We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“rubbish”

Waterways Ireland Visitor Centre
Ranked #252 of 546 things to do in Dublin
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Waterways Ireland owns a multipurpose space in the Dublin Docklands, which operates as a Visitor Centre, and Events Space. Applicants may wish to consider using the venue for exhibitions, displays, launches or press calls.
Reviewed December 18, 2012

where are all the boats, why weren't boats who tried to get access denied. This is a terrible waste of tax payers money. There was no one in attendance at the information office, just a phone number on the door and when i made a long distance call to it was told it was closed. This was no my first visit. I went earlier in the year also and had the same terrible experience.

Thank sandraorourkeglynn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WaterwaysIre, Communications Officer at Waterways Ireland Visitor Centre, responded to this reviewResponded July 11, 2014

The Grand Canal is closed from 31st November - 17th March for maintenance, so no boats would have been moored at the centre during your visit on 18th December. The Visitor Centre operates Wed-Sun in high season in response to demand from the majority of visitors both from the water and from the city. We do not have the resources to keep it open all year.

I am sorry you were disappointed in your attempts to visit. New tours have been put in place for this season, and if you have the opportunity we would be delighted to welcome you along. Please do contact us in advance 01 6777510 if you would like to verify our opening hours.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (20)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

13 - 17 of 20 reviews

Reviewed July 26, 2012

Sounded good, but 4 euro each for nothing but a map and a few childrens toys and a screen in one room. The girl on the desk had a attitude problem. Dont bother going

1  Thank Sally B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 8, 2012

An interpretive centre on the Grand canal. It's a Box as described and only worth a visit if you can combine it with a visit to the Aviva Stadium or something else. No Parking and public transport is scarce.

Thank mickptre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2010

I can't believe no one else has written about this. This centre in the revitalized dockland area is newly opened and I found it fascinating. I had no idea that Ireland had so many canals. While the exhibit seems to be geared more towards children or school groups than to tourists, it is worth a short visit if you have any interest in canals. The map that shows all the canals and waterways is illuminating. The quiz show on the waterways is fun. There are several panels to read about old and new uses of the waterways.

Thank whirledgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Stavanger Norway
11
Reviewed July 14, 2003

My family spent one week in a canal boat at The Grand Canal. That was very nice. Afterwards we went to Dublin for the weekend, and Saturday 14th, at about one o'clock, we found our way to The Waterways Museum.
That was a very dissapointing expirience to us all. Even if it was in the middle of the opening hours, the musem was closed. The reason we were given through the entance door was that some boys were swimming and diving inside the museum. I certainly hope that the boys had a good time, but is this the normal way to threat visitors at this museum?

1  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Waterways Ireland Visitor Centre also viewed

 
Dublin, County Dublin
Dublin, County Dublin
 

Been to Waterways Ireland Visitor Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing