We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“We so enjoyed our stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Dawson Hotel & Spa
Ranked #107 of 153 Hotels in Dublin
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
“We so enjoyed our stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 11, 2013

We were attending the British Amabassador Summer Garden Party and wanted somewhere nice to stay in Dublin. We could not have picked a more central location. We were very kindly bumped up to a Junior Suite which was amazing. My wife was able to stroll around Grafton St in the afternoon before we headed on the Luas (2 min walk) to our function. The breakfast was great, the staff were very attentive and I would recommend this hotel to anyone looking for a small boutique hotel in the city centre.

Room Tip: If you can take a Junior Suite, I would recommend it. It was so spacious and really made a differenc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Niall C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lastampa, Manager at The Dawson Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, September 13, 2013
Dear Niall,

Thank you so much for taking the time to post your review.
I have already shared your comments with all my colleagues here at La Stampa and we are glad to read that you have enjoyed yourstay with us and you were happy with our hotel and its location.
We’d also like to thank you for your kind words about our staff.
We look forward to welcoming you to La Stampa again soon.

Best Regards
Daniel Fodor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

681 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    167
    208
    144
    82
    80
See reviews for
47
339
31
97
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (130)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 5, 2013

My partner & I have stayed in this hotel 3 times so far in the past 12 months. It's a nice little boutique hotel. It has a quaint feeling about it. There's a nice restaurant & bar located there too. The winner for me was the spa, as when I'm busy with work, my partner tends to get massages and relax. The service overall is quite good, I think they concierge knows my partner well enough to see by now. I find that some of the rooms are quite small, but for one or two nights stay, it's fine. It does require an update though. They have a unique feel to them. We had a power cut the last time we were there, apparently Dublin City Council cut the wrong line outside. We were stuck in the hotel for 3 hours as a result because we could not leave our room without being locked out until the power returned and we had to check-out so we could catch a flight. It was a minor hiccup that management were more than glad to compensate for us. The customer service level is great, it is quite personal if you state that there is an issue. The room service is excellent. I will always return to this boutique when staying for one or two nights.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrew G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lastampa, Manager at The Dawson Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, September 7, 2013
Dear Andrew,
Thank you for taking the time to write your review on La Stampa.
We are delighted to know that you loved our hotel and décor and, overall, have enjoyed your time here at La Stampa despite the unfortunate power cut that has occurred at the end of May this year.
Thank you again for your valuable feedback and for your kind words about our restaurants and spa. Indeed we do take all comments on board good or bad and will always use every opportunity to rectify any misgivings where possible.
We do hope that you will give us a second chance and look forward welcoming you to the hotel again.

Best Regards
Daniel Fodor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2013 via mobile

I had a super weekend at La Stampa,beautiful hotel in the best location,extra comfy beds and pillows,very helpful staff,especially Julian! I was treated liked a queen:))Looking forward to next time La Stampa!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gracegallag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lastampa, Manager at The Dawson Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, September 7, 2013
Dear gracegallag
Thank you for taking your time to post the review.
We are delighted to read that you had a super weekend while staying at La Stampa and enjoyed your stay with us.
I also want to thank you for your kind words about our hotel, rooms and our staff. I will make sure to extend your gratitude on to the whole team, especially Julian.
We look forward to welcome you back to our hotel for another great experience.

Best regards,
Daniel Fodor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wicklow, Ireland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013

Lovely hotel, very nice staff. Our room was big considering its in the middle of Dublin. The hotel is much bigger then I thought. Our room was very fancy. Its in a great central location & we'd definitely like to stay there again. The bar was very fancy & trendy.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SharonJenkins10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lastampa, Manager at The Dawson Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, September 13, 2013
Dear SharonJenkins10

Thank you for taking your time and effort in sharing your experience at La Stampa.
We are delighted to hear you had a very nice stay with us and thank you for your kind words about our hotel and staff.
We are also happy to read that you loved our rooms and bar and our location.
We hope to have the pleasure to welcome you back to our hotel for another great experience.

Best Regards
Daniel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Severna Park, Maryland
Level Contributor
23 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2013

A couple of steps above camping out. ------worn out and worn down. However, the staff is extraordinarily accommodating and gracious and almost turn the facility around by sheer individual effort. Close to shopping and St. Stevens Green as well as tour departure locations.

Room Tip: Good location/not such a good facility. Nightclub on the ground floor is very noisy Thursday and Fr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Norman S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lastampa, Manager at The Dawson Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, August 29, 2013
Dear Norman S

Thank you for taking your time to post your review. In particular, I'd like to thank for your wonderful comments about our staff, I will be sure to extend your gratitude on to the whole team.
Overall, I’m sorry to hear that your experience in our hotel was not entirely satisfactory. I would like to assure you that we take all feedback seriously, and sincerely regret that we did not meet your expectations on this occasion.
For this I unreservedly apologize for our shortcomings.
Regarding your particular comments about the hotel I’d like to assure you that we are working hard to address all the updating issues.

We thank you again for your kind and helpful observations and we are truly sorry you could not fully enjoy your stay with us.
We do hope that you will give us a second chance and look forward welcoming you to the hotel again.

Best regards,
Daniel Fodor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saline, Michigan
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2013

La Stampa is located right in the center of almost everything you need. It is just next to Airport Express to Dublin airport. It is just "a stone throw away" from taxi station, horse carriages for sight seeing, LUAS for public transportation, shopping malls, bars/restaurants, and walking street. Hotel staffs are nice and helpful.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gauing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lastampa, Manager at The Dawson Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, August 29, 2013
Dear Gauing,

Thank you so much for taking the time to post your review.
I have already shared your comments with all my colleagues here at La Stampa and we are glad to ready that you were happy with our hotel and its location.
We’d also like to thank you for your kind words about our staff.
We look forward to welcoming you to La Stampa again soon

Best Regards
Daniel Fodor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dublin hotels
Buswells Hotel
#24 of 153 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,398 reviews
Brooks Hotel
#10 of 153 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,223 reviews
South City Centre
Fitzwilliam Hotel Dublin
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Drury Court Hotel
#25 of 153 in Dublin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,386 reviews
The Morgan
#35 of 153 in Dublin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,659 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Dawson Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Dawson Hotel & Spa

Property: The Dawson Hotel & Spa
Address: 35 Dawson Street, Dublin 2, Ireland (Formerly La Stampa Hotel)
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa
Hotel Style:
#7 Spa Hotel in Dublin
#48 Luxury Hotel in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Dawson Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Dawson Hotel and award winning Dawson Spa are ideally located on Dawson Street in the heart of Dublin's city centre, with Trinity College at one end of the street and St. Stephen's Green at the other. Dublin's main shopping district, Grafton Street, is a short stroll around the corner from the hotel. Temple Bar is only 10 minutes’ walk away, while Dublin Castle and the Olympia Theatre are a 15 minute walk. With an elegant decor, each room includes a private bathroom with toiletries. All rooms contain an LCD TV with cable TV channels, complimentary water and free Wi-Fi access. The Dawson Spa, located to the rear of the building, features “Voya” organic seaweed beauty products made in Ireland. Also onsite, the adjoining Sam's Bar offers a glamorous vibe, fresh cocktails and music from international DJs, with a Victorian garden terrace overlooking Dublin's Mansion House. While we do not have parking onsite, we have an agreement with Setanta Q-Park, located on Molesworth Street, where our guests can benefit from discounted parking with up to 50% off per 24 hour period. Should you wish to exercise or use saunas, we also offer our guests complementary day passes to Energie Fitness Gym & Swimming Pool on Clarendon Street. Please note, the Hotel is not recommended for those with mobility issues, in particular those who require wheelchair access. In addition, the hotel does not have any adapted wheelchair accessible rooms. Please be aware that rooms listed as Vibrant Weekend rooms are those located directly above Sam’s Bar, and music will be heard until around 02:30 on a Thursday, and 03.30 on Fridays and Saturdays. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Dawson Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Stampa Hotel Dublin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing