel on TripAdvisor.

I am glad that overall you enjoyed your stay with us but I have addressed the issues highlighted on your comments with the appropriate departments; I do agree that a receptionist must have your undivided attention and I apologise as this was not the case.

We are also constantly changing and/or adding new items or dishes to our menus throughout all the hotel and ours chef are always happy to modify dishes according to your taste or dietary requirements.

I thank you again for your recommendation and I look forward to welcoming you back very soon.

Warm regards

Lili Torres
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dublin hotels
0.7 mi away
The Merrion Hotel
The Merrion Hotel
#1 of 153 in Dublin
5.0 of 5 bubbles 3,033 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Westbury
The Westbury
#7 of 153 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,688 reviews
1.9 mi away
Clontarf Castle Hotel
Clontarf Castle Hotel
#4 of 153 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,569 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
The Croke Park
The Croke Park
#6 of 153 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,265 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Morrison, a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel
0.3 mi away
The Spencer Hotel Dublin IFSC
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Marker Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Marker Hotel

Property: The Marker Hotel
Address: Grand Canal Square | Docklands, Dublin 2, Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 153 Hotels in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Marker Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 187
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Extraordinary, surprising and luxurious, the Marker Hotel is the perfect urban retreat for those who crave the unconventional, yet still expect the exceptional standards of service that are the signature of a member of The Leading Hotels of the World(R). One of Dublin's most visually arresting landmarks, the Marker Hotel offers a distinct blend of urban style and luxury. Located right in the heart of the Docklands, Dublin's most prolific cultural hub, it's the perfect base from which to explore our capital city. The hotel features a ground floor bar and restaurant as its centre piece, with 187 guest rooms over six floors. It also features a Rooftop Lounge, a striking space overlooking Dublin city, which blends indoor and outdoor areas the perfect space to enjoy lunch, cocktails and dinner. The Marker's spa features five spacious treatment rooms with a designated relaxation area and a 23 metre infinity pool. Further amenities include a jacuzzi, sauna, steam room and fitness suite. The Marker's Conference and events facilities will contain nine adaptable spaces with capacities ranging from 20-250 guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and Jetsetter so you can book your The Marker Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing