We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food - squeezed into tables as it was packed!”
Review of Salamanca

Salamanca
Ranked #184 of 2,616 Restaurants in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Spanish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: The other Salamanca is on Parliament street. Also, you have 3 listings for the Parliament St - they should be combined.
Dublin, Ireland
Level 6 Contributor
80 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
“Good food - squeezed into tables as it was packed!”
Reviewed June 11, 2013

Was there last Friday night (7th June) and it was 'heaving' at 8,30pm at night which was a great sign but it was really overcrowded we thought. We were seated at the back. We ordered wine. beer, and lots of tapas. Cannot fault the food, its scrummy. Lots of choices etc and we were stuffed. Little on the expensive side but well worth it. They do special deals of €20 and €30 during the week too. I love this place and will keep going back for the yummy food!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank poppie1967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,119 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    408
    412
    158
    76
    65
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“A one time favourite of mine - sadly has gone downhill in recent times.”
Reviewed June 11, 2013

I recently dined at Salamanca with some friends and while having had an enjoyable time with them was unimpressed with the restaurant overall.
The service was fine, our waiter was nice and friendly and he didn't rush us with clearing of plates or pushing the bill on us which was nice.
My main area of disappointment was with regard to the quality of the food. I have dined in Salamanca many times in the last couple of years and having started off on a high I've found that it has deteriorated significantly in the last 12-18 months.
The food is ok, but just ok. There is nothing exciting or overly tasty any more. The platter of Iberian ham is totally overpriced and is rather boring. Iberian ham can be fantastic and so tasty but what Salamanca is offering these days is quite fatty, not the best quality and is over priced.
To be fair to the manager, this was taken on board when I queried it with him and there were no bad feelings (I think!) about my questioning the price of it.
Overall, I wouldn't return. There are other tapas restaurants in Dublin that are doing the same food at a better quality and taste for at least the same price if not slightly lower.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ursula R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
restauranteur2012, General Manager at Salamanca, responded to this review, June 12, 2013
Hi there.
We absolutely appreciate your feed back on your visit to our restaurant and there were absolutely no hard feelings at all. We took the feed back regarding the ham very seriously and were in immediate touch with our supplier in Spain and the problem has been since rectified. We put quite a lot of effort into our dishes and cooking and would really like you to try us again if you could.
Apologies again that you did not enjoy the meal and sincerely hope you find it better next time. ( no pressure of Course). The Salamanca Team!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterford, Ireland
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Nice casual lunch”
Reviewed May 29, 2013

I had lunch while on business in Dublin. It was quiet, nice, cheap and the food was lovely. Excellent service.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DanaFleseru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aldershot
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Spanish”
Reviewed May 29, 2013

Two of us had lunch here 27th May, on our visits to family we try to visit this restaurant at least once and have never been disappointed, remember it is a TAPAS bar/restaurant. we selected 6 items and found that it was more then enough, all were of good quality . We regularly eat in the Barcelona area and find the Salamanca is equal to any we use there. To us it has a good plus that is its selection of Torres wine.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CGHAldershot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galway, Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Expensive reheated food”
Reviewed May 23, 2013

Very poor quality food for the prices. We were a group of four hungry men and one of our party recommended the restaurant.

To his and our surprise the first set of tapas came and were cold ( Catalan bread, Patatas Bravas). It didn't get much better with the rest meat dishes having that Microwaves look , feel and taste about them. At close to 10 euro per tapa it's not cheap. The wine was OK but an obscene markup.

Staff were good and friendly but v once time to close came there weren't shy in getting us to vacate ..... despite a bill of almost 50 e per person.
There must be better options in the area.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Foodie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Salamanca also viewed

Dublin, County Dublin
Dublin, County Dublin
 
Dublin, County Dublin
Dublin, County Dublin
 
Dublin, County Dublin
 

Been to Salamanca? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing