We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,639)
Filter reviews
1,639 results
Traveler rating
441
654
324
131
89
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
441
654
324
131
89
Show reviews that mention
All reviews leisure centre leisure club tram stop swimming hat swimming pool luas line steam room lovely hotel dublin city centre minute walk family room cooked breakfast short break booked this hotel hotel bar full irish kylemore
Filter
Updating list...
12 - 17 of 1,639 reviews
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Very good and pleasant. The hotel is not far from city centre (about 25 mins by tram) and close to the public transport. The structure looks Luxurious, the room are nice and clean and staff very friendly and helpful.
Never eat at the restaurant but kitchen close early.

Stayed: September 2018, traveled with friends
1  Thank Simy_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Diarmuid H, Manager at Sheldon Park Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear Guest,


Thank you for your review.




Kindest Regards,
Diarmuid Hayes
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Decent modern hotel!
Close to tram station to go into centre of Dublin 80mtrs
Bar poor but really only business people staying at hotel use this !
Reception staff very friendly attentive and helpful, bar staff good but breakfast welcome frosty whilst ordering slow
Continental Breakfast good value Full Irish poor value!
Taxis come quick
Room costs competitive
Lift very poor!

Stayed: October 2018, traveled as a couple
Thank martinrO7853MI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Diarmuid H, Manager at Sheldon Park Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear Guest


Thank you for your review, your comments have been noted and will be investigated

Kindest Regards,
Diarmuid Hayes
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

For our four night stay in mid October to visit sights in and around Dublin, we used Tripadvisor reviews as usual to help us choose a hotel. These reviews proved reliable yet again and we rate this hotel as good, having paid €105 per night via Expedia for bed and breakfast. After checking in mid-afternoon we visited the assigned room as usual to see if it’s acceptable, and as it had a space-encroaching dormer window on the first floor, we returned to reception and said we’d prefer one without a dormer as my wife has difficulty with low sloping ceilings. The clerk readily swapped us to a ground floor room which actually was a shade smarter than the original and had a full height ceiling, so was fine. The bed was comfy, the lighting was adequate, and there was a 42” tv with Freeview and a clear picture (although not adjustable and the Brightness was too dark, a common fault on Hotel TVs). The water radiator was on and its heat kept the room warm on day 1 (however on days 2-3 it gave no heat, so we asked for it to be fixed which it was after an hour or two). We visited the public leisure centre on the same site next door, but decided not to use its pool because (A) the lockers had no locks, you had to bring your own padlock which of course we hadn’t as the hotel website doesn’t tell you, and (B) the centre’s desk clerk on duty said the water temperature was at 28C and we prefer 30-31C for comfort and pleasure as we’re not Olympic swimmers. We were subsequently told at the end of our stay by the leisure manager that the water temp is managed to 31.5C so the clerk must have been ill-informed, but the manager did note our comment about no locker locks provided when we suggested a borrow-lock-pay-deposit arrangement should be provided. The breakfasts were good in the rather dimly lit breakfast room (the restaurant and bar area was even dimmer). There was a good offering of soft fruits in bowls, albeit of the tinned variety, and the waitress service of the ordered hot food was both prompt and nicely cooked. The single toaster however was maladjusted giving toast white one side and black the other, which gave the room, lobby and reception area a pervading fragrance of burnt toast for the first half of each day. Our room had a good bath and shower, once you got used to ducking under the shower screen support rail over the bath as I’m over six foot. The hotel is less than five minutes walk (say 300 yards) from the nearest LUAS trams stop for easy journeys on modern trams into the city centre in less than 25 mins, for €5.40 return tickets payable at the stop via debit/credit card machines. A ticket inspector sometimes boards your tram. The hotel car park is a reasonable size, given it’s quite a large hotel. There’s a low price filling station (gas station in US parlance) opposite it with its own well-stocked mini-supermarket, and a MacDonalds opposite the tram stop. Our room was quiet, well-cleaned each day and all the staff were friendly, polite and well-motivated. So all in all, and as a well-travelled couple in our early 70’s, we rate the hotel as Good, given all its advantages over its rivals.

Room Tip: Ask for one away from the bar as they have live music each night Fri, Sat, Sun.
Stayed: October 2018, traveled as a couple
Thank balliso399
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2018

We booked into this hotel for 1 night on 1st October. After checking in we took the elevator to our room on the 2nd floor. Mid way there was a terrible loud bang from the elevator and it stopped between floors. We were there for approx 15 minutes while a maintenance man tried to get the lift back down to the ground and help us out. On exiting from the elevator the doors had to be manually kept apart and the door was not in line with the floor so we had to step out. Having exited I had to sit down as I was trembling inside. I sat for about 10 minutes and not one person was interested in my well being. We were not offered as much as a glass of water and then to make it worse I had to carry my case up two flights of stairs to our room on the second floor as nobody offered to help us with our luggage.There was no follow up with us regarding health and safety issues. I made an official complaint later that night and we were offered a complimentary breakfast the next morning which we declined as we were not having breakfast due to an early departure. I did notice shortly after an elevator mechanic from the elevator company was working on fixing it. I feel that the elevator took more priority then the guests in the hotel. I will never return to this hotel and it has left me with the trauma of wondering if I will use public elevators again. There was absolutely no customer care procedures in operation here.

  • Stayed: October 2018, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Sunseeker186643
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2018

The room was very old fashioned but not in a good way. One radiator was blasting heat and the other was cold. The bathroom's shower rail is at head height so you have to duck it to get under the shower head. The room and bathroom needed a deep clean.

  • Stayed: September 2018, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Sarah765
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Diarmuid H, Manager at Sheldon Park Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear Guest,


Thank you for your review, your comments have been noted and will be addressed.


Kindest Regards,
Diarmuid Hayes
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews