We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Review Highlights
Boyne Valley Tour

During our Ireland trip we took the Boyne Valley Tour with Michael Fox. His knowledge of the... read more

Reviewed May 17, 2020
108coryc
via mobile
Excellent

Michael is a wonderful, knowledgeable guide, who goes far beyond the call of duty to make sure that... read more

Reviewed January 17, 2020
aa1976
,
Madrid, España
Read all 103 reviews
  
Recommended experiences in and around Dublin
from $53.80
More Info
from $76.47
More Info
from $41.85
More Info
Reviews (103)
Filter reviews
103 results
Traveler rating
103
0
0
0
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveler rating
103
0
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews boyne valley michael fox ancient sites highly recommend this tour his knowledge knowledgeable guide great trip newgrange tara dowth ireland narrative
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
98 - 103 of 103 reviews
Reviewed January 10, 2013

Our day with Michael was the highlight of our two week stay in Ireland last fall. His knowledge of the Celtic past made it all come alive. All four of us wished that we could take him with us through the rest of Ireland. On our "do again" list.
Georgia Engwall
Atlanta

Date of experience: September 2012
1  Thank Georgia E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 10, 2013

It was a wonderfull day with Michael Fox visiting the most places of the Boyne Valley. In fact I knew the most but the good thing was that we could discuss and tell each other a lot of details and exchange a lot informations meeting very special personalities of the Boyne Valley. I appriciate the kind way and very professional handling from Michael. If you want to learn more about Boyne Valley its history (herstory) mythology and astronomy, so choose this occasion.

Date of experience: January 2013
Thank marijos46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2013

We planned a trip with Michael Fox to visit the Boyne Valley sites stimulated by previous trip advisor reviews. The weather during our tour was nothing less than awful due to torrential downpours. Despite this adversity, Michael was an outstanding tour guide with a deep knowledge of the area and its history. Visiting Newgrange, Monasterboise, and Fourknocks with him was deeply rewarding. During our trip, Michael invited us into his home and also had lunch with us in a local restaurant. His warmth and excitement about the history and archeology of the area made for wonderful conversation. All of this eased the dreariness of the weather. I would have no reservation about recommending this tour. If I were to return to Ireland, I would consider doing the tour with him again. Harold and Natalie

Date of experience: September 2012
1  Thank hbeen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2013

My husband and I traveled in Ireland for three weeks, and saw quite a bit of the country. But the highlight of our trip was our tour of Newgrange, Knowth, Dowth, Fourknocks and Tara with Michael Fox of 'Day Tours out of Dublin.'

From the moment we met Michael just outside our hotel in Dublin, we were wisked away onto a magical adventure into Irish history. Michael was extremely knowledgable, and tailored the day tour around our interests, the options available in winter, and the amount of daylight available. He knew the ins and outs of each location, made sure we were in the right line at Newgrange, and that we saw the triple spiral once we were inside (on our own, we would have surely overlooked it!) He took us all through Tara and gave us a very historically accurate account of the known history of the place. At another site, he taught us all about 'high crosses' and knew what all of the carvings represented.

One of the highlights of a fabulous day was our visit to Dowth - open one day a year, and happily on the day we were touring! We never would have known that it was open that day, but Michael made sure we were all there in plenty of time to get inside and to see all of the incredible carvings inside. And as for visiting Fourknocks after dark, by flashlight... fantastic!

There really isn't enough space here to adequately describe all that I learned that day... highly, highly recommended. If you have only one day to explore the Irish countryside near Dublin, take a day tour with Michael Fox. It will be a day you'll never forget.

Date of experience: December 2012
1  Thank m_ireq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 18, 2012

When we were planning our trip to Ireland we were concerned about doing the driving ourselves but we did not like the idea of a large group tour and the restrictions that came with a package. We did some research and found Michael through Trip Advisor. Through email exchanges we were able to create a customized tour that was perfect for our family! We visited the beautiful Wicklow mountains and the ancient monastic settlement in Glendalough. All along the way, Michael enriched our visit by sharing his knowledge of the geography and history of the area. Michael made our trip so easy with a pick up and drop off from our Dublin hotel. His limousine was immaculate and comfortable for our family. Michael was so flexible in customizing the day for our particular interests and needs. He added his own experiences and knowledge to make our visit so much more special than anything we would have planned on our own. And I still have the piece of Wicklow quartz he showed us how to find. I highly recommend Micheal's customized day tours!

Date of experience: September 2012
1  Thank EandEinVancouver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews