We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food and service”
Review of Swai Malaysian Restaurant - CLOSED

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Swai Malaysian Restaurant
Cuisines: Malaysian
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
dublin
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Good food and service”
Reviewed June 5, 2013

The price of lunch buffet is so cheap for IFSC area. Makes me think there is no way to ask more. If you do want to get more what in the buffet, there is another restaurant close to O'connell street/bridge which you can have more choices.

We also love to have dinner there. We choose to have starter and main menu and no desserts. Good service too.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank sketsahati
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

24 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    9
    8
    6
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Good Malaysian”
Reviewed May 30, 2013

Went to this restaurant while staying in Dublin. Never had Malaysian before so was trying something new and really enjoyed it had the beef rendang curry and sitting looking out over the river was very enjoyable. a bit quieter location in the outskirts of the centre near the O2.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Robert D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterford, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“great evening out”
Reviewed April 8, 2013

Very impressed with this restaurant.A good menu with declicious food. Staff were friendly and very courteous.Location is very handy, near the o2 and the Custom House.It's really nice to eat looking out at the river. Went for a drink on the Killarney boat just up the river which was also very enjoyable. Will definitely return.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mary B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Just Fabulous!”
Reviewed April 8, 2013

I spent Saturday evening, with my husband and 2 year old daughter, having the most fabulous dinner at Swai. The food was exceptional, full of flavour and truly authentic. The Rendang tasted just like the one I had in Kuala Lumpur 6 years ago, and until Saturday night it had never been matched. The waiting staff were so friendly, and particularly attentive to our little girl, providing her with as many prawn crackers as she could devour (and she has quite the appetite). It was such a shame that there were so few customers enjoying the food, hospitality and the great view of the River and Jeanie Johnston tall ship. I strongly recommend this restaurant to visitors of the city.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Deryn M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peel, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Stunning food - some of the best i've ever eaten”
Reviewed February 11, 2013

I only went to this restaurant, as I was staying across the road. I've never be to a Malaysian restaurant before, but thought I'd give it a try. The food was excellent, and the service was good, with friendly staff, and apparently a new more authentic menu. The flavour in the food were delicate, and very well worthy of a more expensive restaurant. The location on the river running through Dublin is also excellent - can't wait to get back to Dublin to go again!

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Dave G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Swai Malaysian Restaurant also viewed

Dublin, County Dublin
Dublin, County Dublin
 
Dublin, County Dublin
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing