We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sam Sara bar- Good night out!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Dawson Hotel & Spa
Ranked #104 of 150 Hotels in Dublin
Reviewed November 19, 2012

The Sam Sara bar on a Thursday night was a really good night out. Had after work drinks there and it was a good spot in Dublin to party. Drinks weren't too expensive, music decent and the crowd was decent too. I would visit this bar again!

Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
Thank Mateen N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (735)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

473 - 479 of 735 reviews

Reviewed November 13, 2012

we stayed on a sunday night and it was at 10pm that we discovered that the bar and lounge was closed we should have been informed at booking time.the rooms are looking the worse for wear. but air con worked well the bathroom was nice.would not stay again as there were two stains on the bed sheet. when we reported same we did get an apology.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank moser1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 7, 2012

Great location and a very chic little boutique type hotel.Close to Trinity College and the Temple Bar area without all the noise.Going through the bar to get to elevators was great,people complained about that but made it unique and if you tipped the bell boy you wouldn't have to worry aobut dragging it along! Great restaurants in area! WOuld def,stay again!

Room Tip: Ask for 3rd floor near the back,we didn't hear any music from the bar as others had complained a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Terry G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 3, 2012

Stayed at la stampa hotel for the weekend with a group of girls in October. First thing I will say is the location is excellent literally 2 minute walk to all the main shops including Brown Thomas department store. The hotel itself is fairly small but has a very trendy and a fairly noisy bar downstairs, this didn't cause a problem to us as we never got back to the hotel until after the bar had closed! We didn't eat breakfast at the hotel as there are lots of cafes and bars close to the hotel, but you can eat at the hotel for around 15 euros per person. The hotel itself has a Moroccan theme, the rooms could do with a little touch of paint here and there as some of the rooms were a little tired but overall they were ideal for a weekend trip. Plenty of trendy bars around the hotel and temple bar is only around a 10 minute walk through the shops. I would definitely recommend and stay here at this hotel again.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wirral_MerseysideVic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2012

La Stampa was a really luxurious hotel. The staff were more than helpful, carried our bags up to the room and looked after our bags after we checked out on the last day. I have only marked down the hotel slightly because of the noise from the nightclub downstairs into the early hours of the morning. The bar/nightclub was really cool though and had a popcorn machine and dancers and really good service with waiters coming to tables to take drinks orders. We didn't go to the spa or eat in the restaurant but had a look in and the dining room looked amazing! The location is perfect, right in Dublin city centre next to St Stephens Green and Grafton Street. Dawson street itself had lots of fancy restaurants and bars. Rooms were very nice and spacious with free wifi, dvd player, hairdryer, ironing board, toiletries, tea and coffee, excellent minibar although we didnt take anything as it was too expensive.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank Danielle R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2012

Would recommend this hotel if nothing else but for the friendly staff and great location. The decor in places is a little tired but all in all a nice central place to see Dublin from and as it's not in the heart of Temple Bar it's peaceful at night so a good nights sleep is pretty much assured. We stayed in a double room which was spacious as was our en suite the only downside was it was a little pricey and the pillows were very hollow, but to be honest everything else was so good that these really aren't issues.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank Erica F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 16, 2012

Apart from its location and the most powerful hotel shower we've ever experienced there is little else to commend this hotel and certainly it's description as a small luxury hotel is as inflated as the Irish national debt.
Small rooms accompanied by a tiny bed, tired furnishings,uninspiring decor,limited TV channels,an A/C system with all the power of an elderly asthmatic and a lack of elementary things which should make up a luxury hotel experience such as free bottled water, a bathrobe and a newspaper outside the door in the morning.
Overall it's okayish but there's nothing to write home about with La Stampa on the envelope.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Wahaay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dublin hotels
0.1 mi away
Buswells Hotel
Buswells Hotel
#24 of 150 in Dublin
1,524 reviews
0.2 mi away
Brooks Hotel
Brooks Hotel
#10 of 150 in Dublin
2,375 reviews
0.1 mi away
Fitzwilliam Hotel Dublin
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
O'Callaghan Stephen's Green Hotel
0.4 mi away
Trinity City Hotel
Trinity City Hotel
#50 of 150 in Dublin
3,470 reviews
0.3 mi away
Drury Court Hotel
Drury Court Hotel
#23 of 150 in Dublin
1,533 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Dawson Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Dawson Hotel & Spa

Address: 35 Dawson Street, Dublin 2, Ireland (Formerly La Stampa Hotel)
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa
Hotel Style:
#7 Spa Hotel in Dublin
#51 Luxury Hotel in Dublin
Price Range: $132 - $322 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Dawson Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Dawson Hotel and award winning Dawson Spa are ideally located on Dawson Street in the heart of Dublin's city centre, with Trinity College at one end of the street and St. Stephen's Green at the other. Dublin's main shopping district, Grafton Street, is a short stroll around the corner from the hotel. Temple Bar is only 10 minutes’ walk away, while Dublin Castle and the Olympia Theatre are a 15 minute walk. With an elegant decor, each room includes a private bathroom with toiletries. All rooms contain an LCD TV with cable TV channels, complimentary water and free Wi-Fi access. The Dawson Spa, located to the rear of the building, features “Voya” organic seaweed beauty products made in Ireland. Also onsite, the adjoining Sam's Bar offers a glamorous vibe, fresh cocktails and music from international DJs, with a Victorian garden terrace overlooking Dublin's Mansion House. While we do not have parking onsite, we have an agreement with Setanta Q-Park, located on Molesworth Street, where our guests can benefit from discounted parking with up to 50% off per 24 hour period. Should you wish to exercise or use saunas, we also offer our guests complementary day passes to Energie Fitness Gym & Swimming Pool on Clarendon Street. Please note, the Hotel is not recommended for those with mobility issues, in particular those who require wheelchair access. In addition, the hotel does not have any adapted wheelchair accessible rooms. Please be aware that rooms listed as Vibrant Weekend rooms are those located directly above Sam’s Bar, and music will be heard until around 02:30 on a Thursday, and 03.30 on Fridays and Saturdays. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Cancelon so you can book your The Dawson Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Stampa Hotel Dublin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing