We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic food.great value good service”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Shanai

Shanai
Ranked #626 of 2,543 Restaurants in Dublin
Cuisines: Indian, Balti, Eastern European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Families with children, Large groups, Romantic, Kids, Special occasions
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Delivery, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic food.great value good service”
Reviewed December 3, 2013

Just been to shanai on a Sunday for lunch and had a great meal with excellent service, very reasonably priced food. Highly recommended.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Easmi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

43 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    33
    8
    0
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Favourite Restaurant”
Reviewed August 22, 2013

I live near this restaurant and go a lot, around once a month. I love the food here. They have a really varied menu which is great for vegetarians as most of the dishes have the option to be vegetarian or not. The food is really great value for money and the staff are friendly. The decor needs an update but personally I care much more about the quality of the food then the interior design. The restaurant looks average from the outside but the food is really tasty, definitely the best I've had in Dublin!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DaenisC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
147 reviews
91 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
“Terrific little Indian/Bangladeshi place.”
Reviewed June 28, 2013

Extremely friendly staff.
Good food.
Great value.
Consistency.
I love this place.
The wine is also good value.
Highly recommended.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Shay O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
99 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Great friendly restaurant with excellent quality food & superb value”
Reviewed October 31, 2012

We had a family gathering at the Shanai last weekend, the youngest was 26, so kicking on a bit! as usual we were greeted with great enthusiasm by the staff & management and led to our round table which is excellent for sharing. We had the early-bird menu, which for €17 represents excellent value. The Shanai have a very innovative offering that allows you to choose anything on the entire menu and just charge you the difference if its above a threshold. Poppadoms and dips were delicious. I had the Tandoori Mackerel as a starter, Mary had the Shishlak chicken (which is just amazing) and we shared a variety of excellent main courses, naans and pilou rice. Everything was served hot and tasty and no one was disappointed. An offer of drinks on the house was gratefully accepted and we once again left the restaurant satisfied and in good spirits.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 9Hostages
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Shanai also viewed

Dublin, County Dublin
 
Dublin, County Dublin
Dublin, County Dublin
 
Dublin, County Dublin
Dublin, County Dublin
 

Been to Shanai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing