We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Love it!”

J2 grill & Sushi bar
Ranked #285 of 2,545 Restaurants in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Japanese, Sushi, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Families with children, Scenic view
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
73 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Love it!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 10, 2013

I have been in this place already 4 or 5 times and once takeaway. Every time I have enjoyed
the food that is extremly fresh,really good and well served.I'm use to finish the dinner with the green tea cheese cake that is just to try!!The place has a great view on the Liffey and also the possibility to eat outside.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DQuark21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

176 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    86
    65
    17
    6
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great Asian food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2013

We were able to sit outside on a hot day to eat some lovely bento box type food. Much tastier than the ones we had in Japan! Try the sweetcorn ice-cream!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Louise C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Best Sushi in Dublin”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2013

Dublin is my hometown and as a lover of sushi, I've always felt a good sushi restaurant was missing. However with the discovery of this little gem, I can happily say I no longer think that.
This cute restaurant has a great location with lovely views of the River Liffey and friendly and welcoming staff. The Sushi is divine - thick fillings wrapped in thin rice. Mouthwateringly good.
Their miso and edamame is also great and for those who might not be adventurous enough for Sushi, they also have some steak and burgers on the menu.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BrendanSpratt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Super friendly and attentive staff, great location, great food!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2013

I felt lucky to live 2 minutes walk away from J2 during my 7-month stay in Dublin. The restaurant itself is in a great spot - right on the bank of the Liffey, with aesthetically pleasing views out across the river, the Jeanie Johnston Tall Ship and the modern developments on the south side. The interior is pleasant and contemporary in its decor, with lots of natural light from the floor-to-ceiling windows. It's basically a glass cube; it is a fairly small building, but it doesn't feel claustrophobic or cramped.

The staff are very friendly and attentive, some of the nicest I've ever had the pleasure of being served by. We visited J2 on a weekly basis and quickly became regulars! They recognised us and remembered our specific dietary requirements (my wife and I are vegan), which is always a massive plus in my book.

The food was always very fresh and tasty. My personal favourites were the vegetable tempura and avocado rolls, but everything I had there was of a very high standard.

I thoroughly enjoyed the food and general ambience of J2 and it's one of the things I will definitely miss about Dublin. I wouldn't hesitate to recommend it to anyone looking for a place for a bite to eat at lunchtime or an evening meal in the vicinity of the IFSC.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Harry D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great steaks!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2013

This place is across our apartment and we keep on going there. The food and value is great, specially their steaks... Their ribeye is superb.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Gigipalacio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed J2 grill & Sushi bar also viewed

Dublin, County Dublin
Dublin, County Dublin
 
Dublin, County Dublin
 

Been to J2 grill & Sushi bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing