We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Needs more work for the 5 star rating, but is getting there.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Marker Hotel

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
The Marker Hotel
Ranked #2 of 153 Hotels in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
34 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Needs more work for the 5 star rating, but is getting there.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 22, 2013

Beautiful hotel rooms with very comfortable beds and a luxurious bathroom which, in my opinion was a 5 star standard. The bar in the lobby is a bit clinical, but OK for a quick coffee or drink. Breakfast was good, but not really 5 star standard, in fact, I wouldn't even give it a 4. I didn't have dinner here so can't comment on that.

I am aware that the hotel is hoping for a 5 star grading and I think it is on its way to getting it, but overall, for the moment I would only see it as a very good 4 star hotel. The staff are very courteous but I felt that they were under pressure to get everything just right. I am aware that for the "leading hotel of the World" membership there are tick boxes that need to be met. But, the staff seem to be too eager to check the boxes in the right order and that shows for the customer. My name is difficult to pronounce, but the staff member gets it on 2nd pronunciation. The guy checking in beside me is asked his name 4 times. After the second time he spells it, thinking that the staff is trying to find the reservation, but she tells him that she wants to know how to pronounce it. So after 2 more attempts she launches into the patter....."hello Mr. xxxx, and welcome to the Marker Hotel", etc.

One member of staff that was relaxed and friendly was the doorman. Can't remember his name, (Conor??), but he didn't seem on edge, whereas the rest of the staff, while very courteous, seemed strained.

We arrived for check-in at 4.30pm. I'll grant you, it was a busy day due to the Robbie Williams conference (which I was attending). BUT, our room wasn't ready. I have never had a room not ready at 4.30pm in the afternoon. The lady at the desk suggested that we have a seat at the bar or go for a walk locally and she would ring my phone when the room was available. It was pouring rain out (as anyone attending the conference will vouch), So we stayed at the bar. The drink is pricey, but then it is a top hotel.

I didn't get to see or use the Spa and Fitness Centre or to view the roof garden. Overall, I enjoyed my stay and I would recommend the hotel.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ideb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlie_Sheil, Guest Relations Manager at The Marker Hotel, responded to this review, July 3, 2013
Dear Ideb,

Thank you very much for your honest feedback on your stay at The Marker. I appreciate that you took the time to share your thoughts on Tripadvisor.

Your critique will serve our team well, as we do continually look to find opportunities to improve our levels of service and attention to detail.

I look forward to seeing you again visiting the Marker Hotel.

Warm Regards

Lili Torres
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,735 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,094
    475
    103
    47
    16
See reviews for
308
1,180
81
693
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (266)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, ON
Level Contributor
33 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 20, 2013

I stayed here alone for 3 nights after initially staying 3 nights closer to city centre. My only complaint was location. It was a bit far to walk to dinner where most of the restaurants were. I like to be able to avoid taxis as much as possible when I travel but wouldn't have wanted to walk the stretch on Pearce street all alone...it's a bit sketchy in areas. That said, the docklands vicinity is really developing and there are some new restaurants springing up!

room - I had a superior room, king bed. It was perfect. I mean perfect. Incredible bathroom, spotlessly clean, lovely turn down service, minibar/fridge, coffee and tea...wildly comfy bed. Great view of the canal and the mountains.

Restaurant and bar- quite buzzy! Lots of locals. Wished I could have gotten to the roof terrace but alas, private parties on all my nights :(. Excellent oysters and Guinness. I say stick to the bar for eats..burger and club looked great. Smoked salmon plate was excellent. My dinner in the restaurant proper was underwhelming. Very kind service though. I didn't find the front desk very knowledgeable about the area. I sourced out most of my meals from my own research, which is fine.

This is NOT an 'Irish' hotel, so don't expect that! It's contemporary and perhaps to some, a bit cold feeling. Frankly, that's ok with me. I'll take my authentic Irish at the pubs! I love coming back to a deep soaker tub, high end linens and nice toiletries! Just wish it were a bit closer to the action..can't have everything, I guess.

Some tips: eat at Matt the Thresher for seafood, Paulies Pizza for Italian, take the dublin city bike tour and stop by Toners pub for a Guinness. All good:)

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank hollydaze
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlie_Sheil, General Manager at The Marker Hotel, responded to this review, June 22, 2013
Dear Hollydaze,

Thank you very much for taking the time to review The Marker Hotel on Tripadvisor.

I am delighted to read that you enjoyed your time with us and you got the chance to experience the fabulous food and drinks that we have to offer.

We look forward to seeing you again very soon!

Kind regards

Charlie Sheil
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 20, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here when we went to see Robbie Williams,and the whole weekend was just fantastic.We arrived on Friday afternoon to check in and the hotel was completely full of people and the atmosphere was electric.We were greeted with a warm welcome by the very friendly staff and we were brought to our room.The room was wonderful,bright,spacious and modern.We had dinner before we left for the concert and it was beautiful***** .We really enjoyed our stay and we will be back again and I have to say it was far from a ripoff for its location and status in Dublin city .

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ginobt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlie_Sheil, General Manager at The Marker Hotel, responded to this review, June 22, 2013
Dear Ginobt,

Delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay here at the hotel. Thank you for the lovely review on Tripadvisor; service is very important to us and I have passed on your comments to the team.

We look forward to seeing you soon visiting The Marker Hotel.

Warm Regards

Charlie Sheil
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IRELAND
Level Contributor
16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 18, 2013 via mobile

The marker hotel is a bit of luxury in d middle of the city, hotel roof top bar is fab, and rooms and facilities are excellent. Location beside bord Gais theatre is great with car parking on site, food is v good and service prompt, only downside of visit was checkout which was very slow

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank maggiemolo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlie_Sheil, General Manager at The Marker Hotel, responded to this review, June 19, 2013
Dear Maggiemolo

Thank you for taking the time to review The Marker Hotel on TripAdvisor.

Your praise of our property and staff was a delight to read and I will pass it to our team.

I look forward to welcoming you back to The Marker Hotel in the near future.

Warm regards

Charlie Sheil
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 18, 2013

We recently made our first visit to the Marker Hotel and will defintely be back!. We went to the Hotel's restaurant for their pre-theatre menu before going to a performance in the Bord Gais Theatre. Each course was first class and after our three courses we were pleasantly full without that real stuffed feeling!! We had a great table at the window with a view of the square. You are literally one minute walk to the Bord Gais Theatre!
The service was excellent - in particular our waitress, Kristina. She was extremely professional and well informed on all aspects of the menu (we asked plenty of questions!!)

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ciara05_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlie_Sheil, General Manager at The Marker Hotel, responded to this review, June 19, 2013
Dear Ciara05_11

Thank you for reviewing The Marker Hotel on Tripadvisor.

I was delighted to read that you enjoyed your dinner and I will pass your lovely comments to Gareth Mullins, our Executive Chef and his team.

We look forward to seeing you again very soon.

Kind regards

Charlie Sheil
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, Northern Ireland
Level Contributor
32 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2013 via mobile

My wife and I stayed here for her birthday as we were going to the Bord Gais Theatre next door.

From our arrival right through to departure we could not fault the service and attention to detail.
The rooftop lounge was lovely with excellent cocktails and great views across Dublin. The breakfast was amazing with everything you need and more. The room was very cosy and very peaceful with a huge bathroom with some lovely top end toiletries supplied.
We didn't get to try the spa so we said we would definitely return to sample this in the future. All in all an amazing hotel with a fresh contemporary feel and great staff.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank smutz121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlie_Sheil, General Manager at The Marker Hotel, responded to this review, June 18, 2013
Dear Smutz121

Delighted you enjoyed your stay here at the hotel.

The Team at The Marker are delighted with your feedback and hopefully we will see you back here again in the near future to enjoy the Spa and Wellness Centre.

Kindest regards,

Charlie Sheil
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterford Ireland
Level Contributor
30 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 16, 2013

My husband stayed at the Marker for one night. It's a beautiful hotel. The staff are so pleasant and friendly. The food in the brasserie was excellent. And the rooftop bar was amazing. The room was really nice with a great view
The only complaint we had was that the toilet seat was broken. For such an expensive hotel this was unacceptable and should have been spotted by whoever cleaned the room before we arrived. Other than that we had a great time there and would return.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marygmcrath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlie_Sheil, General Manager at The Marker Hotel, responded to this review, June 18, 2013
Dear Marygmcrath,

Thank you very much for taking the time to give us this great feedback.

Delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us. I apologize for the toilet seat being broken but let me assure you that this has been rectified.

We look forward to seeing you again very soon

Kindest regards

Charlie Sheil
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dublin hotels
0.7 mi away
The Merrion Hotel
The Merrion Hotel
#1 of 153 in Dublin
5.0 of 5 bubbles 3,040 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Westbury
The Westbury
#7 of 153 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,696 reviews
1.9 mi away
Clontarf Castle Hotel
Clontarf Castle Hotel
#4 of 153 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,581 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
The Croke Park
The Croke Park
#5 of 153 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,273 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Morrison, a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel
0.3 mi away
The Spencer Hotel Dublin IFSC
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Marker Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Marker Hotel

Property: The Marker Hotel
Address: Grand Canal Square | Docklands, Dublin 2, Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 153 Hotels in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Marker Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 187
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Extraordinary, surprising and luxurious, the Marker Hotel is the perfect urban retreat for those who crave the unconventional, yet still expect the exceptional standards of service that are the signature of a member of The Leading Hotels of the World(R). One of Dublin's most visually arresting landmarks, the Marker Hotel offers a distinct blend of urban style and luxury. Located right in the heart of the Docklands, Dublin's most prolific cultural hub, it's the perfect base from which to explore our capital city. The hotel features a ground floor bar and restaurant as its centre piece, with 187 guest rooms over six floors. It also features a Rooftop Lounge, a striking space overlooking Dublin city, which blends indoor and outdoor areas the perfect space to enjoy lunch, cocktails and dinner. The Marker's spa features five spacious treatment rooms with a designated relaxation area and a 23 metre infinity pool. Further amenities include a jacuzzi, sauna, steam room and fitness suite. The Marker's Conference and events facilities will contain nine adaptable spaces with capacities ranging from 20-250 guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ, Jetsetter, Priceline and Despegar.com so you can book your The Marker Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing