We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best location possible” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Dawson Hotel & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Dawson Hotel & Spa
Ranked #111 of 153 Hotels in Dublin
Corpus Christi
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Best location possible”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2013

It would be impossible to find a better location in Dublin. We were within walking distance of anywhere we wanted to go, including a stop on the double-decker bus tour that would take us anywhere else!

The staff was very friendly. The rooms were nicely decorated but nothing special. My in-laws were across the hall and said they could hear music late into the night from the bar next door, but my husband and I slept like bricks for each of the 3 nights we were at La Stampa.

If you are looking for a great location, this is it.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SarahMCorpusChristi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

667 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    162
    205
    140
    81
    79
See reviews for
46
331
31
94
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (126)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
225 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 26, 2013 via mobile

This hotel was booked for me because my usual hotel was full and I was told it "was better" than my usual. I am not sure about that. The walk from reception was through two security doors where I had to enter a number, and through the very long cocktail bar. The room was split-level and very compact, but nice enough. Now for the problems: One side of the bed was awkwardly narrow to get around to; the shower was powerful enough to flail the skin off your back; there was limited TV channels; and for me the biggest issue was the terrible wifi. I was on a working trip and had lots to do in the evenings, but the wifi was difficult to access and would drop out continually - very frustrating and enough to ensure I will never stop here again. Another issue was the awkwardly accessible electric sockets - nowhere to plug a laptop in when sat at the desk.

Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Izvor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level Contributor
95 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2013

All the reviews talk about the route to the rooms through the long languid cool bar - we used the stairs as the reception didn't give us a map to get the room from the lift

This place is in the middle - 2 mins St Stephens Green and 4 mins to Temple Bar, Brown Thomas of course the Shelbourne ++ if you can afford it , Shanahans (you'll need 15 minutes to walk off the 20oz rib)

Back to the hotel!
We got used to the service and liked it but for breakfast we didn't get used to the service and didn't like it at all! Rare toast is not our thing nor is slow anything at breakfast time especially with only two tables to serve - lets just say "quirky" since the organic smoked salmon (did the fish know he was organic?) was of course great but the rest traditional and ordinary.

Acid test - yes we would return!

Room Tip: Check out the small (Junior) suites - big rooms big beds and large bathrooms and over looking Dawson...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Loquax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rehoboth, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 20, 2013

We spent 3 nights here, the room was adequate, somewhat old but always clean. The bar is fantastic, at least in size and selection of beer. Can't beat the location, one block from Grafton street and St Stephan's Green and about 2 blocks from Trinity College. The staff was always friendly and helpful. Our room looked over a rooftop with A/C units etc, the good news was that being on the side of the building it was a very quiet room. We had breakfast in the restaurant once, and it was nothing special.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cyclist7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
82 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 16, 2013

We had very mixed impressions and not sure if we would return there.

Pros:The location is perfect: easy walking distance to all major sights,Temple Bar area and
parks. The rooms are comfortable. The staff is very friendly and welcoming.

Cons: When we arrived, there was no hot water in the rooms and even after this was "fixed", water was only luke warm for our entire 2 night stay.
The worst was that we could hear music and the thumping, vibrating bass from the nightclub downstairs until 2am. We called and front desk is aware of this. This hotel has obviously decided that nightclub patrons are more important than hotel guests.
Breakfast was weird; very sparse buffet. We ordered toast which arrived finally at the end of our breakfast and an omelet which was good but was alone on the plate-no fruit, potatoes or even garnish.
It was as if they had never served breakfast before or were unready to do so.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kathy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 29, 2013

I had a few days in Dublin and stayed at the La Stampa hotel.
I had a mini suite and it was beautiful. The hotel is close to Grafton street so pubs and shops are easily within walking distance (and I hate walking....)
There is also a spa attached to this hotel but I didn't have time to try it but if it's anything like the rest of the hotel it will be 1st class.
Would check back into this hotel again in a heartbeat.

Room Tip: If you can find a deal for a mini suite take it, it's well worth the few extra pounds - although...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank VirginiaScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan, Italy
Level Contributor
91 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2013

This hotel is well located near Stephen's Green, but the pluses end there. To get to your room you have to walk through a large club/bar. No big deal leaving in the morning, but not that much fun after getting back late from work. The rooms themselves are sub par: worn, dirty furniture; small TV with almost no channels; noisy bathroom fan; etc. WiFi in room is advertised, but mine had no signal, which is a big minus while on business. I had to go to the bar to login to my VPN. Breakfast was small and took 45 minutes to arrive.

You can see from my other reviews that I'm not a big complainer. This hotel is truly sub-par. Find somewhere else.

Room Tip: The higher the better. Lots of noise (and smell) from the bar downstairs and street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank OhBabyItsBen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Dublin hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dublin hotels
Brooks Hotel
#10 of 153 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,191 reviews
Buswells Hotel
#23 of 153 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,373 reviews
South City Centre
Fitzwilliam Hotel Dublin
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Drury Court Hotel
#24 of 153 in Dublin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,355 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Dawson Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Dawson Hotel & Spa

Property: The Dawson Hotel & Spa
Address: 35 Dawson Street, Dublin 2, Ireland (Formerly La Stampa Hotel)
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa
Hotel Style:
#7 Spa Hotel in Dublin
#49 Luxury Hotel in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Dawson Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Dawson Hotel and award winning Dawson Spa are ideally located on Dawson Street in the heart of Dublin's city centre, with Trinity College at one end of the street and St. Stephen's Green at the other. Dublin's main shopping district, Grafton Street, is a short stroll around the corner from the hotel. Temple Bar is only 10 minutes’ walk away, while Dublin Castle and the Olympia Theatre are a 15 minute walk. With an elegant decor, each room includes a private bathroom with toiletries. All rooms contain an LCD TV with cable TV channels, complimentary water and free Wi-Fi access. A buffet breakfast service is available each morning, from 07.00 - 10.30 Monday to Friday and 08.00 – 11.00 at the weekends, served with orange juice, tea and coffee at our adjoining tenant The Seafood Bar restaurant (located at the Ground Floor of the Hotel). The Dawson Spa, located to the rear of the building, features “Voya” organic seaweed beauty products made in Ireland. Also onsite, the adjoining Sam's Bar offers a glamorous vibe, fresh cocktails and music from international DJs, with a Victorian garden terrace overlooking Dublin's Mansion House. While we do not have parking onsite, we have an agreement with Setanta Q-Park, located on Molesworth Street, where our guests can benefit from discounted parking with up to 50% off per 24 hour period. Should you wish to exercise or use saunas, we also offer our guests complementary day passes to Energie Fitness Gym & Swimming Pool on Clarendon Street. Please note, the Hotel is not recommended for those with mobility issues, in particular those who require wheelchair access. In addition, the hotel does not have any adapted wheelchair accessible rooms. Please be aware that rooms listed as Vibrant Weekend rooms are those located directly above Sam’s Bar, and music will be heard until around 02:30 on a Thursday, and 03.30 on Fridays and Saturdays. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your The Dawson Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Stampa Hotel Dublin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing