We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Building as you would expect of a new build, but the Staff are what it's all about” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Marker Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Marker Hotel
Ranked #2 of 150 Hotels in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence
Ireland
Level Contributor
77 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Building as you would expect of a new build, but the Staff are what it's all about”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2013

This hotel is a lovely find in Dublin. The area is really nice for a walk. The new build is special and its well fitted out. The rooms are really nice but the Bathrooms are very poorly lit and in need of extra light even to see yourself in the mirror.
But the real gem here are the staff. There training has been very good and every one of them are proactive in looking after your every need and promoting the hotel. If that is the standard now they will be hard to beat in the future. Well worth the stay.
Ps the Cronuts are great

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank IrelandCeltic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlie_Sheil, Guest Relations Manager at The Marker Hotel, responded to this review, August 20, 2013
Dear IrelandCeltic,

Thank you very much reviewing the Marker Hotel on TripAdvisor.

I have passed your lovely comments to our Team and they are delighted when a guest recognizes their dedication and effort. Here at the Marker, are very proud of our team and give constant training and guidance that reflects on the outstanding customer service that we provide.

Thank you again for visiting us and we look forward to welcoming you again very soon

Ps- yes, the Cronuts are addictive!

Kind Regards

Lili Torres
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,428 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,840
    434
    95
    44
    15
See reviews for
272
1,040
75
598
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (261)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
paris
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2013 via mobile

It is really a very cool hotel in this arising hip and modern neighborhood of Dublin!

The views from the rooms, the atmosphere from their restaurant, the bar, the swimming pool and gym facilities are cool cool cool!

I strongly recommend it if you are looking forward to discover a modern Dublin and to treat you during your stay in Ireland.

If you are looking for a center located hotel though, this is not the place to be. Yes, it is walking distance from the center but it's a 'little' walk of ten minutes which is not as 'short' as you wish after a couple of times. If you are looking for a traditional Irish place this is not the place either...

Stay here if you enjoy being part of a trendy new and cool arising spot of town!

PS. Great food at breakfast and I have heard that their food for dinner is also very good.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sergiocanedo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlie_Sheil, Guest Relations Manager at The Marker Hotel, responded to this review, August 20, 2013
Dear Sergiocanedo,

Thank you very much for reviewing the Marker Hotel.

We are delighted that your enjoyed your stay and got the opportunity all the facilities that The
Marker has to offer.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel very soon.

Wark Regards

Lili Torres
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2013 via mobile

Fantastic hotel the staff couldn't be more helpful.the spa,pool and relaxation rooms were excellent.the roof top bar was amazing.the only let down was the price of the car park €30 per day .....................................

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Neil M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlie_Sheil, Guest Relations Manager at The Marker Hotel, responded to this review, August 14, 2013
Dear Neil M,

Thank you very much for your review of The Marker Hotel on TripAdvisor.

I am delighted that you enjoyed our magnificent Spa & Wellness and also the Rooftop Bar, the place to be at the moment!

I look forward to welcoming you back very soon to The Marker Hotel.

Warm regards

Lili Torres
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tipperary, Ireland
Level Contributor
35 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2013

Stayed Monday and Tuesday last week, the room was awsome! The bed super comfy! the shower amazing! Breakfast was nice. I found the dinner menu very limited especially the starters... the steak dinner was nice was not gone on the pepper sauce though... the desert was epic and i had an non alcoholic strawberry and basil cooler that was to die for! We also tried the famous crounuts which were very tasty! I would love to stay here,

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ryanmcgeady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlie_Sheil, Guest Relations Manager at The Marker Hotel, responded to this review, August 14, 2013
Dear Ryanmcgeady,

Thank you very much for taking the time to review the Marker Hotel on TripAdvisor.

I am glad to read that you enjoyed your stay with us.

I have passed your comments to our Executive Chef and he is delighted that you enjoyed your dinner and have taken your comments on board regarding the menu.

I have to agree with you, the non-alcoholic cocktails are great specially on a hot summer day.

I thank you again for your review and I look forward to welcoming you back very soon.

Warm Regards

Lili Torres
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern Ireland
Level Contributor
16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2013

New designer hotel. Everything from start to finish was excellent. Only small comment is to expect fairly high bar prices. 9 euro 50 for a glass red wine. Having said that still very much worth it. Otherwise couldn't fault it.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mandlNorthernIreland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlie_Sheil, Guest Relations Manager at The Marker Hotel, responded to this review, August 14, 2013
Dear MadINorthernIreland,

Thank you very much for your review of the Marker Hotel on TripAdvisor.

I am delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay with us.

In regards of the wine price, we do have an extensive and lovely wine list with wines starting at E6.75 euros per glass.

I do hope we get the opportunity to welcoming you back to the Marker in the near future.

Kind regards

Lili Torres
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
38 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2013

I love staying at The Marker when I visit Dublin. The staff are attentive, the rooms are gorgeous and the location is fantastic for where I need to be. Room service is quick and accurate and just as good as eating in the bar or restaurant. Roof top bar is very cool although gaining access does often take a while however it's probably one of the few rooftop bars in Dublin therefore it draws a crowd. There's a great vibe in the bar at the end of the day. The gym is good and clean. I've yet to try the pool or spa! Give me time :)

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LivingAbroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlie_Sheil, Guest Relations Manager at The Marker Hotel, responded to this review, August 14, 2013
Dear LivingAbroad,

Thank you very much for your great review of The Marker Hotel on TripAdvisor.

I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and got the opportunity to experience the
different areas of the hotel.

Regarding the Rooftop Bar, like you mentioned, it’s the “Place to Be” at the moment so unfortunately sometimes we can’t accommodate everyone at the same time but I do assure you that we look after our guests and try to keep them informed of the waiting times during busy periods.

Thank you again for recommending the Marker Hotel and I look forward to welcoming you back very soon.

Warm regards

Lili Torres
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Le Vesinet, France
Level Contributor
35 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2013

Just stayed in the Marker for two nights as our normal hotel nearby was full. This being a new and 'designer' hotel and having read about the rooftop bar we were curious to see what the newest addition to the hotel scene in Dublin was all about. The setting is lovely on the waterfront of a fairly new development which incorporates a theatre, offices and apartments. A lively area about a 10-15 minute walk from O'Connell Bridge, and a 20-25 min walk to Trinity College/Grafton Street. Interesting Docklands and old Dublin sites around. The hotel is modern, minimalist design: the ground floor is open plan with the bar and lift to rooftop at one end , the dining area (all meals are served here) at the other, the reception in the centre. Barry, the doorman, helpful and friendly. Other staff haven't quite got the hang of it yet despite being willing, it has to be said that the black suits & wire earpieces are a bit off-putting, and their manner veered between forbidding (access to aforementioned rooftop for example) and hand-holding. I did manage to go to the rooftop, by queueing to put my name down, and the hostess calling me on my mobile 10 mins later. It is a comfortable area but not out of this world, and the view is good. We had some tapas which were very inventive, tasty and about €9 apiece. A pleasant hour and a half later we left to join my husband who had dined with a colleague in the main restaurant. I wanted to show him the rooftop but impossible to regain access even for a quick look-see, and I wasn't about to do the queueing thing all over again! So: the rooms. Access is by dark, 'mood-lit' corridors. Good size room and marble bathroom with walk-in shower and big bath. Faintly musty smell from drains. Nice toiletries, good quality toilet tissue, thick fluffy towels, non-slip mats provided. Magnifying mirror. Separate hair dryer in wardrobe. Lighting very gloomy and bad (what is it with hotel bathroom lighting, it's never adequate for either shaving or make-up). Closet space only hanging, 1 very small drawer, bathrobes and slippers. Bed large and comfy, good big pillows. Plugs on one side only and not near enough to bed. Lighting very bad, bedside lamp too far away to be able to read in bed, and main lighting also inadequate. Good wifi, lots of TV stations. Coffee/Tea maker and full minibar. Food: Breakfast, juices, cereal was granola,muesli, all-bran and something else, ham&cheese, several kinds of good yogurt, good fruit options, homemade breads, scrambled eggs (no fried or boiled) bacon tomato mushrooms. Very pleasant staff. Had lunch in bar which I thought was not so nice, nothing interesting, ended up with a just ok club sandwich . Dinner was really good and the early-bird served until 19h is excellent value, fresh light cuisine with a continental twist. Wine list good and reasonably priced. Spa/gym/Pool: Pool, dark lighting, black tiles (slippery when wet), hot and muggy, jacuzzi. Good range of equipment in gym. Spa a bit functional looking, more like an upmarket sport centre. Some fresh flowers and nicer soft furnishings maybe? Complimentary tea/coffee and fruit. Didn't have time to check out meeting/conference areas. Parking around the corner and no direct access to hotel. Avail of the valet parking, it's cheaper and easier. So all in all not a five star experience. There is nowhere to chill and relax with a book and a tea or coffee for example. The bar area is smallish, busy, noisy and very public. The rooftop could be a quiet haven during the day but the hyped queueing thing is a giant pain! Will try again in a few months.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Vivienne O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlie_Sheil, Guest Relations Manager at The Marker Hotel, responded to this review, September 13, 2013
Dear Vivianne O,

Thank you for your detailed review of The Marker Hotel On TripAdvisor.

I am glad that you enjoyed your stay and that you found our Team helpful; I want to assure you that we have taken all your comments on board and we are working hard on correcting our shortcomings.

I am sorry that you found our security team off putting, our intention was never that, We have them to assist our team to ensure our guest’s safety and comfort at all times.

I do hope we get the opportunity to have you once more visiting the hotel very soon.

Warm regards

Lili Torres
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dublin hotels
0.7 mi away
The Merrion Hotel
The Merrion Hotel
#1 of 150 in Dublin
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,862 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Westbury
The Westbury
#7 of 150 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,532 reviews
1.3 mi away
The Croke Park
The Croke Park
#6 of 150 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,112 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Spencer Hotel Dublin IFSC
1.1 mi away
The Morrison, a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel
1.9 mi away
Clontarf Castle Hotel
Clontarf Castle Hotel
#5 of 150 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,387 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Marker Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Marker Hotel

Property: The Marker Hotel
Address: Grand Canal Square | Docklands, Dublin 2, Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 150 Hotels in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Marker Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 187
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Extraordinary, surprising and luxurious, the Marker Hotel is the perfect urban retreat for those who crave the unconventional, yet still expect the exceptional standards of service that are the signature of a member of The Leading Hotels of the World(R). One of Dublin's most visually arresting landmarks, the Marker Hotel offers a distinct blend of urban style and luxury. Located right in the heart of the Docklands, Dublin's most prolific cultural hub, it's the perfect base from which to explore our capital city. The hotel features a ground floor bar and restaurant as its centre piece, with 187 guest rooms over six floors. It also features a Rooftop Lounge, a striking space overlooking Dublin city, which blends indoor and outdoor areas the perfect space to enjoy lunch, cocktails and dinner. The Marker's spa features five spacious treatment rooms with a designated relaxation area and a 23 metre infinity pool. Further amenities include a jacuzzi, sauna, steam room and fitness suite. The Marker's Conference and events facilities will contain nine adaptable spaces with capacities ranging from 20-250 guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets and Jetsetter so you can book your The Marker Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing