We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just a few problems, otherwise almost perfect.”
Review of The Marker Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Marker Hotel
Ranked #2 of 151 Hotels in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 9, 2013

We found the staff very helpful and not in an intrusive way. The rooms were excellent and the WiFi service fast and efficient. There were just a couple of negatives which if sorted would make this the best hotel in Dublin that I have stayed at.

The breakfast buffet was poor with cold, rock hard potato bread and limited choice. They do have an a la carte option but there was just too few staff for the number of guests which made the service so slow that the potential for getting it before lunch time seemed very limited. We waited ages just for tea/coffee. There are a number of cafes/restaurants nearby which do provide better and cheaper alternatives.

The main bar totally lacks any atmosphere. It is a bit like being at the airport and the architecture is probably a bit "way-out" for some people. There is another bar across the square which is much more traditional in design and character so if you don't want to stray too far from the hotel, go there.

The roof-top bar at the minute is a bit of a gimmick. The suggestion that you might have to queue for it - don't bother. The enclosed area is just too small for the Irish climate which renders the other 80% defunct, probably for most of the year. And even by Dublin standards, this is no sky-scraper so there are quite a few taller buildings limiting the "panoramic" view of the city!

However, the service really did stand out, particularly the valet parking so make sure you book this in advance if you are driving.

I am going back in 3 weeks!

Room Tip: Ask for a room over-looking the square and not children's play area at the back.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank drjohnmcsparran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlie_Sheil, Guest Relations Manager at The Marker Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 13, 2013

Dear Drjohnmcsparran,

Thank you very much for taking the time to review The Marker Hotel on TripAdvisor.

I am glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. I want to assure you that we have taken all your comments on board and we have made the necessary adjustments.

I am sorry that the Rooftop Lounge wasn’t up to your expectations, I do want to assure you that we always look after our guests and they always have priority to go up there.

I thank you again for your review and I will see you in 2 weeks!

Warm Regards

Lili Torres
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (3,515)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,155 - 3,161 of 3,515 reviews

Reviewed September 8, 2013 via mobile

This hotel is a bit of an enigma. On the one hand the architecture and the rooms are very very impressive but on the other the quality of service available to guests is certainly not 5 star. My wife and I stayed one night. On arrival in our room we discovered that the minibar had not been re-stocked. We then thought we would spend some time at the rooftop bar. We were told yes, we could go up but only for 45 minutes....nice one!! We then had an evening meal in the 'restaurant'....more like a cafe. It's right at the front door so there's a constant breeze coming in. I asked why they weren't using the part of the restaurant featured on their website and was told it was for 'overflow' only,even though it looked much more intimate. We then retired to the bar which again is right at the front entrance. Seating was very limited. I grabbed a couple of free high chairs and sat waiting for service. About 2 minutes later one of the bar staff approached me and said I couldn't use the stools 'because they were reserved for a couple of non-resident blokes who had popped out for a 10 minute fag'....charming. We stood around for a while and then retreated to the quietness of our room. Breakfast was a shambles. After a 10 minute wait we were eventually led to our table only to find that it had not been set. We waited 10 minutes to have that sorted. I checked out fully expecting to be asked how my stay was....nothing....the receptionist took my money and that was that.
To sum up, nice shiny new hotels can have the lovely spa and pool, lovely decor, plush carpet, nice rooms but it takes more than that to make it 5 star......there's a bit of work to be done at the Marker...enough said...

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank ColinAtkinson46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlie_Sheil, Guest Relations Manager at The Marker Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 10, 2013

Dear ColinAtkinson46,

We thank you for having chosen us for your last visit to Dublin.

I am disappointed to read that your stay wasn’t up to your expectations and I also want to apologise as this wasn’t brought to my attention sooner as I am sure we could have had resolved it.

I would appreciate if you could email me your details as I would love to hear your feedback on more detail, my email is lili.torres@themarker.ie.

Thank you again for reviewing the Marker Hotel on TripAdvisor.

I look forward to hearing from you.

Warm Regards
Lili Torres
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here in June while attending the Robbie Williams concert. Check-in was efficient by a friendly receptionist. We were staying in a standard room but there was nothing standard about this room. The rooms are impressive. Modern, clean and of good size. Bathroom had walk-in shower and a deep bath. On leaving the hotel for the concert we were offered umbrellas by the doorman as it was raining. Breakfast is buffet style and of good quality. Highly recommend this hotel and next time I am in Dublin I will be booking this hotel

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michelle O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlie_Sheil, Guest Relations Manager at The Marker Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 10, 2013

Dear Michelle311980,

Thank you for taking the time to review the Marker Hotel on TripAdvisor.

I am thrilled that you enjoyed your stay with us and I heard that the concert was amazing too?

I do hope we get the opportunity to welcome you back very soon.

Warm Regards

Lili Torres
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2013

My partner & I had flown back to Dublin at 1:30am and had a reservation in a different hotel in the city. A terrible 3 star hotel that charged 110 / night. The experience resulted in us trying to check-out no later than one hour of arriving at that dreadful place. I checked online at 2:30am to find an alternative hotel for us to stay in. Up popped the new modern 5 star hotel The Marker at an unbelievable rate of 130 / night. This wasn't the same right I checked 3 weeks previously, the price dropped by 60eu. I called the concierge of the Marker at 2:45am explaining the position we were in and immediately wanted a different hotel. He got a room prepped for us for a 6am arrival as we could not check-out of the previous hotel any earlier due to their incompetence. I think the guys name was Damian who helped us. we arranged for everything, breakfast and the room rate & paid over the phone. We told him we would be there at 6am sharp. Once we arrived everything was perfect, it is a beautifully modern new hotel. The service was something new, something I had only ever experienced in 5 star hotels abroad, but not in Ireland, so it was really great. We slept for most of the day & went out for lunch. I wanted to use the spa & pool but had no time, I only saw it. The rooftop bar was actually closed when we were there as it had only opened 4-5 weeks prior to our stay there. The only problem we encountered was our AC not working. Due to the inconvenience we were upgraded to a Deluxe room. The bathroom was much bigger with a separate shower and a slightly larger room.From the room service to the assistance from the concierge & night staff. This place was friendly & accommodating. Look for deals, it is worth it. I can't wait to return.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the theater are pretty cool because of the lights
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andrew G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlie_Sheil, Guest Relations Manager at The Marker Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 10, 2013

Dear Andrew G,

Thank you very much for your lovely review of The Marker Hotel on TripAdvisor.

I am delighted to read that even though your first hotel choice wasn’t up to your standards, once you arrived with us the real holidays started!

I am glad our team were able to assist you during your stay and I apologise as you didn’t get the opportunity to experience the Rooftop Lounge but maybe that will give you a good excuse to coming back and visit us soon?

I thank you again for your lovely comments.

I look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Warm regards

Lili Torres
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2013

I haven't stayed here but go to the hotel restaurant for lunch a couple of times each month. The food and service are excellent, some might find it a little quiet but I find that works quite well if you're chatting with people over lunch. Great value for the quality of what you get too.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank DublinErik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlie_Sheil, Guest Relations Manager at The Marker Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 8, 2013

Dear DublinErik,

Thank you for reviewing the Marker Hotel on TripAdvisor.

I have passed your lovely comments to our Food & Beverage Team and they are delighted that you have become one of our regulars!

I do hope you come and stay with us very soon to show you another part of our great service but in the meantime: see you at lunch!

Warm Regards

Lili Torres
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2013

Very recently opened when I stayed and staff were making a big effort. Nicely decorated, good room, very good heath club and pool, a lovely evening when I stayed so I took advantage of the roof top bar with great views to the wicklow Hills

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NorthShieldsBoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlie_Sheil, Guest Relations Manager at The Marker Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 8, 2013

Dear Jon T,

Thank you for reviewing the Marker Hotel on TripAdvisor.

I am glad that you enjoyed your stay and the Rooftop Bar; I am sure that the next time you come and visit us you will notice the difference as we are getting better at what we do thanks to our guest’ feedback.

I thank you again for your comments and i look forward to welcoming you back.

Warm Regards

Lili Torres
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2013

Overall, the hotel and staff was very nice. The restaurants in the front are good. Good location. Just be careful if you are driving. The GPS has a tough time finding the building. Overall, good value. No complaints.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Discocanuck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlie_Sheil, Guest Relations Manager at The Marker Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 5, 2013

Dear Discocanuk,

Thank you for your review of The Marker Hotel on TripAdvisor.

I am happy to read that you enjoyed your stayed with us.

I am sorry that you had difficulty finding the hotel. Directions can be obtained on our website where we give step by step instructions from the most popular routes and there is always
someone at the hotel that can give you directions over the phone.

Thank you again for staying with us and we look forward to welcoming you back

Warm Regards

Lili Torres
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dublin hotels
0.7 mi away
The Merrion Hotel
The Merrion Hotel
#1 of 151 in Dublin
3,451 reviews
1.9 mi away
Clontarf Castle Hotel
Clontarf Castle Hotel
#3 of 151 in Dublin
4,164 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Westbury
The Westbury
#7 of 151 in Dublin
4,082 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
The Morrison, a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel
1.3 mi away
The Croke Park
The Croke Park
#6 of 151 in Dublin
4,662 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Shelbourne Dublin, A Renaissance Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Marker Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Marker Hotel

Address: Grand Canal Square | Docklands, Dublin 2, Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 151 Hotels in Dublin
Price Range: $227 - $498 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Marker Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 187
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Extraordinary, surprising and luxurious, the Marker Hotel is the perfect urban retreat for those who crave the unconventional, yet still expect the exceptional standards of service that are the signature of a member of The Leading Hotels of the World(R). One of Dublin's most visually arresting landmarks, the Marker Hotel offers a distinct blend of urban style and luxury. Located right in the heart of the Docklands, Dublin's most prolific cultural hub, it's the perfect base from which to explore our capital city. The hotel features a ground floor bar and restaurant as its centre piece, with 187 guest rooms over six floors. It also features a Rooftop Lounge, a striking space overlooking Dublin city, which blends indoor and outdoor areas the perfect space to enjoy lunch, cocktails and dinner. The Marker's spa features five spacious treatment rooms with a designated relaxation area and a 23 metre infinity pool. Further amenities include a jacuzzi, sauna, steam room and fitness suite. The Marker's Conference and events facilities will contain nine adaptable spaces with capacities ranging from 20-250 guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Marker Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing