We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“love this place” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ha'Penny Bridge Inn

Ha'Penny Bridge Inn
Ranked #351 of 2,529 Restaurants in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $11
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Family Run Traditional Irish Pub in the Heart of Dublin's Bustling Pub Quarter, Temple Bar. Come in for a warm welcome and the perfect pint of Guinness.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
167 reviews
91 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
“love this place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 12, 2013

this is one of the few traditional pubs left in the city. there is nothing pretentious about either the staff or the customers.

It's nicely located just off Temple Bar so doesn't get the stags and hens that invade Dublin every weekend.

Mick runs a tight ship and doesn't tolerate any messing from drunks. It's more of a *locals* pub which is unusual in city centre and many of these locals having been drinking here for years.

always seats available and banter from the staff. Highly recommend it.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank katy-lied
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

194 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    109
    64
    8
    3
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sheffield
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“The best of Ireland”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 2, 2013

Lone female on busineSS. QUITE OFTEN Feel awkward. Not here, never tasted Guinness before and had three glasses. Felt comfortable and safe and felt like this was real Dublin. Is mick the bar manager? If he is going job you are doing. As we would say in uk this is the dogs bollocks!!!0

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Christine I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
52 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Irish pub with Irish Music”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 18, 2013

Was in Dublin with a big group and i was bored of the generic posh bars so me and a mate left to wonder the river our explorations led us to near this pub and the Music Guided us in was the best place in town to drink and stamp your feet

  • Visited November 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank pupskin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roanoke, Virginia
Level Contributor
64 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Great Irish pub, great entertainment and food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 17, 2013

A group of us traveling on business in Dublin were looking for an authentic, non-touristy Irish pub. Don't know what it was, but something just drew us to the Ha'Penny Inn. I'm sure glad it did. This place is great. In fact, great hardly describes it. The pub is well-stocked and drinks are reasonably priced. The food is much better than you'd expect and, the two nights we were there, the entertainment was as good as anything you'd find in some of the top clubs in the US.
But what made Ha'Penny special to us was the owner, Mick Ryan, and his son Sean, who tends bar along with crusty but fun Ray O'Brien. They really embraced us and made us feel welcome, and ribbed us pretty good, too. Mick has such a quick wit that he zings guests with some hilarious phrases and bits of wit and wisdom. He also likes to take care of his customers. We were there on a Sunday, and he switched the TV channel to an NFL game for us. Nice touch, although we had to weather a barrage of insults about "american football." Also, this place is definitely R-rated. The F-word flies quickly and freely here, which just adds to the atmosphere of the place. There are also a varied assortment of "regulars" who seemed to enjoy our company and much as we enjoyed theirs. The pub is small, maybe holding 30 people, but there is a lounge upstairs that holds about 30-40 more. It was there that we were treated to the talents of musicians Kevin Reynolds, Pat Martin and Ben Prevo. They were fantastic and played everything from traditional Irish tunes to some modern folk songs. The next night, Billy Treacy performed in the pub. If this guy gets a break, he'll become rich and famous in no time. He also unleashed some great traditional songs, that had the whole bar singing, and some modern stuff, including Bob Dylan's Wagon Wheel. If you see any of these musicians on the signboard out front, do yourself a favor and go in.
The pub sits just on the edge of the Temple Bar area and there are several hotels, shops and restaurants around it. But there is no reason to leave. We were in Dublin two days and spent the majority of our time here. I hope to make it back soon.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Chris M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edina, Minnesota
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Happy bartender/great comedy club”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2013

An Irish bartender with the gift of gab and a hole-in-the-wall comedy club upstairs! Don't expect high end drinks...or backs on the stools in the little comedy area, but 4 out of 5 comics that night were worth more than the 5 euros we paid.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Joan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ha'Penny Bridge Inn also viewed

Dublin, County Dublin
 
Dublin, County Dublin
Dublin, County Dublin
 

Been to Ha'Penny Bridge Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing