We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value hotel”
Review of Sheldon Park Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Sheldon Park Hotel
Ranked #70 of 150 Hotels in Dublin
Reviewed December 20, 2013

Hotel a bit old style but spotless clean, comfortable beds and good size rooms.
Staff couldn't be more helpful in any way.
Good on site bar and good food in the bar
Luaus tram stop 5 mins walk away
All in all I would recommend this hotel for good value budget hotel

Stayed: December 2013, traveled on business
1  Thank Tom S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,408)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

859 - 865 of 1,408 reviews

Reviewed December 11, 2013

Had a great stay here a few wks back, Hotel was very clean and staff were extermely helpful. rooms very clean and comfy, breakfast room was clean and well laid out and we loved the table service for hot food well done and it was very tasty staff very good. lesuire centre was excellent and staff friendly. had food in the resturant too and it was the best iv tasted in a while, and again staff were excellent from waiters to bar staff. defo stay here again. keep up the good work Sheldon park. Short distance from luas line to city centre, Or a 10 min drive at night if you dont drink.

Room Tip: could not fault this hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Damobut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 6, 2013

We found this on the internet as a way to save money while travelling with four children. We had two non-connecting rooms and found the decor dated and moderately maintained. One room had heating problems- we visited in October, so we had to request a space heater for a comfortable sleep. The cleaning solution smell upon entering the rooms was a bit strong and required us to "air out" the room a bit. TV was an old model but worked. Bar staff were nice and had a decent children's menu. Breakfast was good but make sure you know what bacon you like because it is like a large piece of ham- Irish style! Would consider staying here as a money saving option.

Room Tip: Second floor rooms were adequate.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chadswick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 15, 2013

Stayed at this hotel from a deal on the internet, friendly welcome and speedy service also informative.given a room on the second floor,very clean and comfortable.the bar downstairs was very well priced and seems to be the areas local and has live music, had a brill night, breakfast was ok.
Downside was that the hotel was a good distance from Dublin City but on the tram route, also the water in Dublin was not on from 8 o'clock at night till 7oclock in the morning,obviously this wasn't the hotels fault
Would stay again x

Room Tip: A no hassle hotel with spa facilities. The second floor bedrooms ceilings slope on one side so watch...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank steve n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 9, 2013 via mobile

Booked this for my partners birthday a little getaway and really got more than I payed for it was lovely, relaxing, friendly and good location the swimming pool and sauna were fab would be happy to stay there again thanks for being a great last minute trip away that gave good memories :-)

Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank Louise W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 7, 2013

Stayed as a couple for one night. Hotel is in a very good location. Dublin city centre is only 15 minutes on the Luas Tram. The hotel room was quite nice. It was very clean but the tv is of very poor quality, even in a travelodge you get a flat screen tv. Also the toilet seat was broken which was not safe to use. The leisure centre is very good. No towels are provided at the centre so you have to take them from your room and then you have to phone reception to get some fresh ones. Breakfast was below average. You are greeted by a lady who shouts at you if you would like tea or coffee. The cooked breakfast arrived and the sausages and bacon were cold and of poor quality. I did mention this to the receptionist and she was very apologetic. I expected more from a Best Western. I would not return to this hotel.

Room Tip: In the breakfast room, don't sit next to the door on a windy day. The staff refuse to close the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank j_m_debono
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2013

We booked a Halloween break for 2 nights in a family room. The room was spacious, warm & comfortable and was very quiet at night. We found the staff to be friendly and helpful particularly towards my daughter who arrived dressed in her Halloween attire. The breakfast was one of the best cooked breakfasts that we have had - no hot food buffet but breakfast cooked fresh to order - so unusual to get this nowadays. The leisure centre was great and the pool is great for kids as it is not too deep. We would definitely return again.

Room Tip: Rooms away from reception are very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MrsMSmurf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dublin hotels
4.8 mi away
Dublin Skylon Hotel
Dublin Skylon Hotel
#37 of 150 in Dublin
1,980 reviews
5.0 mi away
Sandymount Hotel
Sandymount Hotel
#25 of 150 in Dublin
2,446 reviews
1.6 mi away
West County Hotel
West County Hotel
#86 of 150 in Dublin
306 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 mi away
The Croke Park
The Croke Park
#5 of 150 in Dublin
4,609 reviews
6.0 mi away
Tara Towers Hotel
Tara Towers Hotel
#114 of 150 in Dublin
787 reviews
5.9 mi away
Metro Hotel Dublin Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheldon Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheldon Park Hotel

Address: 131 Kylemore Road, Dublin 12, Ireland (Formerly BEST WESTERN Sheldon Park Hotel)
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin > Kilmainham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Dublin
#53 Romantic Hotel in Dublin
Price Range: $79 - $150 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Sheldon Park Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 131
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sheldon Park Hotel & Leisure Club is located two minutes walk from the Red Luas Line (tram Line) which will take you to the city centre in just 20 minutes. Situated on the 131 Kylemore Road just off the N7, with easy access from the M50 and all major routes of Ireland. The Hotel combines classic elegance with modern design. Each of the 131 tastefully decorated en-suite bedrooms and Suites has comfy duvets and fluffy pillows, ensuite bathroom, DDI telephone, radio/alarm clock ,cable television, tea/coffee making facilities, iron board, hairdryer & free Wi-Fi. Access to the The Hotel Leisure Club is complimentary to all of our guests. The Leisure Club provides extensive health and leisure facilities which include swimming pool, hydrotherapy pool, kiddies pool, Jacuzzi, sauna/steam room and state of the art gymnasium. Visit Sheldon Beauty Spa offering an array of pampering packages. Minnie McCabe's Bar welcomes you in the typical Irish style offering fun with live music every weekend, serving fine bar food throughout the week and carvery available Monday to Saturday for both private and business lunches. The elegant Heustons Restaurant greets you, a la carte menu available every evening. Free Parking available on Hotel Grounds. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Sheldon Park Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Dublin
Dublin Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing