We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Superb Irish food”

The Vintage Kitchen
Ranked #3 of 2,543 Restaurants in Dublin
Cuisines: Irish, European, Soups
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special occasions, Dining on a budget, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Superb Irish food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2014

Had a superb meal here last night, our only complaint was that we had no room left for desert. Next time we will starve ourselves before coming, absolutely fantastic food

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Gerry W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,360 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,081
    206
    54
    11
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Vienna, Austria
Level Contributor
46 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Fantastic!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2014

Absolutely fantastic food, good value and very friendly service - might not look like much from the outside, but soooo worth the visit!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank ml0602
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
35 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great Irish cooking in unfussy surroundings”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2014

Excellent modern Irish food, delicious chowders, seafood and organic Irish meats and as a bonus you can bring your own bottle of wine, there’s no corkage charge. Unfussy and reasonably priced, head here if you want to experience genuine Irish cooking and avoid the fake tourist fare they’re pedaling in Temple Bar.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank franjapan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Lively dining with a creative twist on hearty Irish food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2014

We arrived on a Friday evening to fully booked restaurant without reservation (I underestimated how popular this place is) but the manager told us to go for a pint next door and in 20 mins he came looking for us with a nice table down the back due to a cancellation. We could hold onto our beers and were recommended to get a bottle on wine from local off-license as they have a very relaxed BYOW policy. The haddock and chorizo chowder I had for starters was the best chowder Ive ever tasted and not small in portion either. My partner the lamb's liver which was delicious. For mains, I had a small poussin with potatoes and feta cheese salad. It was very tasty but I couldnt help but feel I enjoyed my starters a bit more. My partner had the hake with cockles in a sumptuously spicy basil sauce with a side of caviar which was very interesting. We were literally stuffed come the end so we passed on dessert. The open kitchen and close proximity to other patrons only added to the ambiance and we thoroughly enjoyed the relatively cheap dining experience, cant wait to come back!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Mark M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
91 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Really really good food, and great front of house man.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2014

It was tough to get a table but finally had a meal here on Friday. The food was excellent,however it could perhaps be tweaked as felt lamb shank was a bit wintery for the time of year, but I'm being picky. The food was excellent, flavours and presentation both.
It is great that they have a BYOB policy, which is refreshing for Dublin and is something I wish was embraced more. I hate being fleeced in to buying sub-standard wines in Irish restaurants.
All in all in can't recommend this place highly enough.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Endecot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Vintage Kitchen also viewed

Dublin, County Dublin
Dublin, County Dublin
 
Dublin, County Dublin
 

Been to The Vintage Kitchen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing