We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“La Stampa fails to deliver”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Dawson Hotel & Spa
Ranked #102 of 151 Hotels in Dublin
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
263 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 198 helpful votes
“La Stampa fails to deliver”
Reviewed October 16, 2012

Apart from its location and the most powerful hotel shower we've ever experienced there is little else to commend this hotel and certainly it's description as a small luxury hotel is as inflated as the Irish national debt.
Small rooms accompanied by a tiny bed, tired furnishings,uninspiring decor,limited TV channels,an A/C system with all the power of an elderly asthmatic and a lack of elementary things which should make up a luxury hotel experience such as free bottled water, a bathrobe and a newspaper outside the door in the morning.
Overall it's okayish but there's nothing to write home about with La Stampa on the envelope.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wahaay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

709 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    175
    218
    150
    83
    83
See reviews for
48
355
33
105
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (139)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed October 7, 2012

Trip Advisor great reviews all accurate -- and I listened to advice to ask for a room in rear of hotel. We were not there on a weekend, so it was not noisy at all - but rear room was nice. Very cool walking thru bar area to get to room. Awesome location near Grafton Street, Bewley's Cafe, St. Stephen's Green. Perfect Spot. I loved it.

Room Tip: Room in rear of hotel was good...but am sure anywhere during week is great. I could see it being no...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ECTravelor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed October 5, 2012

I love funky hotels and this fits the bill, in great location as I love fleet Street and shopping. Layout is a bit confusing but adds to the funk enviroment!!
One of the waiting staff upset me to no end however the manager was absolutely first class in sorting everything out immediately after I spoke to him, really not his fault hard to get good staff these days.
I love Dublin and will def stay at La Stampa next visit.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mary K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, dc
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed October 1, 2012

We recently stayed here and were most pleased with our experience. It is very well-located to all of Dublin's attractions and the hotel staff was most accomodating. Definitely a boutique-style hotel with a chic European feel, all at a reasonable price. Would certainly stay again if given the opportunity.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rone75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarasota, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
141 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
Reviewed October 1, 2012

The hotel is a short walk from the airport bus stop and is close to Trinity College, the pedestrian shopping street, and numerous museums and restaurants. The bedroom and bathroom were large. Some of the decoration was bizarre (velvet covering of the mini-bar) and access to the room was as strange as I have ever seen it (exit the lobby, insert a code to open a door, walk through a packed and lively bar, insert a code to use an elevator, and then go trough a couple of doors to arrive at the room). If one keeps a sense of humor, this arrangement is OK. There is a good selection of main courses to order for breakfast, but the side items on the buffet table are somewhat limited--mainly apples in the fruit salad, for example.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Edward B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ireland
Level 6 Contributor
146 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
Reviewed September 25, 2012

La Stampa is well located in Dublin city centre and close to all amenities. Some of the rooms and suites are great but some need upgrading. The hotel is located in an old building so the layout can be a little confusing. However this is a good hotel for almost all occassions.

Room Tip: Ask for a suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank johnmfenit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galway, Ireland
Level 6 Contributor
111 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed September 23, 2012 via mobile

Stayed here with my husband on 9th sept 12. We walked into the room to be greeted with massive high ceilings, Moroccan touches everywhere, gold and red velvet, ornate mirrors, chandeliers, an amazing massive bathroom, plants everywhere, roses on the table, flat screen tv etc... It was stunning. Breakfast was also amazing. I had a breakfast 'sandwich' which was toast with tomato, lettuce, bacon sausage etc and it was extremely tasty. Hubby had a salmon omelette when he thoroughly enjoyed. The only thing we were sorry about was that the restraint was closed the night we were there (Sunday) so we never got to try it... Maybe next time!

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank LizR7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dublin hotels
0.1 mi away
Buswells Hotel
Buswells Hotel
#24 of 151 in Dublin
1,487 reviews
0.2 mi away
Brooks Hotel
Brooks Hotel
#9 of 151 in Dublin
2,318 reviews
0.1 mi away
Fitzwilliam Hotel Dublin
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
O'Callaghan Stephen's Green Hotel
0.3 mi away
Drury Court Hotel
Drury Court Hotel
#25 of 151 in Dublin
1,478 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Morgan
The Morgan
#35 of 151 in Dublin
2,821 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Dawson Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Dawson Hotel & Spa

Property: The Dawson Hotel & Spa
Address: 35 Dawson Street, Dublin 2, Ireland (Formerly La Stampa Hotel)
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa
Hotel Style:
#7 Spa Hotel in Dublin
#49 Luxury Hotel in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Dawson Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Dawson Hotel and award winning Dawson Spa are ideally located on Dawson Street in the heart of Dublin's city centre, with Trinity College at one end of the street and St. Stephen's Green at the other. Dublin's main shopping district, Grafton Street, is a short stroll around the corner from the hotel. Temple Bar is only 10 minutes’ walk away, while Dublin Castle and the Olympia Theatre are a 15 minute walk. With an elegant decor, each room includes a private bathroom with toiletries. All rooms contain an LCD TV with cable TV channels, complimentary water and free Wi-Fi access. The Dawson Spa, located to the rear of the building, features “Voya” organic seaweed beauty products made in Ireland. Also onsite, the adjoining Sam's Bar offers a glamorous vibe, fresh cocktails and music from international DJs, with a Victorian garden terrace overlooking Dublin's Mansion House. While we do not have parking onsite, we have an agreement with Setanta Q-Park, located on Molesworth Street, where our guests can benefit from discounted parking with up to 50% off per 24 hour period. Should you wish to exercise or use saunas, we also offer our guests complementary day passes to Energie Fitness Gym & Swimming Pool on Clarendon Street. Please note, the Hotel is not recommended for those with mobility issues, in particular those who require wheelchair access. In addition, the hotel does not have any adapted wheelchair accessible rooms. Please be aware that rooms listed as Vibrant Weekend rooms are those located directly above Sam’s Bar, and music will be heard until around 02:30 on a Thursday, and 03.30 on Fridays and Saturdays. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Agoda, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and Hotwire so you can book your The Dawson Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Stampa Hotel Dublin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing