We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice oasis in the middle of a desolate dining area....”
Review of Wuff

Wuff
Ranked #73 of 2,558 Restaurants in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Families with children, Romantic, Special occasions, Local cuisine
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Knoxville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
732 reviews
505 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 257 helpful votes
“Nice oasis in the middle of a desolate dining area....”
Reviewed September 20, 2013

We got off the "HOHO" bus at the Fourcourts area around lunchtime, thinking we would eat lunch before visiting the museum. The problem is where? We walked about 5 blocks toward town....nothing....then moved one block away from the river, and came upon Wuff.

It was jammed...obviously the only good place around....but it was surprisingly good. We both had the steak sandwich on ciabatta bread with gruyere cheese and a pickled relish with great thick cut chips. Really good sandwich, and a great choice for lunch in the Jameson Brewery or National Museum areas north of the river.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Gatorgolfer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

500 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    255
    161
    38
    24
    22
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
40 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Tasty, friendly and off the beaten track”
Reviewed September 20, 2013 via mobile

After driving past this place one day in a taxi, I resolved to come back and check it out. I knew it was somewhere between Smithfield and Stoneybatter so I had a pint in the Dice Bar and asked the barman. This is what I said, 'I'm looking for a restaurant on a corner, big glass window, post modern, post ironic, monosyllabic name?'
'Wuff' he said.
'Excuse me?'
'Its called Wuff' he replied, 'it's across the road to the left, on the next corner.'
'Ah', I said and thanked him.
So I made my way down there. It was just after 7pm so it wasn't busy and a friendly young man sat me at a table by the door with my back to the window and the Luas tracks outside the front door. I don't know the connection but there's a Wuff on Benburb St in Dublin, California.
And so to the food and wine. I ordered a tasty Ribera del Duero, 100% Tempranillo which, at €29, was little pricey. But let's not quibble. I ordered the pan fried asparagus with truffle infused poached egg and hollandaise sauce. The asparagus was cooked al dente to crunchy perfection and the poached egg exploded with a saffron colored yoke at the merest touch of my fork. The sauce was lamentably bland and the 'truffle infusion' completely undetectable.
For a main, I opted for the special, a fillet of hake on a bed of oven roasted Meditterranean vegetables. The hake was substantial and meaty and cooked well although it may have sat on a salamander or under lights for a moment too long.
I rounded off my meal with a substantial cheese board and the obliging waiter stuck to my request for blue and hard cheeses, nothing creamy. I was delighted.
It all came to €64, which might sound extravagant for one but those were my choices. As I finished, Huff was filling up. It's a lovely space, staffed by pleasant and pleasing people. I'll be back.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Hannibaltheh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
96 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Great addition to the neighbourhood & lovely brunch”
Reviewed September 20, 2013

Thus far I've only had brunch there - but 5 or 6 times. Great menu; good service; lovely food & a very new york in Dublin vibe to the space. Great addition to the neighbourhood and reasonably priced for good quality ingredients - with a choice of traditional (frys; scrambled eggs etc) and edgier (truffle infused eggs); really nice breads & lovely sausages. Only suggestion would be for larger tea pots as even the pots of tea for 2 are quite small.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank islandfielder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
47 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Avocodo salad with no avocado but still charged ! Rough not wuff”
Reviewed September 19, 2013 via mobile

Took a business colleague here to lunch he ordered fish and chips and the chips out weighed the fish by 5:1 but he seemed to enjoy it. I ordered an avocado salad with sliced steak - four slices to b exact with three quartered cherry tomatoes some dressed salad leaves and as I ate it I realised the only other ingredient was sliced onion - no avocado! The server came to take the plates and as it was a business colleague I mentioned that there was no avocado on the avocado salad - the server went into a long explanation of how she would charge me for this rather than an apology and offer of not charging ! Impossible to discuss on a business luncheon occasion - trouble is I won't b going back - not good service, food not great. What a pity as I love to support eating places on the Northside of Dublin - wont b back .

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank grainnehealy2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
138 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
“Nice spot a little off the beaten track”
Reviewed August 18, 2013

Came across this eatery when out walking. On the Luas line, quite near the four courts and Smithfield.

Nice atmosphere, enjoyed the breakfast, good service and banter.

Papers were also available to browse.

Not the cheapest but will definitely be back.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank IT-nerd-on-the-road
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Wuff also viewed

 
Dublin, County Dublin
Dublin, County Dublin
 

Been to Wuff? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing