We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Ear Plugs required.” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Grafton Capital Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Grafton Capital Hotel
Ranked #123 of 153 Hotels in Dublin
Paris, France
Level Contributor
20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Ear Plugs required.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 15, 2013

Stayed her for 2 nights in December.
The location is great in the day, near to all the shops, bars and restaurants but the locations plus points become minus points at night as the noise from the street, disco and bar below makes sleep difficult.
Although the room was tired, it was clean with a great big, comfy bed.
Breakfast was buffet style and well done.

Room Tip: Ask for a room towards the back of the hotel, rather than road side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ravioliface
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,030 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    135
    355
    276
    155
    109
See reviews for
131
423
45
67
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (201)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hertfordshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
56 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 11, 2013 via mobile

The staff were nice... and the bed was clean and comfy. The location is ideal as near to Temple Bar and Grafton Street
However!
Part of the sign outside was missing part of a letter.
We asked for a non smoking room, there was a stale smoke smell the minute we opened the door.
There was marks on the wall from someones shoes or something.
There were stains on the carpet.
There was a light switch which was not properly fixed on the wall. We didnt touch it as we didnt want get electrocuted! VERY dangerous.
There were fixtures missing in the bathroom and there was black mildew in the shower tile groat and possibly the shower head. As well a very dusty air vent.
Cannot comment on the food as I didnt have it.
Cannot comment on noise as it did not keep me awake. However I was made aware that people were offloading kegs early in the morning which was heard even when the Windows were closed.

I didnt complain because it was liveable for 2 nights abd most of our time was spent out of the hotel but I wouldn't recommend it unless there was a major revamp. Additionally why should I! A manager should know if a room is unsuitable for the public before it is used. This room was unsuitable.

Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank DanniH90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Dublin hotels

Abersoch, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 3, 2013

This hotel is very conveniently located for the shops, museums etc., but it really could do with a complete makeover!!!!

The bathroom needed gutting out, as the tiles (which could do with a good scrubbing!) were old, and there was mildew in all joints where they were grouted - black mildew!

The bed was comfy enough, but the pillows were hard, and there was no cover on them under the pillowcase.........they were of CHEAP quilted fabric with little lumps where the fabric had "pilled".

My bedroom curtain linings were an absolute disgrace - huge stains on them, possibly from condensation as the windows had extremely poor thin double-glazing. Also, the wooden holder which hold the curtains back when open were hanging from the wall.......nobody had bothered to tighten the screws properly.

I didn't use the iron, but the board cover was dirty and stained.



There was no soap provided in the bathroom either only a combined body/shampoo wash, located high up near the shower - (good job I'd brought my own!). How do people who prefer a bath reach up 3-4 feet - it is SO dangerous! Bath slip mat could also do with being renewed!! The only things that had been renewed in the bathroom were the shower curtain and the toilet rolls....................
The hairdryer in the bathroom didn't work at all, but, to be fair, there was a newish one provided in a drawer in the bedroom!

The TV was an absolute disgrace - it was ancient, and the volume didn't work either. They should maybe ask the disco/nightclub blokes downstairs on the ground floor how to work the volume, as I could hear the music from my 4th floor bedroom, which was located at the back of the hotel.............it went on until at least 3am!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

I could go on and on................and on!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AnnieK73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork, Ireland
Level Contributor
82 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 26, 2013

Stayed here for the weekend. We know there was a late bar/night club attached so music till 2:30 was expected.
The heat in the rooms wasn't. It couldn't be turned down either.
The wifi was not working, again reviewed here before we got there.

The location is just get though. Just off Grafton street, loads of pubs, restaurants etc outside the door.

Not a place to stay with kids, on the weekend anyway.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rob O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ireland
Level Contributor
25 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 23, 2013 via mobile

Arrived at the hotel by car this morning we went in to get directions on were we could park , came out after less than 5 minutes to find our car clamped , it cost. €80.00 euro just ring a head to get directions to the car park which cost €20.00 a night to park. The hotel is tired but clean,it's in a great location for going out at night or a day shopping

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cathIreland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
26 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 22, 2013 via mobile

Myself and the hubby stayed here after enjoying a rare night out in the capital. The location is brilliant with everything in walking distance (even in 4in heels). The rooms are basic but clean and if you manage to get the good deal that we did, then there really is little to complain about. It is attached to a very big and popular nightclub, so if you are looking for somewhere to stay on business or for to relax in while holidaying for a week or two, then it's probably not ideal.

Stayed September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Joff F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ireland
Level Contributor
21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 18, 2013

Stayed for one night,16th November 13 . Staff were friendly. Room was nice and comfortable, also non smoking hotel. Good value for money and very central. Nice area of Dublin,narrow streets, with cafes, bars,good restaurants, generally a good buzz about the area. Hotel has nite club attached. Will stay again.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank K B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dublin hotels
0.0 mi away
Drury Court Hotel
Drury Court Hotel
#24 of 153 in Dublin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,357 reviews
0.1 mi away
Travelodge Dublin City Centre, Stephens Green Hotel
0.2 mi away
The Central Hotel
The Central Hotel
#91 of 153 in Dublin
3.5 of 5 bubbles 860 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Kelly's Hotel Dublin
Kelly's Hotel Dublin
#94 of 153 in Dublin
3.5 of 5 bubbles 288 reviews
0.2 mi away
Mercantile Hotel
Mercantile Hotel
#114 of 153 in Dublin
3.5 of 5 bubbles 381 reviews
0.2 mi away
Dublin Citi Hotel
Dublin Citi Hotel
#74 of 153 in Dublin
3.5 of 5 bubbles 962 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grafton Capital Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grafton Capital Hotel

Property: Grafton Capital Hotel
Address: Lower Stephens Street, Dublin 2, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin > South City Centre
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #123 of 153 Hotels in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Grafton Capital Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grafton Capital Hotel is a traditional Georgian townhouse which offers spacious accommodation and a warm ambiance. Located in the heart of Dublin City Centre, paces away from Grafton Street, entertainment & cultural attractions; it is the perfect tourist choice. Each room in the Grafton Capital Hotel is spacious and elegantly designed. Decorated in rich traditional Georgian colours, each room provides guests with tea & coffee trays, ironing facilities, hairdryer, TV, power shower and telephone. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Grafton Capital Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grafton Capital Dublin
Hotel Grafton Capital

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing