We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Dawson Hotel & Spa
Ranked #103 of 151 Hotels in Dublin
zurich
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Fabulous hotel”
Reviewed October 2, 2007

Beautiful hotel with great rooms! Ask for a quiet room as there is a bar downstairs. The spa is a must as its very relaxing and have any treatment you want.
Situated in the city centre it is only minutes away from Grafton Street, Temple Bar, Trinity College.
We had a great stay and would definately go back. The only issue was that you could not open the window in the room so it was quite warm.

Stayed September 2007
Helpful?
Thank lolloZurich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

702 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    173
    216
    148
    82
    83
See reviews for
47
351
32
105
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (136)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh,Scotland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 5, 2007

In common with others, I stayed on the Third floor in company of friends, We had 5 rooms between us. My room (302) smelt musty and it was all down to the bathroom. No ventilation other than an inadequate fan,had, mould in various places. On the cornice above the bath serious mould spores and the plumbing had been incorrectly installed, (no suction break meant that when one sink was emptired it sucked the water out of the trap in the other sink allowing sewage gas into the bathroom)
Had to fill both sinks at night to stop the smell.
When all this was pointed out to the maid service, nothing happened ( I was offered an air freshener). Towel rail reported and still nothing, see other reports.
The breakfast was a farce. A menu was produced and our inflexible waiter had the gall to tell us that no deviation from the set dishes was allowed. Tea and Toast arrived. fairly promtly , one hour later my cold breakfast arrived. At this point we all left and had breakfast elswhere. This farce cost the management around £400 in lost revenue, but they did not seem to understand this. Four Star, not at this hotel AVOID

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Everything t
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Commotion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Dublin hotels

Bath
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 16, 2007

We have just returned from a 2 night stay and it was absolutely EXCELLENT!
When it comes to hotels I'm a bit of a Mrs Bucket (pronounced Bookay, darlings!) as the hotel is always a very important part of my holiday. And this passed every single test...well.. nearly every test. The only thing that wasn't perfect was the tiles in the bathroom. The grouting was a bit grotty, not very grotty, but a bit...HOWEVER..whilst chatting to the general manager who was asking how our stay was going, he mentioned that the hotel was soon to have a bit of a "touch up" and that the bathrooms tiles were to be redone. So there you go!
Breakfast was wonderful. The waiters couldn't do enough for us. I asked if by any chance they had any soya milk for my tea and within minutes he had sent someone to the shops to buy me some!
The bedrooms were large and the bed was so comfortable.
Although we didn't actually eat there, the restaurant downstairs called Tiger Bec is stunning.
It was in a great location. The main shopping area was minutes away and you could jump on one of the many buses that stopped on the street outside. The Gaiety Theatre was just around the corner and there was a lovely park at the end of the street.
We had an excellent stay and came back feeling very relaxed.
I would recommend this hotel to anyone!

  • Liked — The beautiful decor
  • Disliked — The Grotty Grouting!
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MrsBucket_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed August 11, 2007

upon entering our room, there was an overwhelmingly musty smell. there was a 'glade' air freshener plugged in at the wall but this did not mask the smell. we soon realised it was coming from the bathroom - the bath had come away from the tiles and there was at least a full inch gap all the way around, where water had turned the wall black with rot. we requested to change rooms & were moved to another room which was fine.

given that this is a "small luxury hotel of the world" it was an extremely disappointing way to begin our stay.

upon checking out, we spoke to the manager on duty who was apologetic and said they were already aware that our bedroom needed refurbishment and it had been marked in the reservations calendar to prevent bookings in a couple of weeks' time for work to begin!

why, then, had they put us in the room in the first place?!

(we also mentioned a couple of other issues - bar staff refusing to serve bar snacks as they should have been, "because it gets too busy at weekends"; tatty & incorrect breakfast menus etc small issues in themselves, but not what you expect at a 'luxury' boutique hotel.)

we were told we would be contacted the following week - i had to chase them - and then we were offered a voucher off a future stay. i declined this offer, as it would mean additional costs to travel back to the hotel when we hadn't enjoyed the experience in the first place! they then refunded the cost of a night's stay.

it's all very well apologising after the fact, but we had booked into this hotel for what should have been a luxury, relaxing break with friends, which it was not. we won't be returning.

  • Disliked — being put in a terrible room, when the staff knew it was inadequate
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank rianda99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galway, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed June 11, 2007

Stayed in La Stampa with my sister on the June Bank Holiday wkend that we did the womens mini-marathon. Fantastic location, just 5 mins from Stephens Green. Hotel was clean and comfortable with friendly staff and great cocktails in Sam Sara bar. Fabulous place for people-watching on a Sat night! Was a mix-up over our treatments in Mandala Spa but sorted quite amicabily. Breakfast overpriced!!

  • Liked — Location, location, location!
  • Disliked — Large room but bad layout for twin beds
  • Stayed June 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alidickson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kildare
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 30, 2007

i have stayed in a lot of hotels and im not one to complain but la stampa really let me down. i had booked as a special treat for my sister and i, but it was no treat!
1. wrong room, got double instead of twin, reception not interested
2. drilling going on in hall way
3. very untidy hall, full of cleaners equipment constantly
4. no bath seal around bath, just mould and grime
5. heated towl rail broken and held together with tape
6. no tea coffee in room, just OVER PRICED mini bar
i could go on about other things.

  • Stayed May 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank ladybird27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshire
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 22, 2007

La Stampa Hotel in central Dublin is the perfect hotel if you want a city break with a little sophistication. The hotel is in the trendy part of town, surrounded by a couple of small, nice bars and restaurants. The hotel's own bar is very cool and very popular, and inkeeping with the rest of the hotel the decor is good - again cool and rather eclectic. The staff and duty manager were (from booking process and all through the duration of the stay) exemplary. They were attentive, friendly and very welcoming - even rebooking treatments that we had missed due to delayed flights. This is a wonderful small hotel to enjoy in the city centre - it's in a lively area so it's not the place for a quiet retreat, but for slice of luxury in a great city - book yourself a treat at La Stampa.

  • Liked — Friendly staff
  • Stayed May 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank HelenTCheshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dublin hotels
0.1 mi away
Buswells Hotel
Buswells Hotel
#22 of 151 in Dublin
1,472 reviews
0.2 mi away
Brooks Hotel
Brooks Hotel
#9 of 151 in Dublin
2,283 reviews
0.1 mi away
Fitzwilliam Hotel Dublin
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
O'Callaghan Stephen's Green Hotel
0.4 mi away
The Morgan
The Morgan
#37 of 151 in Dublin
2,772 reviews
0.3 mi away
Drury Court Hotel
Drury Court Hotel
#23 of 151 in Dublin
1,458 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Dawson Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Dawson Hotel & Spa

Property: The Dawson Hotel & Spa
Address: 35 Dawson Street, Dublin 2, Ireland (Formerly La Stampa Hotel)
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa
Hotel Style:
#7 Spa Hotel in Dublin
#46 Luxury Hotel in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Dawson Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Dawson Hotel and award winning Dawson Spa are ideally located on Dawson Street in the heart of Dublin's city centre, with Trinity College at one end of the street and St. Stephen's Green at the other. Dublin's main shopping district, Grafton Street, is a short stroll around the corner from the hotel. Temple Bar is only 10 minutes’ walk away, while Dublin Castle and the Olympia Theatre are a 15 minute walk. With an elegant decor, each room includes a private bathroom with toiletries. All rooms contain an LCD TV with cable TV channels, complimentary water and free Wi-Fi access. The Dawson Spa, located to the rear of the building, features “Voya” organic seaweed beauty products made in Ireland. Also onsite, the adjoining Sam's Bar offers a glamorous vibe, fresh cocktails and music from international DJs, with a Victorian garden terrace overlooking Dublin's Mansion House. While we do not have parking onsite, we have an agreement with Setanta Q-Park, located on Molesworth Street, where our guests can benefit from discounted parking with up to 50% off per 24 hour period. Should you wish to exercise or use saunas, we also offer our guests complementary day passes to Energie Fitness Gym & Swimming Pool on Clarendon Street. Please note, the Hotel is not recommended for those with mobility issues, in particular those who require wheelchair access. In addition, the hotel does not have any adapted wheelchair accessible rooms. Please be aware that rooms listed as Vibrant Weekend rooms are those located directly above Sam’s Bar, and music will be heard until around 02:30 on a Thursday, and 03.30 on Fridays and Saturdays. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HRS so you can book your The Dawson Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Stampa Hotel Dublin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing