We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location to enjoy Dublin”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Grafton Capital Hotel
Ranked #127 of 152 Hotels in Dublin
Reviewed July 4, 2014 via mobile

We spent three night here, and no major complaints. The staff were very friendly and helpful. The Wi-fi was not working until our last day, and then only available in the lobby. and first floor lounge. The room was adequate and clean. This location is great. Major shopping mall around the corner, and walking distance to many sights and attractions. Down side is public parking in garage around the corner, and pay to park.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Scottslaird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,064)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

432 - 438 of 1,064 reviews

Reviewed July 3, 2014

old hotel, needs renovation, no WiFi in rooms but good location in central Dublin (party central) there is a restaurant/pub next to it in case you don't like crowds or noise, I don't recommend it. I still cant figure out why all hotels in Dublin are so expensive and the quality is so low... service was friendly tough

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank paulomb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2014 via mobile

Stayed here monday night as we were going to a concert.great location.
Compared to my stay last time in november it was brillant.the receptionist was so friendly this time and very helpful.the only down side was the bar was closed and does not open till a thursday.will def be back..

Stayed: July 2014, traveled with friends
Thank fionaf676
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 21, 2014

We were a little apprehensive after reading some of the other posts - but overall we're quite satisfied with our recent stay. Very convenient location to public transit and popular pedestrian sites like Grafton Street and the Temple Bar area. Yes it's a bit outdated and the Internet is spotty at times - but what the heck, you're in Ireland in the middle of a really fun city!

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CHARLES M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 19, 2014

This hotel has good location for the centre of town and the rooms are clean but that is where any positive feedback ends.

The rooms are very small, the bed old and uncomfortable, no airconditioning and I would estimate that the last redecoration was in 1972. There is a large bar associated with the hotel downstairs which on certain nights plays dance music until 1 am with a bass sufficient to shake the rooms - I have nothing against partying until beyond 1am but would prefer a hotel to provide accommodation that it suitable for sleeping in too. The walls are very thin which leaves little to the imagination as to what is going on in the adjacent bathroom.

All of this wouldn't be too bad if it was a budget hotel but I was paying €140 room only and whilst working in the city for 5 weeks stayed in premium hotels for this money. To be fair to the hotel, the city was very full this week so the price would have been adjusted to market demand but for the quality of accommodation I considered this very steep.

In summary, unless you're in town to party all night, I would try and find somewhere else.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank James17382
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 16, 2014

We have stayed at the Grafton Capital Hotel once before, and we chose it again for its great central location just off Grafton St. in Dublin. It had been updated since we were last here, and this time the elevators worked, which was a good thing. It is a bit pricey, but the rooms are spacious and clean. Also, for its central location, it was surprisingly quiet, which was a huge plus.
I would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Celticmagpie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 16, 2014

We stayed here on a recent tip to Dublin. We booked last minute so didn't do much research into where we were staying. In fairness the location is excellent and at a push we'd probably consider staying again in the future as it was so convenient! The hotel itself is fine but very basic. The room we stayed in was small but was clean. There is a night club adjoined to the hotel but the noise didn't disturb us as we were out late ourselves. However, I would see this as a problem for families with small children or couples looking for a relaxing stay.

We found the service the worst part of the hotel. On check in there was no evidence of our booking. We had to produce the email on our iPhone as proof. Turns out reception got the dates mixed up and had our room organised for the following day. They weren't apologetic as we waited, they pretty much ignored us and chatted as one changed their mistake and the other counted cash and talked about 'closing the website as no rooms were now left'. Had we arrived any later would we have been left with no room? When our room was organised the beds were separate, we reserved a double, and after dropping off our bags housecleaning asked us to leave so they could zip up the beds and change the sheets. It wasn't a huge problem but it meant our overall experience was negative, a lot of waiting around through no fault of our own.

I wouldn't be comfortable recommending this hotel for anyone who wanted a nice experience or break but if you want somewhere central it's a great choice!

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DIAMOND89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dublin hotels
Drury Court Hotel
#22 of 152 in Dublin
1,608 reviews
Buswells Hotel
#23 of 152 in Dublin
1,574 reviews
South City Centre
Paramount Hotel Temple Bar
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Roxford Lodge Hotel
#9 of 152 in Dublin
1,455 reviews
Albany House
#60 of 152 in Dublin
845 reviews
South City Centre
Stauntons on the Green
Stauntons on the Green
#58 of 152 in Dublin
852 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grafton Capital Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grafton Capital Hotel

Address: Lower Stephens Street, Dublin 2, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin > South City Centre
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #127 of 152 Hotels in Dublin
Price Range: $169 - $200 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Grafton Capital Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grafton Capital Hotel is a traditional Georgian townhouse which offers spacious accommodation and a warm ambiance. Located in the heart of Dublin City Centre, paces away from Grafton Street, entertainment & cultural attractions; it is the perfect tourist choice. Each room in the Grafton Capital Hotel is spacious and elegantly designed. Decorated in rich traditional Georgian colours, each room provides guests with tea & coffee trays, ironing facilities, hairdryer, TV, power shower and telephone. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Grafton Capital Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grafton Capital Dublin
Hotel Grafton Capital

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing