We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Tripadvisor
Dublin
Review Highlights
Excellent

Michael is a wonderful, knowledgeable guide, who goes far beyond the call of duty to make sure that... read more

Reviewed January 17, 2020
aa1976
,
Madrid, España
Excellence in so many ways

Michael was our private driver/guide for 2 awesome day tours to the Boyne Valley, home of the... read more

Reviewed July 27, 2019
ltstahler
,
The Woodlands, Texas
Read all 102 reviews
  
Recommended experiences in and around Dublin
from $60.54
More Info
from $77.05
More Info
from $77.05
More Info
from $60.54
More Info
Reviews (102)
Filter reviews
102 results
Traveler rating
102
0
0
0
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveler rating
102
0
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews boyne valley michael fox highly recommend this tour knowledgeable guide great trip newgrange tara interests dowth ireland narrative journey
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
87 - 92 of 102 reviews
Reviewed July 24, 2013

The four of us (two couples) found our guide, Michael Fox, to be most interesting, informative, and gracious.
The highlight of our enjoyable and educational tour was the Newgrange Stone Age (World Heritage Site) Passage Tomb -- fascinating, with its incredibly pristine etchings and otherwise!

Following a downpour, Mr. Fox even took us to a "NON-touristy," inviting place for delicious soup -- chowder or vegetable -- and luscious Irish bread!

THIS TOUR WAS LESS EXPENSIVE THAN THE TOUR OFFERED BY THE CRUISE; YET, IT WAS MUCH MORE EXTENSIVE. WE BOOKED THE TOUR ON-LINE & MR. FOX MET US AT OUR CRUISE SHIP!

Date of experience: July 2013
1  Thank Ilene943
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2013

Our family of four spent the day with Michael on June 18 and had a great time. He picked us up in the morning and dropped us later than planned, which was very kind of him. Michael was easy to hang out with and accommodating, got us around to a bunch of great places we wouldn't have been able to see without major hassles and expense, knew the timing to make it all work, even brought us home for tea mid-day and showed us the fascinating Sheela-na-gig on a neighbor's wall as well as mini-donkeys and other creatures at a relative's farm, which thrilled our daughter.

We covered pretty much the private tour listed on the website, which was a fine way to get an overall look at Irish history and prehistory from Newgrange to the Hill of Tara up to the Battle of the Boyne. When a late-day tour of Trim Castle got booked up, Michael stretched the day a bit to get us into the last tour of the day, which completed the tour nicely. I would not hesitate to recommend Michael if you want to get out in the Irish countryside and experience first-hand the country's rich history.

Date of experience: June 2013
1  Thank DMW222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2013

My wife and I made reservations with Michael weeks before our trip to Ireland. I had a few specifics request before I booked our tour. He not only worked my request into the tour he suggested a few more of his own. Now that he had some idea of what we were interested in Michael shared his Bónne Valley with us. His love of the Bónne where he was raised is obvious. The next time we are in Ireland we will be booking another tour with him. Michael, thank you again for such a special day!
- Rob & Jane

Date of experience: June 2013
Thank RJCurry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 15, 2013

Touring the Boyne Valley with Michael Fox was the highlight of our recent trip to Ireland. The personalized itinerary gave us great flexibility to visit only those sites we wanted to see. And, having Michael take care of the driving & logistics only enhanced our enjoyment of the tour. Our day was filled with beautiful scenery & historical wonders, plus added points of interest that only a guide like Michael could offer. His extensive knowledge & enthusiasm for the area & it's rich culture made this a magical experience!

Date of experience: April 2013
Thank Jane L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 1, 2013

I found Michael Fox surfing trip Advisor looking for day tours to Bru Na Boinne (newgrange). It was nice to communicate online in advance and be able to use PayPal to make a reservation. After 2 weeks with a large group, it was nice to spend a day alone. Michael has a mild demeanor and doesn't drown you with incessant knowledge, but present appropriate local informaiton for the Boyne valley. We really appreciated the human aspect of history, plus we got to meet his famous daughter on the Hill of Tara. .

We mostly appreciate the ability to customize our tour, which he readily accomodated. We really loved Drogheda, but saw a number of sites that day. He took us where we planned and then some. His longtime residence in the area helped direct us to the perfect lunch spot. We really enjoyed it.

Date of experience: March 2013
Thank Llm K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews