We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Tasty but Busy!”
Review of Food Game

Food Game
Ranked #924 of 2,558 Restaurants in Dublin
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Brunch, Lunch, Seating, Waitstaff
Description: This is a small deli/shop that does brunch.
South Bend, Indiana
Level Contributor
258 reviews
181 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
“Tasty but Busy!”
Reviewed February 15, 2013

Food Game is a fun little place in Beggars Bush. It's super small and has a quick turnover. It's a great place for lunch - they just do three things - soup, salad, and a sandwich. I'd recommend going early (maybe noon?) and get out of there by 1, when it gets nuts!

They often do little freebies. For instance, on Valentine's Day, they had free coffee all day! These sorts of promotions make you feel like they're really committed to developing a loyal clientele, which I think they have.

They do a nice brunch too. I can't wait to go and try dinner!

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ecojojo81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

50 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    30
    13
    3
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dublin
Level Contributor
76 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“A hidden gem”
Reviewed February 14, 2013

I love this place- it has the nicest vibe of any cafe in the D2/D4/D6 area. I could happily sit here for hours reading the papers and watching the world go by! The coffee here is excellent which helps, and they have a daily fresh juice which is a great start to the day too.

Food is so fresh and generally has a twist on the norm - the best scrambled eggs i have ever had anywhere in the world- made with cream apparently :)

They are only open for breakfast and lunch these days, but did a dinner stint before xmas. Food was amazing and it's the ideal dinner setting so i hope they start dinner service again soon!

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank WonkaBilly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dublin
Level Contributor
116 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“had 2 nice breakfasts here”
Reviewed February 6, 2013

This is the sort of local cafe I really like ,staffed by people who have a real interest in the food on offer and their customers.We had breakfast on 2 cold winter mornings ,we had porridge with stewed pear and honey also juice of the day which was orange, beetroot and ginger followed by a couple of excellent coffees .All of the food is prepared fresh on site,this is a cool place.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jackmc54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
50 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Tasty brekkie”
Reviewed January 27, 2013 via mobile

Friendly staff and eclectic interior. Usually a twist on the basics which makes it interesting. A BLT ciabatta has a tangy sauce instead of mayo. V kid friendly and newspapers cook books to look through. Had dinner there before Xmas. But not starting dinner again until later in the year. So it's bruch til then.... Check it out

Helpful?
Thank john h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Nothing for lunch!”
Reviewed December 12, 2012

Went here today at 1.45 pm - they advertise lunch seved til 4pm. Soup all gone, only 1 sandwich type available -chorizo and Brie ( not everyone's cup of tea) and one salad - quinoa with kale and pomegranate. Had soup and salad there last week, soup was nice but the quinoa, aubergine salad was tasteless , needed dressing or herbs. Wouldn't rate this place for lunch as it is too limited - one type of sandwich, One salad and one soup ( if there is any left). Also no loose leaf tea -only tea bags which is a personal gripe with me.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank PaulaFromDublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Food Game also viewed

Dublin, County Dublin
Dublin, County Dublin
 
Dublin, County Dublin
Dublin, County Dublin
 

Been to Food Game? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing