We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Privacy, could do with refurbishment”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Latchfords of Baggot Street
Ranked #102 of 151 Hotels in Dublin
Liptovsky Hradok
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Excellent Privacy, could do with refurbishment”
Reviewed April 8, 2012

I have stayed in the Latchfords apartments during Easter 2012 with my husband. I have enjoyed the stay, as the main criteria was privacy and independence. The apartments have excellent location respective to the city centre - it is 10 - 15 minutes of walk and it is very quiet location. There are few grocery stores nearby both directions as someone has already mentioned and a Chinese/Thai/Japanese Restaurant next door. In case you need to buy a travel adapter for Irish electric plugs, you can do so surprisingly in the Pharmacy (there are several on the same street).

We have stayed in the apartments that are not located in the main building but right behind the car park. I believe we were the only ones staying in that part of the property. Apartments are far from sound-proof so when it is packed it can be a bit uncomfortable. We got quite a good deal for a 1 bedroom studio. Having said this the price in this case has reflected in quality. Apartments could do with some refurbishment (especially the bathroom and kitchen) and also cleaning was not exactly spotless as the bathroom was a bit dusty and there were spider webs in the kitchen. If you are looking for privacy, independence and good location near the city centre, this is definitely a place to stay. If you are looking for luxury, then look elsewhere and pay more. If I go to Dublin for private reasons, then I would definitely come back.

Room Tip: If you prefer quiet room, ask for the room not facing the street or the room in the back behind the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank xenidlo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

115 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    46
    39
    21
    7
    2
See reviews for
4
34
32
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 5, 2012

The Latchford Apartments are self-catering. The kitchen is simple yet basic. The bedroom is comfortable and spacious. The apartment was very clean. The staff are amazing. The office is open morning to evening but not 24 hours. They were very helpful, friendly and accomodating. Wake up calls were provided on time as requested as were all requests for taxis. The location was fantastic. Close to Grafton Street and St. Stephen's Green. Excellent walking distance to many attractions and the tourism information centre. You can even take the bus from the airport to Marrion Square or Fitzwilliam and walk here (if bags are heavy take a cab:)). Would definitely stay here on my next visit!

Room Tip: Walk up - no elevator so if you have problems with stairs book a room on the ground floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Maria A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed August 31, 2011

Latchfords is a nice place to stay, out of the hustle and bustle of central Dublin. But there's a couple of things to be aware of when booking....

If, when you see the words 'one bedroom apartment', you're expecting the bed to be in a separate room to the lounge/kitchen area, this is not the place for you. The kitchenette, lounge, dining table/chairs, and double bed (note - not queen or king) are all in the same room. At least they were in the room we were given. Having said that, they are extraordinarily large rooms! The bathroom is not really a separate room either - rather the bath/shower, vanity and toilet are in a walled off area in your room - in rather a tardis-like arrangement.

Being an old Georgian building, it has very squeaky floors. We knew exactly where the people staying above us were at all times. And, as other reviews have mentioned, Baggot Street can get busy with traffic, and the sound proofing isn't all that good.

Having said all that, it is a genuinely nice place to stay. As I said before, the rooms are huge and well appointed. It's a very pleasant 15 - 20 minute walk into the centre of town, and the parking out the back is an absolute bonus (make sure you pre-book a parking spot, as the car park fills up quickly).

I'm happy to recommend Latchfords to Tripadvisor readers - it's great as long as you know what to expect.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TravellingPeteShow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level 6 Contributor
157 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed May 18, 2011

This is a great place to stay if you want to feel more at home, rather than in a hotel. However, the furniture is a bit worn which kind of lends it a bit of a tired air. The people who work here, however, are very nice and friendly. Baggott street can be quite noisy at night. The first stay I had a superior studio facing Baggot Street, the second time (the night before I left for the airport) I had a studio toward the back of the building.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank randisbrown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham
Level 6 Contributor
578 reviews
143 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 330 helpful votes
Reviewed October 4, 2010

great staff here who were helpfull with any information you needed also great to chat with about dublin ect,the apartments themself are modern in style but in a lovely gerogian building ours had a seprate lounge with a little kitchen area they had left some tea/coffee so you could make a drink,the location is just out of the center but it only took us a 15 mins walk and we were right in the main city center there are also some local shops and pubs nearby,would stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank johnbrum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast
Level 6 Contributor
185 reviews
93 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
Reviewed May 9, 2010

This is the kind of place I love to find - somewhere so good that I will always check it first on any future trips to Dublin. Got a great rate of 55 euro on Laterooms for an apartment - so I thought that even if it is cramped and not that great, for the centre of Dublin, it's an excellent price. Well, it took my breath away when I got into the room - fantastic, comfortable bed, lovely kitchen area, and flat screen TV with leather sofa. Two wonderful big windows to the front of the building. Maybe I got one of the better rooms, as I saw no others, but it couldn't have been better for the price. I was there for only one night and didn't use the cooking area, but if you were here for longer, it would be so handy. I was at a gig in Leeson Street which was very close and then I shopped the next morning - the hotel let me keep my car in the car park for a while longer. By the way, having the free car park space really adds to the value. Only a short walk to the centre of Dublin - didn't use a taxi all the time I was there. I'll be back. Lovely, friendly people too!

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tpbel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, BC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 20, 2009

I stayed here for four weeks, with some trips out of town in between. The people were super nice. The area is really nice, with some great Georgian architecture, though you will probably get sick of staring at the big bank across the street. I felt safe walking alone from downtown/Grafton Street to Latchfords in the middle of the night. This is a really great place for solo female travellers.

The building is old and the floor boards were a bit creaky. The decor was fairly dated and the walls weren't super clean, but not worth complaining about. It was a comfortable place to stay.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank upabovethesea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dublin hotels
0.6 mi away
Harrington Hall
Harrington Hall
#86 of 151 in Dublin
522 reviews
0.2 mi away
Mespil Hotel
Mespil Hotel
#32 of 151 in Dublin
491 reviews
0.5 mi away
Pembroke Townhouse
Pembroke Townhouse
#74 of 151 in Dublin
781 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Roxford Lodge Hotel
Roxford Lodge Hotel
#11 of 151 in Dublin
1,317 reviews
0.4 mi away
Schoolhouse Hotel
Schoolhouse Hotel
#29 of 151 in Dublin
1,162 reviews
0.4 mi away
Lansdowne Hotel Ballsbridge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Latchfords of Baggot Street? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Latchfords of Baggot Street

Property: Latchfords of Baggot Street
Address: 99-100 Baggot Street Lower, Dublin D02 DF21, Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #102 of 151 Hotels in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Latchfords of Baggot Street 2*
Number of rooms: 23
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Latchfords of Baggot Street reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Latchfords Of Baggot Street Hotel Dublin
Latchfords Of Baggot Street Dublin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing