We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gorgeous - Worth every penny”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Dawson Hotel & Spa
Ranked #108 of 151 Hotels in Dublin
Reviewed July 14, 2009

I enjoyed it so much given it was the city centre and in a very comfortable area. Staff were great and the rooms suberb

  • Stayed: April 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JMML18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (741)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

636 - 642 of 741 reviews

Reviewed June 2, 2009

I booked this hotel based on a friend's recommendation but after reading tripadvisor reviews for this hotel, I was unsure if I had made a wise choice. After our arrival, I knew my friends recommendation was perfect. It is true, you must walk through a bar to get to the elevator. It might be extremely difficult on a Friday or Saturday night but otherwise, it was never a problem. The hotel did have someone to assist with our luggage so distance to the elevator wasn't an issue. We ate most dinners in the bar enjoying the staff as much as we did the food. The hotel is a lovely botique hotel with a great location for both walking and catching buses. We stayed on the third floor in a room at the back of the hotel and were never bothered by any noise. Though I would not rate it a five star, the service was certainly five star and the hotel met or exceeded all our expectations.

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Regamasa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 27, 2009

Wow - great service, amazing room, the best cooked breakfast i've ever had, and all in the City centre.

Only complaint was limited choice of hot breakfast - full irish or scrambled eggs & salmon

Would highly recommend as an alternative to yet another chain.

Free wifi and tea/coffee for residents too

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank chappers1uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 4, 2009

I stayed in La Stampa recently and found it a very different hotel but different in a good way. Its not like the corporate hotels where you could be anywhere in the world. The rooms were old style but very comfortable and for a city centre hotel was very friendly and the staff made you feel welcome like you were visiting an old friend. They have plenty of choice of food as well. The location is very central and within walking distance of all the attractions of Dublin - the only downside is lack of parking in the vacinity

  • Stayed: February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BigBen42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 10, 2009

I stayed with a friend 3 nights at the La Stampa Hotel. This was a very good experience, since we are looking always for some more particuliar hotels, we were here at the right place. The entrance of the hotel is amazing, when you check in, you see the impressive long bar. I never checked in at a hotel while listining to music of Nirvana, so much better than the regular "elevator" music. The employees of the hotel where very friendly, the breakfast was good. And for sure I can recommand the "Spa" part of the hotel. You're downtown of the centre of Dublin. We had a very good stay and I will definitely return when I go back to Dublin.

  • Stayed: January 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank DonatellaItaly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 22, 2008

After reading various reviews I was expecting a loud cramped city centre hotel and found unusual bedroom, great service and didn't hear a thing all night. Only fault I could find was no tea or coffee making facilities but when I mentioned to receptionist following morning she explained that some rooms do have and they would provide complimentary if requested and manager offered his apologies. Great bar, Samsara, downstairs, lovely staff. Perfect location for shopping, nightlife, very central. Staff efficient and helpful, Would stay again. If you want something a bit different than your standard square room with a bit of atmosphere stay here.

  • Stayed: December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WicklowOptimist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 20, 2008

The location of La Stampa is great. The room we stayed in was also very nice. We had the morrocan themed suite and it is quirky with a feeling quite different from many standardised hotels. However, with quirky comes varying quality. The shower didn't really work well, the reception was only average and worst of all, the breakfasts were terrible. Added to that our room was very close to the bar, which kept us awake.

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Hesmo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dublin hotels
Buswells Hotel
#24 of 151 in Dublin
1,541 reviews
Brooks Hotel
#11 of 151 in Dublin
2,387 reviews
The Dean
#73 of 151 in Dublin
846 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Temple Bar
The Fleet Street Hotel
The Fleet Street Hotel
#60 of 151 in Dublin
1,205 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Dawson Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Dawson Hotel & Spa

Address: 35 Dawson Street, Dublin 2, Ireland (Formerly La Stampa Hotel)
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa
Hotel Style:
#7 Spa Hotel in Dublin
#50 Luxury Hotel in Dublin
Price Range: $116 - $318 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Dawson Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Dawson Hotel and award winning Dawson Spa are ideally located on Dawson Street in the heart of Dublin's city centre, with Trinity College at one end of the street and St. Stephen's Green at the other. Dublin's main shopping district, Grafton Street, is a short stroll around the corner from the hotel. Temple Bar is only 10 minutes’ walk away, while Dublin Castle and the Olympia Theatre are a 15 minute walk. With an elegant decor, each room includes a private bathroom with toiletries. All rooms contain an LCD TV with cable TV channels, complimentary water and free Wi-Fi access. The Dawson Spa, located to the rear of the building, features “Voya” organic seaweed beauty products made in Ireland. Also onsite, the adjoining Sam's Bar offers a glamorous vibe, fresh cocktails and music from international DJs, with a Victorian garden terrace overlooking Dublin's Mansion House. While we do not have parking onsite, we have an agreement with Setanta Q-Park, located on Molesworth Street, where our guests can benefit from discounted parking with up to 50% off per 24 hour period. Should you wish to exercise or use saunas, we also offer our guests complementary day passes to Energie Fitness Gym & Swimming Pool on Clarendon Street. Please note, the Hotel is not recommended for those with mobility issues, in particular those who require wheelchair access. In addition, the hotel does not have any adapted wheelchair accessible rooms. Please be aware that rooms listed as Vibrant Weekend rooms are those located directly above Sam’s Bar, and music will be heard until around 02:30 on a Thursday, and 03.30 on Fridays and Saturdays. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda, Hotwire, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Dawson Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Stampa Hotel Dublin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing