We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location, but a bit dated”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Dawson Hotel & Spa
Ranked #108 of 153 Hotels in Dublin
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great Location, but a bit dated”
Reviewed January 21, 2013

Stayed for 1 night a few months ago. The location is fab - St.Stephen's green is a 2 minute walk away, and Dawson Street is surrounded by great bars and restaurants. The hotel itself is fine. There is a very small reception area where we checked in, and we were then led to the back of the bar and up through a lift. We didnt see or hear any other guests while we were there. The room was a little smaller than i expected for a double and some of the furnishings were a little dated but it was clean and had some nice features. I would stay here again, but it was not the plush hotel experience i was expecting.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank tracy_b4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

678 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    166
    207
    144
    82
    79
See reviews for
47
337
31
96
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (128)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed January 21, 2013

I had a meal in La Stampa Tiger's restaurant on Saturday January 19th 2012.
It was very disappointing. The place looks great, but the service was appalling.
We were rushed through our meal. They even went so far as to serve my meal while I was in the bathroom. It became apparent why they rushed us as a huge crowd arrived for a 21st birthday.

They should learn to look after all customers equally. After all we are all paying regardless of whether we are 2 people or 22 people.

I would not go back there.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ash34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Dublin hotels

Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed January 3, 2013

I stayed at this hotel in June 2012.

The website looks great so I booked into it for 3 nights.

The stairs walking up to the rooms were dirty with sticky carpets, the room was dirty and in need of proper decoration The final straw was mould in the bathroom.

Never bothered with the restuarant as I imagine the kitchens would be similar standard.

I couldnt wait to get out, checked out next day which cost me extra.

It would have been OK at 50 euro per night.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank raz2xa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newbridge, Ireland
Level Contributor
44 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed December 13, 2012

I stayed in one of the better rooms in the hotel located on the top floor with a view on to the Mansion House on Dawson Street from one window and a view of ‘Fire’ from the other. The visuals in the room were stunning with beautiful rococo style bedding. I had a fear prior to staying here that noise might permeate through from the Samsara nightclub downstairs but that was not the case with this particular room; it was a noise-free zone. I too went through the Samsara nightclub route to get to and from the elevator which I took as part of the character of the experience. There was me in my coat, fur hat and sensible walking shoes with my rucksack on my back wandering through late night revellers dancing around in their skimpy party gear – surreal for them :) I drew the line, however, at going back the elevator route in the early hours of the morning while it was still dark being a lone woman traveller and chose to descend the 6 flights of steps instead to get to street level rather than wander the large dimly-lit bar area alone.
I loved the small decor touches in my room, the beautiful brass curtain holders keeping the silk curtains in place, the glass cut handles on the presses, the tasteful sofa and armchairs, the fabulous marble bathroom, even a fruit basket and fresh flowers. On the practical side tea/coffee making facilities and safe were present also. All were appreciated. I found my room immensely comfortable for a home away from home experience up until the moment when I actually wanted to go asleep, which was 50% of my reason for staying. This is the only reason I would not stay here again – I could not sleep because a) the mattress was skimpy and did not support me properly to find a comfortable position and b) the airtight nature of the room had caused the old musty smell of the house to seep deep into the bedding so despite that everything was pristine and clean, sheets starched etc that smell of old house (which it is – rather a grand dame of beautiful Georgian houses) was very much embedded into the pillows, bedcover etc. (I could speculate that this might be something to do with the attic opening into my room and the triple glazed windows.) As the night went on I found it harder to breathe and when eventually, exhausted, I nodded off into slumber I woke shortly afterwards with a very painful cramp which could only be relieved by getting up and walking around for 15 minutes. I gave up on sleep at that point and lay there waiting for 5am to arrive so I could get up. (Needed to give the alcohol time to leave the system before driving which was the other 50% of the reason for checking in.)

Receptionists checking in and out were exceptionally courteous, professional and friendly. Lovely people throughout. I really liked the hotel - just a most unfortunate experience with the bed - a key element of any hotel stay.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank emeralds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Level Contributor
29 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed December 13, 2012

Stayed in La Stampa for one night recently. What a terrific city centre hotel; friendly staff, no rush with check out, excellent food, great bar (its no big deal that you have to walk through it to get to the lifts to the rooms!)...great location...couldn't fault it and we got B&B and early-bird menu for two people for €199, you couldn't ask for more!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DublinAoife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed December 8, 2012

This hotel is not a 4 star the rooms and bathrooms are in bad need of decoration.The over bed clothes and cushions were stained and the furniture was badly chipped and scraped. First of all you have to walk through Samsara bar to get to the lift to get to your room, not to bad during the day but we returned from dinner at 11.45pm and had to flight our way through a very crowded bar to get to the lift. Then we lay awake till the music stopped at 2.30am.We were on the third floor but the music was soooo loud that it was like been right next to the bar. I think we should have been told that the hotel was located over a late bar that blasted out music till this time, if so we would have chosen a different hotel. The the breakfast room is dull. We went for breakfast at 9 there were no croissants there when I asked the waiter he said that they would take 20 mins . They should have them ready for when breakfast starts at 7.30. In all the only thing this hotel has going for it is the location. Defiantly would not recommend or ever stay again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank lfl1976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sitka, Alaska
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed December 7, 2012

La Stampa is a bit quirky but overall it is a decent hotel in a great location and I would stay there again. The staff in particular, and to a person, were wonderful. had payed for airport pickup and there was not a driver to meet me. The hotel reimbursed me for the taxi fare, gave me a significant credit on my bill, and was genuinely apologetic. Rooms and bedding are a bit tired. Water pressure is wonderful although tub is a bit threadbare. We did have to walk through the bar to get to the elevator but this was largely entertaining. The breakfast was very good. I did not look at the spa so cannot comment about that.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VMOC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dublin hotels
Buswells Hotel
#25 of 153 in Dublin
1,395 reviews
Brooks Hotel
#10 of 153 in Dublin
2,220 reviews
South City Centre
Fitzwilliam Hotel Dublin
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Drury Court Hotel
#24 of 153 in Dublin
1,374 reviews
The Morgan
#35 of 153 in Dublin
2,650 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Dawson Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Dawson Hotel & Spa

Property: The Dawson Hotel & Spa
Address: 35 Dawson Street, Dublin 2, Ireland (Formerly La Stampa Hotel)
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa
Hotel Style:
#7 Spa Hotel in Dublin
#48 Luxury Hotel in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Dawson Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Dawson Hotel and award winning Dawson Spa are ideally located on Dawson Street in the heart of Dublin's city centre, with Trinity College at one end of the street and St. Stephen's Green at the other. Dublin's main shopping district, Grafton Street, is a short stroll around the corner from the hotel. Temple Bar is only 10 minutes’ walk away, while Dublin Castle and the Olympia Theatre are a 15 minute walk. With an elegant decor, each room includes a private bathroom with toiletries. All rooms contain an LCD TV with cable TV channels, complimentary water and free Wi-Fi access. The Dawson Spa, located to the rear of the building, features “Voya” organic seaweed beauty products made in Ireland. Also onsite, the adjoining Sam's Bar offers a glamorous vibe, fresh cocktails and music from international DJs, with a Victorian garden terrace overlooking Dublin's Mansion House. While we do not have parking onsite, we have an agreement with Setanta Q-Park, located on Molesworth Street, where our guests can benefit from discounted parking with up to 50% off per 24 hour period. Should you wish to exercise or use saunas, we also offer our guests complementary day passes to Energie Fitness Gym & Swimming Pool on Clarendon Street. Please note, the Hotel is not recommended for those with mobility issues, in particular those who require wheelchair access. In addition, the hotel does not have any adapted wheelchair accessible rooms. Please be aware that rooms listed as Vibrant Weekend rooms are those located directly above Sam’s Bar, and music will be heard until around 02:30 on a Thursday, and 03.30 on Fridays and Saturdays. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Dawson Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Stampa Hotel Dublin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing