We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Grafton Capital Hotel
Ranked #124 of 151 Hotels in Dublin
Helsinki, Finland
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Great location”
Reviewed September 24, 2013

PERFECT location to explore Dublin. Right next to the shops, lovely bars and restaurants.
The rooms were big and nice and quiet.
Our rooms were kept clean each day.

The pub "the hairy lemon" across the street was great and we had such a lovely time in Dublin.

If you are looking for great place to eat, then you shold go to F.X. Buckley, Pembroke Street. Great steaks!

Room Tip: Floor 5, 508(quite, clean and nice room)
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hanne-M76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,060 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    139
    360
    287
    160
    114
See reviews for
135
438
47
67
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (206)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 21, 2013

We booked 4 nights because I had stayed there in 2004. It has not been updated in any way in the last 9 years. Our room was in the front and the noise from their bar on the Saturday night was so loud we couldn't sleep. The only toiletry they provide is a shower cap! If you are a bath person like I am you have to stand up in the tub to reach the liquid shampoo/soap which is placed at shoulder level. Dangerous!! We placed two wake-up calls - the first at 6am but they phoned at 6:15. No apology. Instead he said "Well, the time is marked here at 6:15." We almost missed our 1-day tour that was booked and paid for! The next call was for 7am on the morning we were leaving on a 5-day tour. They NEVER called!

Stay at the Arlington Hotel - O'Connell Street. It is much cheaper and infinitely a better place. Breakfast is great too.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DideeM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Dublin hotels

London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed September 20, 2013

Lets start with the best bits (there arent that many):

- PERFECT location to explore Dublin. Right next to the shops, lovely bars and restaurants
- Front desk staff were accommodating and helpful
- The rooms were warm (it was freezing outside)

The things that let the place down:

- No hot water one day (ALL DAY!!!)
- TV didn't work (not so big a deal for me, but its the point)
- Hairdryer didn't work (BIG deal for me!)
- Someone opened the door to the room when i was having a nap - he left as soon as he realised I was in the room - but i have no idea who he was or why he was coming into the room at 5pm when housekeeping had already cleaned the room?!
- Although the club downstairs wasn't that noisy, it was a little annoying having to fight through the queue of people to get into the hotel

All in all, i probably wouldn't stay at this hotel again

Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Anisha1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 20, 2013

This was a disappointing note to end our Ireland trip on. The room itself was ok, old but functional. The bathroom was the biggest we had been in. The windows are paper thin and most things are broken - door latches, jacuzzi nozzles, curtains. All of it dealable until you get crabby service. Our room was part of the 50% that didn't have wi-fi and it wouldn't work in the lounge either (which it was supposed to). Our room was also somewhat closer to the elevator that sounded like a jet was taking off in our room. When we asked for help with the wi-fi, they didn't care, when we asked for a different room, he didn't even look up and immediately said they were booked. When we asked about a room for the following night, he said, we'll see. So we got through the nightclub outside night of tossing and checked out the next day to spend our last 2 nights somewhere else. The lady the next morning was much more helpful but too much damage had been done. Oh, and the water stopped working.

Room Tip: Everyone pushes the Temple Bar area but look for something near Grafton Street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mackenzie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed September 18, 2013 via mobile

Lots of minor issues that if solved would make it a nice hotel. TV didn't work, when it was swapped the new one had terrible reception. Exposed wires in the room, cigarette burns in the curtains, lights in the room didn't work, shower had a lot of mildew in with a disgusting slip mat I'd never dream of putting my feet on, hotel bar was shut when we returned from a meal at 11pm! It's a real shame as the hotel just needs a little care and attention to make it so much nicer.
Other than the above its a fantastic location, so close to St Stephens and Templebar and really is very cheap compared to a lot of hotels in the centre.
We drove to the hotel and parking prices at St Stephens were discounted because we were staying at the hotel and actually quite reasonable.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jessiegirl63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, MO
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed September 12, 2013

We spent 2 nights at the Grafton Capital Hotel in July. It was uncharacteristically hot when we were there so the rooms were very warm. The rooms are a little run down but clean and I was not accepting anything fancy. The WI-FI is very spotty and when it does work it is only in the common areas. One of the front desk works was extremely unfriendly and unhelpful. He gave us incorrect directions and could not or was not willing to answer any of our questions. Other employees were fine though. The biggest problem is the club on the weekends. It was unbearable loud and we were on the 5th floor. The music was pounding until 5am and even with ear plugs it was impossible to sleep. The best part of the hotel is the location. Easy walking distance to almost all attractions, shops, and restaurants. Under no circumstances would I stay their on Thursday-Saturday when the night club is open. If is was cheap enough I might stay during the week just for the location.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KCSTL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shoreline, Washington, United States
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 10, 2013

I've seen a lot of complaints about this hotel being very run down, but it's a great value considering the location.

It's older, retro, but it's clean, they have a nice staff, they have better bathrooms/toilets than most places in Dublin and they have nice deep bathtubs there. The beds were comfortable, not the most amazing I've slept on in Ireland, but for a hotel in the heart of Dublin this is a great, affordable and sensible choice and location.

The staff was very accomadating, they did not have 3 rooms on the same floor for my group so they let one of us stay in a suite for no extra charge just so we could be on the same floor.

If you're wanting everything to look and feel new in a hotel then by all means pay two times as much and stay somewhere else or somewhere outside of Dublin and bus in.

This is easy walking distance to Stephens Green, Grafton Street, Trinity College and the Temple Bar.

Other reviews that warn about street noise on weekends are correct, but we had a room on the street during one of the busiest weekends in Dublin and the street noise was loud, but for us it was ignorable....it all blends together to be a background buzz. When we went to bed I put earplugs in and that covered it up for me and I am a semi-sensitive sleeper. My husband was able to sleep without earplugs.

There is an ATM machine outside the gate that the occaisional drunk falls asleep under or loiters around, but at no time did we feel unsafe. Just be smart and know that in any big city you need to always be on alert and avoid the ignorance that can make you an easy prey to pickpockets. We did not use that ATM of course.

The pub "the hairy lemon" across the street was great and so was Sasha Petite this little hole in the wall coffee shop across the street from the hairy lemon.... don't miss it - the sign is a big letter "S" they serve lovely pastries and offer soy, hemp and almond milk as non-dairy options for lattes.

Overall, we were thrilled with the location and price and value of this hotel. It met our needs and our priorities were:
affordability
central location and within walking distance to most attractions
clean

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tara W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dublin hotels
0.0 mi away
Drury Court Hotel
Drury Court Hotel
#23 of 151 in Dublin
1,458 reviews
0.1 mi away
Travelodge Dublin City Centre, Stephens Green Hotel
0.1 mi away
Kelly's Hotel Dublin
Kelly's Hotel Dublin
#93 of 151 in Dublin
299 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Dawson Hotel & Spa
The Dawson Hotel & Spa
#103 of 151 in Dublin
702 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Central Hotel
The Central Hotel
#95 of 151 in Dublin
889 reviews
0.2 mi away
Mercantile Hotel
Mercantile Hotel
#115 of 151 in Dublin
403 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grafton Capital Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grafton Capital Hotel

Property: Grafton Capital Hotel
Address: Lower Stephens Street, Dublin 2, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin > South City Centre
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #124 of 151 Hotels in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Grafton Capital Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grafton Capital Hotel is a traditional Georgian townhouse which offers spacious accommodation and a warm ambiance. Located in the heart of Dublin City Centre, paces away from Grafton Street, entertainment & cultural attractions; it is the perfect tourist choice. Each room in the Grafton Capital Hotel is spacious and elegantly designed. Decorated in rich traditional Georgian colours, each room provides guests with tea & coffee trays, ironing facilities, hairdryer, TV, power shower and telephone. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Grafton Capital Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grafton Capital Dublin
Hotel Grafton Capital

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing